di awaz ** kamaal ** di aye…
kya khyal hay aap ka?
[This message has been edited by Nurmah (edited April 19, 2002).]
di awaz ** kamaal ** di aye…
kya khyal hay aap ka?
[This message has been edited by Nurmah (edited April 19, 2002).]
most regular posters here wont agree with me, but she's overrated.
If she could just stop doing that typical punjabi nasal voice thing, I think she'd be set.
I knew this was coming!
Originally posted by PyariCgudia:
** that typical punjabi nasal voice thing, I think she'd be set.**
i won't even say anything
**most regular posters here wont agree with me, but she's overrated.
If she could just stop doing that typical punjabi nasal voice thing, I think she'd be set.**
Care to explain the 'punjabi nasal voice thing'? I think shes pretty solid on the "Filmy" type music, I'm not really a fan of Pakistani films (Or Indian for that matter), so can't really say I heard many of her songs. Dil Taan Pagal is a good one though.
The eyelids of a Rajputs eyes are lowered only in death.
she has a superb voice,
heard it a few days ago, in a stage drama, it was a commercial of her,
really
ham se haye dunya
é dunya waloun…
Rajput yaar,
I dont know PCG has thins thing against Punjabis. I dont know why. Its just sad. She thinks everything is a Punjabi conspiracy to screw other provinces off of everything.
Originally posted by RajputFury:
Care to explain the 'punjabi nasal voice thing'? I think shes pretty solid on the "Filmy" type music, I'm not really a fan of Pakistani films (Or Indian for that matter), so can't really say I heard many of her songs. Dil Taan Pagal is a good one though.
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Pretty sad that we bring in ethnicity even into Music and Entertainment. I for one don’t like to look at the Singers background, if theres talent and the tunes work, thats all that matters.
Since the birth of Pakistan, the music scene has been bouncing between urdu and punjabi.
Not any other ethnicity. I had watched this documentary on NFAK the other day, and they were interviewing some of the students of NFAK, one being Humera Arshad. One of the girls, her name was Farzana, (i may have this wrong since I'm not sindhi and not familiar with the sindhi language), but she had a beautiful voice and I have no idea what she was singing, but it sounded awesome. My point is that I'm not ag/Punjabi influence in music, but I feel that other types of regional music and talent should be promoted as well, which I dont see happening. As you can see for yourself, every other hit song (no wait, almost EVERY hit song) today is Punjabi. For someone who is NOT punjabi, it gets tiring.
As for the nasal voice thing. Try singing while pressing the middle portion of your nose where the nose canals seem to become more solidified with a bone exterior and see how your voice sounds. That is roughly something like "nasal". I see it with a lot of Punjabi female singers. The Noor Jehan-singing-in-punjabi syndrome, as I like to call it. The funny thing is (Humera Arshad is a prime example of this - compare her bhangra to ghazals) - that when these singers sing in urdu, the nasal effect disappears. On the other hand, there are many singers who have sang in punjabi and have not had this "nasal" syndrome. Compare Hadiqa's smooth voice in Boohey Barian to Humera Channa's punjabi numbers (film playback singer). I hope that clarified my point.
Again, people misconstrue my comments to mean that I hate Punjabis, or that I dont like the culture, or that i have a personal bias. I dont. I am posing my point of view as an avid listener of music. Not everyone goes for the same voice type. I hope my comments to not fuel further disgust.
So you are denying your comments in that Chagai Nuclear tests post where you said Baluchistan main kuch aur karnay ko nahi milla thaa jo yeh test karr rahay hain? Or your comments that Prime is dominated by Punjabis? The above two comments of your show that that you are thinking about Punjabis is biased.
There isnt anything wrong with that! You are titled to your own opinion. And this being a discussion forum! I am sure everyone respects that. But as soon as we try to justify anything you you start contradicting your previous made staements with new statements.
What I would like to say is that the fact remains a facts. Punjab contributes to a very large population towards Pakistan and I am sure if there are more people in the province more people are going to come out and be counted for. May it be professional fields like doctors, Scientists waghera. its just a simple fact. Its not that other people are dumb or lack talent or anything. Its just that they are more in numbers!
I personally dont even think in that way. As If some asks me if I am Punjabi, I just say I am Pakistani as thats the thing which matters really.
I just got offended when you used the line "Punjabi nasal Voice". As that is just plain ignorance and stereotyping. Listen to Shazia Khushk, she is Sindhi and she has a very Nasal voice too! Madam Noor Jahan was Punjabi but she didn't have a nasal voice.
Right
I agree 100% but that doesn’t mean that I am not proud or familiar with my heritage. Just like I don’t want people unfairly characterizing Pakistanis, same goes for the Punjabis. You can be proud of your country and your province at the same time!
Obviously, there are issues that go way beyond this message, so I don’t really have right to comment on them.
The ‘Punjabi’ nasal thing is indeed a rare phenomenon, as it is the first time I have heard of it. Apparently this affliction strikes Punjabi..oh no.. Punjabi Female singers .. oh wait.. isn’t Hadiqa Kiyani Punjabi? Oh ok so it’s every Punjabi, Female singer except for Hadiqa
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
Punjabi music is hot not only in South Asia but also internationally. Even if you take Indian Punjabi, it totally dominates all other languages in music (Not including Filmi). Ask your gora friends about ‘Indian’ music and odds are they’ll say Bhangra (if they say anything at all). Laugh when your guju friend dancing awkwardly in a club and calling it ‘Bhangra.’ So tell me if its Punjabis imposing their music on the world, or the world liking the music?
Quite the contrary, those two comments of mine you have quoted from other posts are not contradictory to my statement at all.
Prime is dominated by Punjabis. Farah'z Hotline, Sur Street, Your Choice, Cinemascope, Travel Guide (which only shows northern areas), Jahan Tum Wahan Hum (always hosted out of Lahore or Islamabad), Family Front (lahore-based), etc, etc. Sure there are shows that are not on Punjabi culture, but the majority of shows are based in Lahore, held in Lahore/Punjab, or they are run by Punjabi management. I state this, simply by the ratio of punjabi oriented shows to non-punjabi oriented shows. This does not mean that I am saying no non-Punjabi shows are shown, but that a significant MAJORITY are punjabi.
The Balochistan comment was me being sarcastic. My point was that no one can find anything better to do with Balochistan, other than use it as a bomb testing area. I'm not saying that it should not be given this use. Obviously, there must be a logical geographical reason why they would use Balochistan to do the tests in. However, my point is that the government found this one use for Balochistan, but it hasn't (until recently with Musharraf's govt) found any other uses for Balochistan. Why? Becuz no one has looked there. Now that they are looking to that province they see it as a location of a great port, a great source of oil and minerals and precious stones, and a great source of human labor. Why wasn't this all looked into before? Not just becuz our govt has been corrupt but also becuz the whole nation has generally ignored this province, and has economically and culturally been focuses on Punjab. And since this is shor sharaaba, go ahead and look at the subjects and contents of the posts. Most of the time, we're talking of some punjabi artist or the other. Compare that to the number of posts on regional non-punjabi performers.
Rajput, good point on people liking PUnjabi music.
However, in Pakistan, most of the studios are punjabi owned and mostly in lahore. Other studios in the nation just dont have the money invested in them or the attention to launch other regional artists. Qawaali is also well-liked internationally and across the border, so is ghazal. However, those art forms are not as promoted. I think sindhi and pushto music hold a lot of potential as can be seen by Shazia Khushk and some of rahim shah's pashto songs -- so why aren't more artists like them coming out? I dont think Punjabi music is any better than any other regional music. Music is music, and if done properly it will be pleasing to the ear. You can make jumpy beats to sindhi music as for punjabi music. But there's no one to promote these talents. As Mekaal says, no VENUES for these regions to promote their talent.
I must admit that you watch Prime Very closely! Waisay Mekaaeel Is the man!
As for Prime being Punjab oriented. I admit that we see that girl Irum Hassan too much! But come on dont tell me you dont see any plays from Karachi? Farah's Hotline is from Islamabad so that doesnt count as Punjabi. And also wanted to let you know that Prime is Lahore based so programs especailly made for Prime, like PRIME POST and YOUR CHOICE are produced in Lahore!
** As Mekaal says, no VENUES for these regions to promote their talent.**
Hehe, i remember the most irrelevant and random things at times.
**Rajput, good point on people liking PUnjabi music.
However, in Pakistan, most of the studios are punjabi owned and mostly in lahore. Other studios in the nation just dont have the money invested in them or the attention to launch other regional artists. Qawaali is also well-liked internationally and across the border, so is ghazal. However, those art forms are not as promoted. I think sindhi and pushto music hold a lot of potential as can be seen by Shazia Khushk and some of rahim shah's pashto songs -- so why aren't more artists like them coming out? I dont think Punjabi music is any better than any other regional music. Music is music, and if done properly it will be pleasing to the ear. You can make jumpy beats to sindhi music as for punjabi music. But there's no one to promote these talents. As Mekaal says, no VENUES for these regions to promote their talent.**
I agree...sounds good. Hey bring out the Rahim Shahs and Shazia Khushks, I brought their music before and I'll buy it again!
Re: Naseebo Lal
I have joined paklinks yesterday only with a hope of getting information about my favourite singer Naseebo Lal. Hope I will get much information here. I am a great fan of Naseebo Lal. from that day when I listened her 1st song ,I have been listening to her only. I like her voice and her innocensy very much. I have searched a lot about Naseebo Lal on internet, But I did not get much information about her.
If someone here has any information abou her then please help me.
I have downloaded almost all songs from internet that are available. a have also seen her in Nadia khan,s show.
If someone has such information that can help me to meet her or help me to send my message to her, i will be very thnkful to that person