Nature of humans

By default, is nature of humans good or evil?

Or is it neutral and good and evil are only learnt bahaviors?

Re: Nature of humans

Good

How do they become evil then?

Both good and evil are subjective values and therefor subject to interpretation.

Is being neutral subjective too?

If its neutral its has no effects. In other words, its neither good nor bad/evil.

Peace Shamraz Khan

But this response does not answer the question. Good may be subjective to each individual - (that is another point of debate) - the question is are people generally inclined naturally towards their own subjective sense of good?

also, are people who think they are good really good, if they are just frogs in their tiny puddles alongside a lovely lake that they dare not conceive of from their confined spaces despite having two perfectly good legs to leap out and smell the coffee with?

maybe.

. I think every human soul is born pure n positive,but further adopts some traits from his/her surroundings,upbringing,some have the ability to differentiate between the good and the bad and they try to become a better Human being and some lose control of themselves and hence become evil by nature:chai:

Any psychologist will tell you that there are too many factors involved in shaping us into who we become as a person (ie evolutionary, biological, social, cultural and environmental factors,etc). The good and evil are not trait of personality, but part of subjective norms. Thus, they're learned behaviors.

Praise be to God Who Judges our actions against our intentions.

I don't have a problem with what you are saying really ... Of course we condense the argument to nature vs nurture again. I think a better question than naturally good or naturally bad - would be inclined to submit to the Will of God or inclined to decide for ourselves ... Or more concisely -

Motivated by wisdom or by desire.

Trust in tradition vs trust in modern thought

Psyah Bhai is that you :hmmm:

:hehe: Yes … why do you ask? Please elaborate and I shall too … inshaAllah.

^ no Peace today? Why? :(

Peace Sister Kinzz :blush:

Now … please explain what you meant earlier?

I meant no peace today? I was talking about post # 11 and 12 and then after that my post too :frowning:

but you said good and bad/evil are subjective terms. How can we measure something to be neutral by measuring two subjective things?

Thanks psyah for stating what I meant to ask.

very hi philosophical.

I believe everyone has ability to differentiate between good and bad but some chose not to use it. :slight_smile:

psyah bhai, kinzz got a point. Please tell us aap ko ghar mein kaheen dant toh nahi parri? :hehe:

Children most likely become somewhat similar if not exactly what their parents are.
when you talk about nature of children(maybe human also), there is nothing like bad or good but a set properties and inherent characteristics a child get. Observe different childern, you will se, some of them fall in 'good' category some in 'bad' and some in 'neutral'.
You have to recognize the diference between inherent characteristics and learnt behavior. Learnt behavior is kind a mask to inherent characteristics. Like a psychologist different souroundings and circumstances can unmask your inherent characteristics.
'good' and 'bad' nature evolve from each other.