Re: Nazar Battoo.
^^
eik to hamaari pakistani qoum, har baat ka ghalat matlab nikaalti he ..
aray bhai, parosan ka ghar nazar ataa hai, parosan thori nazar aati he
^^
eik to hamaari pakistani qoum, har baat ka ghalat matlab nikaalti he ..
aray bhai, parosan ka ghar nazar ataa hai, parosan thori nazar aati he
^ TLK .. app na to had say zyada chalaak hain or na main had say zyada masoom
phir yeh haira pharee kis ley ?
my mom always gives sadqah to protect us from nazar, and my dad recites some particular surahs for the samething.
One day, many moons ago, in a rural village in Pakistan, I attended a wedding. After they brought the bride in, and just after lunch, an old lady wandered into the courtyard of the grooms house, chanting and muttering. In her gnarled and wizened hands she held a tray filled with smouldering leaves. The old lady made her way through the guests, holding the tray in front of them and waving the smoke in their faces. She then came to me and did the same, waving the smoke into my face, muttering "break the nazar, break the nazar". I coughed and spluttered, slightly bemused, thinking to myself how strange these village customs are. The lady didn't leave, and wafted yet more pungent smoke into my face. I said, please stop. "NOT UNTIL U PAY ME!" she demanded. I said I didnt ask u to do it, so why should I? (As a matter of principle). Suddenly there was a collective gasp of shock and horror from all the fellow guests. The old lady began wailing, which made me refuse even more, (as a matter of principle of course). And so it went on, until a relative paid her to leave. After she had left, they told me, you must NEVER refuse to pay the nazar breaker, for then u shall have curses hanging over u forever.
...And such is life.
One day, many moons ago, in a rural village in Pakistan, I attended a wedding. After they brought the bride in, and just after lunch, an old lady wandered into the courtyard of the grooms house, chanting and muttering. In her gnarled and wizened hands she held a tray filled with smouldering leaves. The old lady made her way through the guests, holding the tray in front of them and waving the smoke in their faces. She then came to me and did the same, waving the smoke into my face, muttering "break the nazar, break the nazar". I coughed and spluttered, slightly bemused, thinking to myself how strange these village customs are. The lady didn't leave, and wafted yet more pungent smoke into my face. I said, please stop. "NOT UNTIL U PAY ME!" she demanded. I said I didnt ask u to do it, so why should I? (As a matter of principle). Suddenly there was a collective gasp of shock and horror from all the fellow guests. The old lady began wailing, which made me refuse even more, (as a matter of principle of course). And so it went on, until a relative paid her to leave. After she had left, they told me, you must NEVER refuse to pay the nazar breaker, for then u shall have curses hanging over u forever.
...And such is life.
Wow , I am speechless.
:LB:
Lifeless is cafe's nazar battoo :)
LOL, have you seen her ?
Yep
but in NO WAY am I making fun of her :nono:
i was about to submit a reallly mean reply to u
(jokingly ofcourse)
but this means something good i think?
(i scrolled up to check the meaning of nazar B again) ![]()
hahahahahhahahahahahahahah
Oh my GOD!!! You still don’t get it??!?!?!
i guess not:(
iv never heard the phrase before :hinna:
It is ok , she does not know what nazar battoo is , see post #11.
shikra iv been such a loyal cafe’ite:(, u hv hurt my feelings ![]()
i thought u wud explain it to me:(
That is what’s making it funny because she has no idea what it is but she thinks it’s something good
D:D:D
Lifey Khumar and Nikki executed their evil plan and got you to get me fired, you think I’ll be nice to you? ![]()
stop trying to be the goody good now:mad:
u started it:grumpy: aur bholey ban rahe hain ap
Shikra Now do you want me to explain it to her ?
Itni jaldi? Shouldn't we have more fun? :D I can't believe she's not getting it, it's clearly mentioned in this thread what it is!