that kidd wanted scott fired...
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
What rumor?
that kidd wanted scott fired...
**Hall of Fame Team In The Making.
5Abi,**
How about we include Jack Nicholson as a 5th starter in the Dream-Team? ![]()
[thumb=C]JackatStaples.JPG[/thumb]
‘This is the NBA. You can’t tell me to sit down’
IMO, I don’t think Malone will be able to break KAJ’s NBA record 'cause he’s far behind. Not an Easy Task At All. Malone’s got 36,374 pts trail by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s 38,387 pts in the NBA. You decide, homie. ![]()
Also, Malone’s going to be 40 in two weeks and he ain’t that athlete as he was used to be once. But anyway, I wish him Good Luck. :k: Both Malone and Payton have been in the NBA All-Star but never been NBA Champs; and their reason to join LAKERS is only one i.e RING, a reason well mentioned by Sheraz CT.
I read the interview of Malone in DailyNews paper today, in which Malone said’
“This is Kobe and Shaq’s team. I have a job to do as well. I come in with nothing but respect, but I come in with a hard-working attitude to do what I need to do to help us win a championship.”.
Malone’s Agent:-
"The two strongest influences were Shaquille and Magic,‘’ said Malone’s agent, Dwight Manley. **``He’s(Malone) going to become a Laker. In his mind, he’s already a Laker. He’s very excited.‘’ **
This is where I strongly believe in the teaching and leadership of PJ aka Phil Jackson. This is the guy, who took MJ, Pippen, Rodman’s BULLS at the top of skies where no-one can reached. Hey, btw, where’s Pippen headin’ to?
Let me ask you, do you seriously consider Malone to be in the starting line-up? I mean, no offence to Malone but I believe he’ll be very helpful off the bench. As Rick Fox might miss couple of weeks of the next season 'cause of his bad foot, Malone will replace him. For the 5th guy, Derek Fisher is there with Payton, Shaq and Kobe; and the LAKERS are in a good shape. Mitch has gotten two veterans for PJ, who has always depend on Veterans than youngsters at the crucial moment of the game. Mitch made out a great deal of 5.3 million bucks, a spot left by Robert Horry, who’s now a FA. It just shows how great the system LAKERS Basketball Club has got. Jiya Jalay Jaan Jalay ![]()
deewna tera,
Kidd wanted Scott to be fired. It ain’t a rumor. I know, you won’t believe it my friend, neither do I but I think it’s true. It was on the News yesterday. He wanted Scott to leave NETS, otherwise Kidd is off to SPURS. Maybe, the Guppies, who live in NJ, NY area can shed some light on this issue. But, anyway, thanks to the efforts by NETS GM, who covered up the story within 24 hrs by offering $ 99 million for 6 years to Jason Kidd whereas SPURS had offered 93-95 million bucks to Kidd. See the difference my friend… Money Speaks…
P.S:- Larry Bird has got the Presidency of Indiana PACERS.
well..the money..um i think the 4 million didn’t really make a difference cuz there’s no income tax in texas..so it is more or less the same. but if its true..than that sux
…kidd shouldn’t do that…its not like as if scott is to be blamed for the losses in the finals ![]()
As much as having an All-star team like that on paper seems good, there are potential problems that'll have to be worked out at Staples Center.
It'll probably be Devean George or Fox rounding out the starting 5. With those inflated egos, Payton and Kobe will be competing for their own numbers on the offensive glass, and (although Malone's more of a team man) rebounds etc. being shared between Shaq and Malone.
A lot of NBA players are glory hunters, and do look for their own names in the evening's headlines and record books in addition if not above the team's interest. But if that can be ironed out, than this is surely a team to contend with. It has all the right ingredients, let's see how the cake turns out.
Before Lakers had 2 great superstars in their team and now they have 4, remember the issues between Kobe and Shaq a while back and now just add 2 more high profiled players in the equation and it would be huge fireworks not only on the court but also off the court.
Umair316
yawn what issue b/w Shaq and Kobe? Those media clowns had to cook their news, which they did. Did you remember the 15-1 run by the LAKERS in 01 playoffs? I say, let them cook more blah blah blah.
Diablo Kazama
I don’t think Devean George will be in the starting line-up. He has been never before. This year he was only 'cause Rick Fox had injury; and PJ had no choice. It’ll be either Rick Fox or Derek Fisher.
deewana tera,
Yaar, if you work for a company; and let’s say you don’t like the envirnoment, people but for the next 6 years, you’re given 4 million bucks in addition by the company just to keep you 'cause you’re a hard worker, wouldn’t ya accept it? Hell, I’ll. This is what Kidd did. If it was a rumor, either Kidd, Scott or both should have made public statement, which they have NOT. Signing a contract to NETS within 24 hrs when Kidd made his statement, clearly indicates that the news was covered up very well by the GM & President of NETS. Good for him. Let’s move on… :k:
I seriously did not get that line.
Are you saying:
(a) Derek Fisher will start as point guard instead of Payton? ![]()
(b) Rick Fox will start as point guard instead of Fisher and Payton?
(c) Fisher will be competing with Fox for the starting small forward?
All scenarios have left me stumped. Please explain.
*Originally posted by Diablo Kazama: *
(a) Derek Fisher will start as point guard instead of Payton?
Nope.
quote Rick Fox will start as point guard instead of Fisher and Payton?
Nah.....That can't be. Rick Fox's a forward, not PG.
quote Fisher will be competing with Fox for the starting small forward?
Probably. You never know PJ's mind. He's sure gonna come out with something different this year. Just wait and watch. Personally, I'd want Rick Fox(when he's physically fit 101%) and Derek Fisher along with Payton, Shaq and Kobe.
Guys I couldnt resist sharing this.
Shaq in Saturday’s New York Times, on the Laker additions and what it means in the West: **"Last year, I had a couple tanks, a couple grenades. Now I got atomic weapons. I’m going nuclear. I’m Colin Powell, and I can drop the bomb any time I want to.
"I’m not going to talk about Sacramento, because I’ve been hard on them in the past. But San Antonio’s window is shut. That’s right, the Diesel is back.
“Hey, they had a great year. It was their turn. Congratulations. That’s all right. 'Cause they don’t got two 7-footers anymore.”**
Atomics bomb or not, San Antonio’s Duncan + Parker has replaced Kobe Bryant +Shaq duo as the most awesome force in basketball.
Kobe will never be the same after his current allegations.
And in SA, only Tim Duncan contributed in huge amounts to SA’s championship, David Robinson wasn’t a huge part as far as on the court performance was concerned.
Says who? You… OK ![]()
yawn Baat kya ho rahi, bol kya rahay ho. What allegations? Sexual Assualt…right. Why there’s no charge against Kobe if the evidence are present? Why the charges has been delayed until next week? Does all these questions have you ponder?
Easy go fella…
Hadn’t been David Robinson, SPURS wouldn’t even won 1999 & 03 Championship. Heck, it won’t be SA SPURS but New Orleans SPURS. Timmy might be the leader of SPURS in rebs and pts, but Robinson was their emotional leader, a replacement which I think SPURS won’t be able to recover. Also, despite of 14$ million, SPURS couldn’t be able to attrack Malone, Mourning, Kidd towards them. More to that, Bowen left SPURS, joined HORNETS.
5Abi, Homie, I tell you, Shaq is Back. He’s hired the personal Marine couple of weeks back; and has shaped up alot. Watch out!!! Forget the LAKERS, I think SPURS might face trouble against KINGS and MAVS as well. They have hired players from Brazil & Argentina I believe this year; and you know how the European & South American ball game goes. Defence - No Offense. And Shaq’s definitely right. There’s no two 7-footers around anymore. Go ahead Timmy, Shaq and Malone are coming to get ya. ![]()
PS-: BULLS are thinking to hire Pippen.
Payton says lure of a championship with Lakers hard to ignore
MIAMI (AP) – Gary Payton seriously considered accepting a free-agent offer from the Miami Heat last week, but opted instead to join the Los Angeles Lakers because the lure of winning a championship was impossible to ignore.
Payton, in Miami for the weekend to participate in a charity event hosted by Alonzo Mourning, said Heat coach Pat Riley offered him a multiyear deal and nearly enticed him to accept it.
However, when Payton learned that Karl Malone was headed to the Lakers, he said the final choice was easy.
"When Karl said what he was going to do, I figured I couldn’t miss that chance, playing with the Lakers,‘’
Payton said. "**With four great players like us playing with each other, we’re going to have a great chance to win a championship.‘’ **
Payton and Malone, who can sign free-agent deals with the Lakers on Wednesday, will join Shaquille O’Neal and Kobe Bryant on a team that will be heavily favored to win its fourth NBA title in the last five years.
Neither Payton nor Malone have ever won a championship. Both will take significant pay cuts this coming season; Payton will earn $4.9 million, Malone will likely earn $1.4 million.
"Money and all that stuff doesn’t equal a ring, because you’ll always be in the books as winning a championship and being on one of the best teams ever to play the game,‘’ Payton said. **"And I’ve been in the league 13 years. I’ve already gotten the big paychecks. I’ll be fine.‘’ **
Payton averaged 20.4 points and 8.3 assists last season with Seattle and Milwaukee, where he was dealt midway through the year. Although he turns 35 later this month, the numbers he posted last season both exceed his average marks over his career – 18.3 points and 7.4 assists.
Though he has won an Olympic gold medal and been an All-Star nine times, Payton said his career won’t be complete without a title.
"Adding one of these would just be the icing on my career, saying I did everything that I could possibly do,‘’ Payton said. "This would just make it easy for me to go out without saying I never kissed one of them trophies or wasn’t in a parade.‘’
It’s allll about the ring boys.
NO! :nono:
Says the NBA championship ring. ![]()
No one is accusin, atleast not me but he will never be the same.
Yes he contributed in huge sums in 1999 but not in 2003, he was only there as the leader, as far as on court performance was concerned, he was just an old fellow.
Abbay oye, quite trying to twist the discussion, who is talking about David’s contributions off the court, I am talking about on court performance, put some numbers on the board or shut up. ![]()
It should be more like Shaq is going to get ya. What in the world an old man like Malone is going to do, he is only there to wear the ring, I doubt he will be played an avg of more thatn 5 minutes per game.
Lakers have much better players to play with.
Its a shame that some great basketball players can’t win rings on their own that they have to join better teams at low cost to get a chance.
To be the champion, you have to play like a champion.
*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
NO! Says the NBA championship ring.
yawn let's watch how SPURS retain Championship ring next year.
No one is accusin, atleast not me but he will never be the same.
No one is accusing? Or the 19-year old girl is lying about the assualt? What do you know about Kobe, anyway? These lame accusation against Kobe are nothing. It will create further strength in him. His father left him before even he got his first ring. That's right. You heard me.....But he never backed down despite of stupid media crusing him, criticizing him. Haven't you watch Kobe's Spirit add? Do you know what he says to the people who criticized him? --> Thanks Two weeks gone by and no charges filed against Kobe. Ha, this will make Kobe never the same person again...... Hiliarious.......
Yes he contributed in huge sums in 1999 but not in 2003, he was only there as the leader, as far as on court performance was concerned, he was just an old fellow.
David has contributed on the court in 03 as well, avg 'about 13 PPG, picked up fouls instead of Timmy in getting trouble. That speaks alot.....Ha
Abbay oye, quite trying to twist the discussion, who is talking about David's contributions off the court, I am talking about on court performance, put some numbers on the board or shut up.
Abbay Janay De Janay De...Why don't you shut up? You're the one who's twisting the discussion, not me. Saala baat kya ho rahi hai....Bol Kya raha hai. Since you have never gotten into Community Service, you don't know jack. :D
It should be more like Shaq is going to get ya. What in the world an old man like Malone is going to do, he is only there to wear the ring, I doubt he will be played an avg of more thatn 5 minutes per game.
Lakers have much better players to play with.
Dummy, there are no words Malone wouldn't be in the starting line-up. Malone is Old, right, which is why SPURS, MAVS were also looking to hire him. Interesting isn't it?
Its a shame that some great basketball players can't win rings on their own that they have to join better teams at low cost to get a chance.To be the champion, you have to play like a champion.
Not just be a best player but you do need a Best Coach as well. MJ, for instance, was the best player, and won almost every game with his killer buzzer-beat bucket, got close to NBA Championship but never won. Once MJ came under PJ's coaching, BANG...90s Era belongs to BULLS.
Same is the case with Malone. He's been NBA All-Star, got close to NBA Championship but never won. He picked L.A, along with Payton, in order to get their names in the History of NBA Championship Book. :D
There ain't no place like L.A. YEAH BABY!!!!!!!!
P.S:- L.A Rulez. :D
They did what no other team could do. Beat the Lakers in the playoffs.
Please leave your jealousy aside and give credit where it is due.
Sprite comercial was done way back, even before you were in your diapers (I know, i know, that wasn’t too long ago).
Its not about Kobe being guilty or not, I personally he think he isn’t guilty, but he will never be the same.
Name any player who has been trouble with the law and cameback to win the championship.
Yaar why do you have to lie to win an arguement.
David Robinson averaged 7.8 PPG in the playoffs. Link
And he averaged 8.5 PPG in the entire season. Link
I didn’t expect you to make up lies out of all the people here. :nono:
I am dissappointed in you. ![]()
Abay bhai saheb why are you insulting me. If you can’t win an arguement than just bow out. You were the one bringing in Robinson’s off court talk, I was always talking about on court performance which you later on to lie about.
Actually MAvs and Spurs were looking to hire Kidd and were never interested in Malone. It was Malone who had the idea of getting rejected from Lakers so showed some interest in joining the Mavs or Spurs.
Agreed that you sometimes a great coach is needed to win a championship but most responsibilites of winning a championship always goes to the players.
Malone is old and the guy know he won’t be playing much in the upcoming season.
Anyways, to further enhance my arguement why David Robinson wasn’t so helpfull on the court during 2002-2003 Season and Playoffs.
Here are some numbers to play with.
G Min M A Pct M A Pct M A Pct Off Def Tot Ast TO Stl Blk PF PPG
64 26.2 3.1 6.6 46.9 0.0 0.0 0.0 2.4 3.3 71.0 2.5 5.4 7.9 1.0 1.3 0.8 1.7 2.0 8.5
G Min M A Pct M A Pct M A Pct Off Def Tot Ast TO Stl Blk PF PPG
23 23.4 2.8 5.1 54.2 0.0 0.0 0.0 2.3 3.4 66.7 2.0 4.7 6.6 0.9 1.0 0.8 1.4 2.7 7.
In my eyes, David Robinson was one of the greatest basketball player in a long time but to say he contributed in huge amount in 2002-2003 Season and PLayoffs. It not quite true.
Bhai mere...have you heard of the concept of double teams and weakside help. Duncan will have a hard time this year. Watch and learn.
*Originally posted by Matsui: *
Bhai mere...have you heard of the concept of double teams and weakside help. Duncan will have a hard time this year. Watch and learn.
Duncan had a hard time every year, specially since 2001, since Robinsons performance went downhill, even with the inclusion of Tony Parker, he still is very handicaped against the likes of Kobe and Shaq.
Jealously?
Look who’s talking. The guy who never miss the chance thrash on LAKERS tells me about jealousy. If I ever jealous of SPURS, I would never come forward and appreciated them on 05/15/03.
Umair, are you in diapers these days? 'cause I see you are
Sexual Assualt charge is nothing for Kobe 'cause he has been abondoned by his Father before, a pain that no one’s want to have in his/her life. Since, you have a understand the Matrix Reloaded by watching it thrice, I give you time to go over this argument over and over again.
What? Who gave you this idea? Shaq and Magic presence interested Malone, and by signing Malone, LAKERS knew they could attract Gary Payton, which they have. Contract have signed…Malone and Paytong are LAKERS :roman:
About, David Robinson, yes I was wrong about pts, please have a look at no. of fouls as well.
Matsui, you got it right…How’s going buddy?