Well this is something I thought we should discuss. As everyone in the Music industry seems to be on the verge trying as hard as they can to close down Napster.
So what is your opinion? What are the advantages and the disadvantages of Napster to the Artist of the Music industry and an ordinary Music listener like us.
And an important thing which we need to focus in this thread is the Impact of Napster on Pakistani Music and artists. This being a Pakistani forum and all.
I heard recently that Shehzad Roy has been protesting the free distribution of his music on the internet like servers, Mp3 and especailly Napster. On the other hand this is what Junaid Jamshed bhayee had to say about the internet and the Impact of such options on sales etc. Junaid bhayee nay bara pyaara jawaab diya. Unho nay kaha. Rizq lagaanay waala Allah hay. Yaar meri thinking hay is say Artist kaa music dunyaa main mashoor hota hay. He further added that when someone puts in PAKISTAN you can see 100 main say atleast 25 result DIL DIL PAKISTAN kay hotay hain, and I think is he tarah we get heard in every nook and corner of the world! And that promote an artist’s music. Materialistic honay kaa fayedah he nahi!
Junaid bhayee as usual Lajawaab karr kay rakh diya!
hmmm.. well for us listeners… napster is heaven, cudnt have been better.
but from an artist’s point of view…
i guess it IS unfair…
i mean those guys dont do it as a hobby, its their livelihood… their profession.
so in a way its an open music piracy.
so if we want every thing fair, napster shudd close or start paying the artists by getting something from the users,
wellll artists these days r making millions, but still if u go by the rules
its unfair to just have watever song u want n u dont have to pay a cent.
I think there is no harm to music industry from nepster as long as its is kept for personal use not commercial use.
I think napster is great because sometimes some song that you cant find in shops you can find on napster. Specialy for Pakistani song because lot of shops in here are owned by Indians and they keep very little collections of Pakistani film or singer songs. Eeven shops owned by our Pakistani ppl dont have a big collection of Pakistani songs. That is the reason we (paksitani) dont know about our own films and artist as much.
Yes that's true Alibeta bhai, anyone can build up on any type of albums from any country of the world. It's simply amazing.
I too have thousands and thousands of full albums by just mooching them off napster, IRC, friends, etc.. (still mp3's).
I think Napster saves the local public lots and lots of money actually. Go to your store, buy a 10 pack of CD-R's, for only $6.
Or put all your mp3's in your mp3 player..
Hehe the only problem I find is, LISTENING to EVERY freaking song. Man if you have gigs and gigs of music, with work and studies, darn... is it hard to find the time.
Napster is good for everyone but the artist and the record company. Royalties are important in any such field, music, books, heck even software.
Lets call it as it is. people like it because its free. Yes it does have advantage that some artists get exposure, but the artists who are the most downloaded from napster in general dont need any expposure really.
To be fair there should be a per song fee that a person should pay to download the song after listening to maybe a 60 second segment free of charge.
well i think napster cant be closed down, as now it has beeen a neeed, agar band ho gaya to museebat ho jaegi, as we are so much dependant on it, well thast an opinion frm a normal point of view
as Ali bhai has posted, i think Junaid bhai has a reallly nice approach to thhis matter, by napster we get to know the songs, n maybe then this could make us buy the album, yaaaar agar they only doing for paisa then they wont be singing Dil se....n if their songs get famous then more concerts honge, n they can earn more
yeah Napster's european parent company is steering it in that direction. good for everyone i think, for napster, for artists, labels as well as consumers.
My campus blocked Napster due to bandwidth problems. I’ve been using Audiogalaxy. It is a very interesting and well executed concept. To share files I run a very small client on my computer. All the finding etc. is done off a personalized webpage which shows, amongst the usual suspects (searching etc.), what songs you have and classifies them by genre. But the coolest part is that when you search for a song, it groups together identical hits, and when you request a download, it tries to choose amongst the many locations of the file so that you get the best download performance. I really do recommend visiting the site