Nazar.

How much do u believe in Nazar? Ive heard some people keep all their shaadi steps totally 100% private from even close family, simply because of nazar, and then i see families who share everything with everyone. Honestly, those who kept everything secret and private up until the wedding and those who shared everything every step of the way both seemed happy. Im not sure how much to tell and how much to keep private becaue of nazar!

So how far do you take it?

Re: Nazar.

i think nazar especially comes into play when you boast about something- or at least thats how i've always seen it work.
so long as you tell people who genuinely care about you and love you, you'll be fine. and always say mash'Allah and insha'Allah of course. if youv'e got a clear conscience, you've got nothing to worry about!

say mashAllah, inshAllah, alhamdulillah, etc. stay humble when you're talking about good fortune and things like that, you shoudl be fine. :)

Nazar lagti hai and even if nazar nahin lage...you want to be tight lipped because of gossip. :)

People will talk, spread rumors, eventually it will get back to you and you will feel bad. You may think ke nazar lagi hai...and its quite possible...lekin what really happened is too much was shared with people that werent necessarily well-wishers.

Of course there is nazar and the best way to avoid it is to not boast about how great your life is going in front of everyone. Secondly don't put personal pics on facebook especially your wedding pictures!!!

I think this is why I get myself into trouble. I tell everyone everything about myself. :(

I agree with Farsha, by saying all those beautiful words, and remembering Allah along the way, nothing can go wrong.

Remember Farishta's always say Ameen to everything we say - thats why its always important to say good things at any time about anything or anyone.

Secondly, I read in a Hadith, those gatherings that mention Allah SWT name are always blessed and each member in that gathering is protected by Allah and his angels. So remember before starting ANY function or anything like even 'packing bari' clothes or anything just remember Allah SWT and everything will go well..