Naming in Islam

Re: Naming in Islam

er...i might be sounding stupid too , like evilmastermind...but what about the name "Haris" ??

adam = aadam , david = daood , jacob = yaqoob , joseph = yousuf , gabriel = jibraeel, michael = mikaael...

whats the problem in naming ur child in english ? like someone said , they are referring to the same prophets?... or angels??

Haris is the name of a Sahabah.

as far as I know names like umar, ali, khalid, talha were being used before Islam was spread. The people with those names became muslims but that does not mean there were no nonmuslims with the same names.

hey ever heard of tariq aziz of iraq, or umar khayyam. I doubt that they are/were muslims.

do whatever u want, dont follow the hadith, u want people to think ur kids r christians,jews, or just plain americans, go ahead, cuz thats the main reason u want to call them that.

chanda you are farhad ali taimur? u are here and read my mind wah wah, kya baat hai telepathy ki.

sorry, but in most arab countries you cant tell a christian or a muslim by their name. tariq aziz is just one example.

and even in the days of the prophet, the names were being used by muslims and by non muslims at the same time so they were not really differentiator. There are many persian names which are accept 'muslim' names but predate islam and are used by zoroastrians as well.

so the question remains what is a muslims name and what is not. and sorry you aint got no answers.

I think people do as others do, so if a lot of muslim have A firstname, they assume it is islamic and name their child after it, but if B firstname is moslty used by abother religion, they won't name their child after.

I think also islamic names are those of the prophet, its relatives and companions and wives, for example Ali, Aisha, Mohammed...
plus the "arabic" version os prophets name, like Isa, Yussuf, Suleiman

but that is limited amount of names, the culture who adopted islam made some names sound islamic, because those who have them are muslims, and they are numerous.

The guidance I read was that unless a name is very specific to a religion it is okay. e.g. muslims should not use names like peter or paul or any chritian saints etc. Similarly you will see that ara christins use the same names as muslims but from what I know do not use names like mohammed, ahmed etc. My dad however has met christian arabs who have names like abdullah and abdulrehman.

Alot of the saints came after Prophet's death so its hard to say what names could have been islamic.

So the conclusion is that you can name your child ALMOST anything.... rules made for naming your child is man made... :) ..good enough!

??????????????????

Peer sahab ki mind reading honey lagey gi tu hum kis khait ki moli hian :no:

^ it was a trick question, mind ho gi toh read karay ga na munna?

yeah i kinda agree with u bulleya, i named my daughter Fatima ,but when i looked for its meaning it said, weaner,a child who is deprived of her mothers milk at a very early age!!
i was in a fix.i thought it is an islamic name but look at the meaning…or i need to do more research.
aren`t names and their meanings suppose to have affect on our lives.
if any body knows any other meaning of fatima, pls let me know.

i know a muslim man by the name of
Confucious
what do u have to say abt that and if u think thats weird how abt
Krishan
by their first names what would ppl think abt them…chinese or hindu???
i am a pakistani muslim woman with a scandinavian name.

bulleya ki jana main kaun???