Naraan to Neelam

our trip to north this year is coming up right after Eid INSHA ALLAH…

we have plans to enter neelam valley from kaghan valley, on foot, via dudipat, saral and ratti galli.

i’ve two questions, i know some of the posters here were planning for dudipat or some have been their before, would be great if they can answer the following:

i) there are two routs to dudipat which differ slightly in the first half, one goes straight above and behind the hill, the other goes with left bank of purbinar, which is less steep. can you tell me if this one which goes along the river/nala bank is open?

ii) ratti gali sar/pass is open? can we now reach ratti gali from noori top side?

if one or both of the above are not open yet, what is the condition? how much is the snow? what locals say that will these routs (specially the one towards ratti gali) be open this year?

thanks

Re: Naraan to Neelam

Great to know about your upcoming tour. I went to Kaghan valley last month and enjoyed a lot :) Although I wasn't able to visit Dudipat because of snow as narrated by local people but I did visit Sharan (as recommended by Aceones sahab!). It was awesome place. Gonna post its pictures soon when I get the time.

I bought a book titled "Aks Dar Aks - Vadi Kaghan" by "Amir Rashid". It is a great book and he narrates his expeditions to all places of Kaghan valley. He has also narrated about this particular route which you are talking about.. I just can't remember now. Will post about it as soon as I get back home and see the book. I'm sure it will help you a lot. But I'm not sure if weather is different this year as compared to the one narrated by the author. However, I can give you some phone numbers of Jeep drivers with whom you can confirm. They must know about this information.

^ great sufi_bhai

good that you had a pleasant tour. we also could not visit dudipat last year due to the same reason as you. and thats why this year we delayed our program by 2 months.
and dont forget to post pictures of sharan with complete route detail, we want to keep it in our plan b just in case things dont work the way we wish...

and yeah plz post the numbers you are talking about or pm me, and also post the details of that route, that would be helpful.

Sure, I've sent you the phone numbers. please check your PM. Will also post about the route after reading the book which is currently sitting at my friends place.. gonna take it from him in next couple of days.

Will also make a thread about Sharan :)

Thanks Sufi_Bhai! this is a big help

thread about sharan, with pics and all the detail, is a must : )