Namaaz

Namaaz is such a beautiful act of worship that a muslim can ever do..

I cant live without my namaaz. Alhumdullilah, it brings so much peace and a calm feeling to my body, its an amazing feeling that goes through your body. If your stressed or need to talk to Allah(swt), read namaaz! If you need help and guidance, read namaaz! Alhumdullilah, it helps and with perseverence, everything works out but with time.

For example, before i got married i had rishtas that were not suitable for me and my parents were worried. It was sad to see them like that. After every namaaz, i used to make dua and ask Allah’s help and guidance to find me the perfect guy and Subhanallah, it happened. Now its been over 2years Alhumdullilah, and i have married the most wonderful, caring loving guy in the world. Its sometimes so ovewhelming for me to think that im in this position and Allah has helped me but only because ALLAH(swt) is the greatest…Subhanallah…

May Allah(swt) help everyone who is in trouble and forgive all our bad deeds and sins…Ameen.

Re: Namaaz

Peace be with you,
It is very nice to hear that things worked out for you.

Having said that, if (for instance,) things had not turned out the way they did, what would your rhetoric be at this time as opposed to "Its sometimes so ovewhelming for me to think that im in this position and Allah has helped me but only because ALLAH(swt) is the greatest"?

Awaiting your reply.

I also do not agree with your assessment "If your stressed or need to talk to Allah(swt), read namaaz!"... I think the Being, That is Allah, does not need any special invokation. He is with us everywhere and at all times.

ma'salaam

nice post S_E.... u just missed one thing i think: if you are happy and you dont know how to control your joy, jhuka your head infront of your Lord and offer two rakat shukraana!

waise I'm a namaz-e-haajat fan when it comes to times of stress. May Allah SWT ease everyone's pareshaaniaN, Amin

PS: Subhanallah its nice to know that things worked out for u in the rishta department!

:) nice read...

My rishta dua is still in the pending status!...please remeber me in your accepted supplications inshallah...:)

we ought to supplicate regardless of whether we can "see" them being accepted :)

Inshallah Allah SWT will bless you with a spouse who is good for you in this dunya, and the next Amin.

Hypnotix, thank you for your reply. You asked what would i do if things didnt work out as they did? I would still read namaaz as i do and ask Allah to make everything better and to bring patience in me to deal with whatever problems i could be going through. And yes, i agree that Allah is with us everywhere but there are moments, that i talk to the supreme being on my own after my namaaz whilst crying and i just feel that inshallah everything will be ok. I get the feeling of re-assurance in my heart that Allah is with me and i cant repay him back ever for how much he has helped me.

Thank you pinks. Ur right, i did miss that and thank you for reminding me but i havent done that at all and would appreciate in some guidance?

Thanks teggy my sweet friend..:bb:

Inshallah everything will work with time…and keep reading namaaz..

don know if u mean the shukrana or the namaz-e-haajat? so i’ll answer 4 both :slight_smile:

well shukrana’s i just pray normally like u wud if u were reading 2 rakat sunnah… and thank Allah SWT for whatever it is u r thankful for (perhaps a loving husband is a good excuse na? :slight_smile: )

as for namaz-e-haajat, u offer 2 rakat nafil, followed by dhirk, followed by durood, followed by the following dua:

and make sure u concentrate on the meaning alongside the arabic… its beautiful, Alhumdulillah.

Wassalam

Definately!!! i say go for it!

And you my dear pal! are very welcome!

Mashallah! Good to see it worked out for you. I am in a similar situation, and my hopes are fading away :(

The two Quranic Verses that keep my hopes up:

"Call on Me; I will answer your prayer: but those who are too arrogant to serve Me will surely find themselves in Hell - in humiliation!”
(Surat al-Ghafir, 40:60)

"...never give up hope of Allah’s Soothing Mercy: truly, no one despairs of Allah’s Soothing Mercy, except those who have no faith.”
(Surah Yusuf, 12:87)

:someone edited thier post (Mashallah):

here’s a nice dua for those searching/ praying for an azwaaj:

O my Lord! Truly I am in need of whatever good You Bestow on me. (AL-QASAS: 24)

and another:

O Allah! Grant me Your love, and the love of a person whom my loving him will benefit me draw closer to You. O Allah! Whatever You have granted me from what I love, make it a means of strength for me to use in the way You love. O Allah! Whatever love (of things) You have removed from me then Grant in its place the love (of things) that You love.

i cant get myself to pray daily.. :(
but i do try..i need some kind of motivation

Just keep your intentions neik and your efforts in full gear! plz dont loose the presious gift we get from Allah SWT 5 times a day! who knows if we get a chance to receive it tomorrow?

Some ayats from Quran and ahadaith... I pray that inshallah you soon become a 5-time-namaazi, Amin :)

Be ever mindful of prayers, and of praying in the most excellent way; and stand before God in devout obedience. [Qur'an 2:238]

O you who believe! Seek help in patience and prayer. Truly! Allah is with the patient." [surah al Baqarah; 2:153-154]

Verily, the prayer keeps one from the great sins and evil deeds" [al Ankabut 45]

The Apostle of Allah was asked: Which of the actions is best? He replied: Observing prayer early in its period. [abu Dawud 2: 426]

The first matter that the slave will be brought to account for on the Day of Judgment is the prayer.
If it is sound, then the rest of his deeds will be sound. And if it is bad, then the rest of his deeds will be bad." [at Tabarani]

S alat is a pillar of the religion (Islam). He who establishes it, establishes religion; and he who destroys it, destroys religion." [Tabrani]

Narrated Uthman ibn Affan: I heard Allah's Apostle (peace_be_upon_him) say: When the time for a prescribed prayer comes, if any Muslim performs ablution well and offers his prayer) with humility and bowing, it will be an expiation for his past sins, so long as he has not committed a major sin; and this applies to for all times. Sahih Muslim: Book 2, Number 0441

O ne of the Saliheen was asked how he kept his khushu' in prayer (concentration & humbleness etc) He said, 'I imagine that Allah is before me, that the Angel of Death is at my back, that the gardens of Jannah are to my right, that the fires of Jahannum are on my left and that I am standing on the Sirat'

I wish i prayed as much as you do. I feel so bad sometimes when i think about that i start praying, i do that for a while, and then all of a sudden, i'm off it again. I hate it so much. Everytime i hear a nasheed, or related stuff, i start feeling horrible because of my actions. At times, i get so overwhelmed i could feel my body shaking (literallly, i swear), my eyes water just reading the translation and hearing recitation. Makes me want to leave all the world's distractions and just be left alone....

I know this is a stupid question, but have u always prayed regularly? or if later, then what did you do to establish it?
I want to, i really really do. But distractions, world, is all so deceptive. It's soooo hard to concentrate on what's right. Eventhough i know the path to truth and everything, i just have trouble following it.
I hope that made sense :(
Please pray and hope for me......

Thank You Pinks. That was helpful.

Dont lose hope. You have to wait and persevere. Its not like you rub the lantern and genie pops and so will grant the wish so quickly…keep reading namaaz and making dua and inshallah everything will work. Allah will open different avenues for you where you will have many options to choose from. You may not notice this but it will click into one place without you realising and that my dear friend is the best feeling..AH.

Ok, teggy, here is my honest opinion/s.

When i was young in Pakistan, i used to read namaaz but not often. I would hate fridays because of the Khutba but i guess i was just little then yet still seeing everyone go to the masjid did motivate me into reading the juma at home. ONLY the juma. I also used to hate it when Mualvi Sahib used to come and teach me and bro how to read quran, I remember both of us making excuses in turns and go inside to watch cartoons for 5mins but later we would have to suffer our beats from the mualvi sahib…:asa: It was all worth it!

Growing up, i would see my parents reading namaaz infront of me whilst i was watching TV - obviously with the volume on mute! I used to think that “how can i waste my time watching tv and not dedicate 5-10mins of my time to namaaz?” Watching tv or movies is NOT gonna help you on the judgement day. Also, reading namaaz means that you will not have to read qaza in your burhapa < thats another motivation.

Another thing that motivates me is that all of us will be facing qabar ka azaab. Thats one thing thats scares the hell out of me. Even just writing this is sending chills down my body. I have a picture in my mind that if i dont read namaaz, all those stories that my elders used to tell eg snakes and big keeray makoray will come in your grave etc, might actually be true. Ok, it might or might not happen like that but everyone thinks their own way. I am scared thats whats gonna happen if i cant answer 1 of the 3 questions in qabar ie the qalma. I am reading namaaz so i can save myself from all these things because this world is just a mere test for us. We are not here for eternity. Allah has sent us here to see what the hell we will do when faced with challenges/dilemmas/problems and the way you act on these things will determine your place on the qiyamat day…:hinna:

Thank you all for the help!

What is 'shukrana' and 'namaz-e-haajat'? and what is the purpose of each?

S_E has answered your question well… there are just a few things I’d like to add from a personal prespective:

Namaz is our connection to Allah SWT. Yes, offering it because of fear of Allah SWT’s wrath is a reason to pray it, however, I feel that this is only half the reason. The other half is because we love & thanking Allah SWT for his many bounties upon us…

I mean how rude does it seem in this day and age if you did a favour for someone and they not only forget to say thanks, but are in complete denial about your favours upon them! For example, is it enough to pay lip service and proclaim to our parents once a day that we love them, but during the day, do everything that they tell us not to!?! Our feelings should reflect in our actions, which should coincide with our words.

Also, I feel namaz helps you put things in prespective… it helps you realise whats worth getting worked up for and whats not! It also helps you to refrain from sinning! I mean really, a guy/girl wouldn’t go clubbing and take breaks to pray (or would they :konfused:)… praying, and doing sajda infront of our Lord (who we have to answer to aone day) 5 times a day will inshallah help you get away from such sins… its hard to manage a sinful life and 5 time namaaz ki paabandi at the same time.

I do know ppl who pray and do some stuff they really shouldn’t be doing! but then i (i may be wrong) think that to them, namaz is a ritual, its something that theyv’e been doing for so long, however, have failed to recognise its essence…

If a person asks Allah SWT 17 times a day: “Ihdinas siraatul mustaqeem”, and asks Allah SWT this with all honestly and khushoo, then the path to this right direction will inshallah become clear to them… for those who say it without knowing it… I pray that they make an effort to learn! But this is not to say that one stops praying until they know the meaning of most of the arabic they recite in the namaaz… God I hope I’m making sense!

I gotto get going now… just one last thing: a friend of mine at uni reverted to islam and she didn’t know how to pray initially (obviously)… but five times a day she would sit down and say The Lord’s Prayer (its out of the Bible i think)… Subhanallah she needed to make that connection and this is how she did it… she eventually learnt the salat properly :slight_smile:

I pray that things become easier for you, Amin.

Wassalam

i knowwww :(:( i feel u...i really really do! and i do feel guilty and horrible and all that more than i could ever express in words. I just don't know how to establish prayer. See when you have parents that do it, it really helps because then u do it too. Sad thing is my parents don't even do it. neither do my siblings.
I want to establish 5-time prayer, and sometimes i do but it fades away...i wish it would become permanent. The devil's so strong :(