Could you guys remind me of some names please, and their routes. I only remember the ones used to run between Karachi and Rawalpindi, likeTezgaam and Awaam Express.
Re: Names of Trains in india and pakistan
karakoram express - thats all i know.....haven't travelled in a train since 1990
in India:
i had made a post about this train sometimes ago. here is the link to that thread:
the ONLY continuously LONGEST running train for 147 years [introduced in 1866] is non other than the pride of Indian Railways [the official train of Gora saab], the 1 UP and 2 DN KALA MAIL…started out as a 7 coach-long train in 1866 and, today. it’s 25 coaches long…it changed it’s identifier number from one digit [1 UP and 2 DN] to 5 digit [12311 and 12312] over time.
it travels from Howrah [Kolkatta] to Kalka [with connections to the hilly resort of Shimla by the world famous Toy Train] via Asansol, Dhanbad, Gaya, MuGhal Sarai, Allahabad, Kanpur, Tundla, Aligarh, Delhi, Panipat, Jallundhar, Chandigarh]…it covers a total distance of 1900 kms.
Boolan Mail - Used to run from Karachi to Quetta.... Don't know the current status
Taiz rau, shalimar express from karachi to lahore
can you guys give some info about the trains you mentions along with a picture or two and may be throw in a video...that will be awesome! :)
Bolan Mail - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
(Bolan Mail)
(Quetta Express)
(Tez-Gaam)
^ thank you…great pictures.
alas, the electric traction is no more…those electric locomotives are so cute. here are a few of videos of the rare Pakistan Railway Electric Locomotives in action.
Karakoram express, between karachi and lahore
Chenab,super,shaheen are a history now.
shaheen ka miyan shehbaz bhi part of history now :)
Chiltan express, from Queta to Lahore.
Allama Iqbal express, Sialkot to Karachi
Sargodha Expess, lahore to sargodha
Ghauri express. Shorkot cantt to lahore
Shah Latif Express... It runs in Sindh only (guess)
i think Raza Ali Abidi’s ‘Rail Kahani’ is very much relevant for this discussion.
Karakoram Express the only one I remember
Chennai Express from Dadar Mumbai to Chennai Egmore stations :)
Names of Trains in india and pakistan
My all time Fvt chennai express.
But is this really an express. I heard there is no such express
Ever since the engine rolled off the tracks, there have been new dimensions to the distances, relations and emotions. Abaseen Express, Khyber Mail and Calcutta Mail were not just the names of the trains but the experiences of hearts and souls. Now that we live in the days of burnt and non functional trains, I still have few pleasant memories associated with train travels.
Bao Train and Dorian Gray - DAWN.COM
Without the mention of Bao Train, Gujranwala remains an incomplete story. The train shuttled between Lahore and Sialkot and fit in the educational and work schedules. The name Bao Train was a reference to the formally dressed students and office workers who took this train. Other than these passengers, the train ferried a large number of railway workers from Mughalpura workshop. The hearts of thousands of viewers were touched after Munno Bhai wrote a TV serial on the emotional side of passengers.
The city has hundreds of stories and thousands of references. Besides Amrita Preetam, wordsmiths like Noon Meem Rashid, Abdul-Hameed Adam, Dr Faqeer Muhammad Faqeer and Meera Ji hailed from Gujranwala. The first Melody Queen of India, Surayya was also born in Gujranwala but circumstances, however, had her interred in Bada Kabristan, Marine Lines, Mumbai.
Gujranwala has lived up to its traditions of chivalry and continues to produce men of valour like Air Commodore Mitti Masood and Captain Ahsan Malik. While Mitty was a hero outside the theatre, Ahsan’s resilience in the 1971 war won him special appreciation of Sam Bahadur. The Indian Chief of Army Staff, Field Marshal Manekshaw, wrote to his Pakistani counterpart and requested to merit Ahsan’s bravery. The list also includes Parameshwar Narayn Haksar, the chief architect of Simla Accord and a close aide of Ms Gandhi. Religious icons such as Grand Ayatollah Bashir Najfi and Swami Ram Teerath also have a connection with the city. Gujranwala has produced some of the finest comedians for the entertainment industry. The versatility of Dildar Pervez Bhatti, wit of Sohail Ahmed, timings of Babbu Barral, slapsticks of Younus Butt and comedy of Munawar Zareef is attributed to Gujranwala.
Fewer in the city have read Oscar Wilde beyond text books but there once lived a deputy commissioner who was quite the Dorian Grey. Mustafa Zaidi was a poet par excellence and equally narcissist. The DC house at Gujranwala, during his stay, had only one neighbour – the Qazilbash family was of three daughters and their parents. They mixed well with Zaidi and his German wife. Shehnaz, one of the daughters, soon graduated to be the title of Zaidi’s poems. The sorry affair cost the poet his job, family, and eventually his life. Shahnaz managed headlines for a while and then left the country along with the family. Much to his dismay, Zaidi’s poetry was recognised posthumously, a ritual he criticised fiercely.
Donald Jeevan Mall is the scion of Dhall Rajputs. His great grandfather converted to Christianity. The story of his conversion can still be found in archives of Gujranwala Church. His age defies the social pressures that prevent people from being straight forward. Somebody asked, “Did you ever face religious discrimination?” “Never”, he replied, “Its been almost a lifetime, I have moved all the way from Bakhtay wala to Gill Road and never did it occur to me that I was different. The city and the people have been more than just neighbours, they are the family.”
I thought I never knew this place.
But is this really an express. I heard there is no such express
there is a train by this name...usually they are known by the name of their destination. it's NOT one of the prestigious train of India...it's just an express train with lots of stops on the way unlike Rajdhani, Duronto and Shatabdi Express trains which make ONLY a few stops with the Exception of Duronto trains which run point-to-point without commercial stops. they stop at a couple of stations for the Driver and staff changes and for the food supply. these trains run very long distances.