Namaaz arrangements at wedding

Someone we know is getting married and the parents have finally secured a hall in a nice hotel for the walima. It was very difficult to find this place it seems. The only trouble is that asr and maghrib times will happen during the event and the parents would like to arrange space for the men to pray in jamaat, and space for the ladies to pray as well. Unfortunately, the way the tables are going to be arranged leaves no space for that and there are no other ballrooms available that evening. There is no masjid closeby either.

People have recommended that forget the jamaat possibility and just turn off the music so people can pray on their own when the time comes. But that means they’d have to turn off the music for a long time.

So I just wanted to ask you all if you’ve ever been in a situation like this and what arrangements you’ve all made. Any suggestions?

Re: Namaaz arrangements at wedding

At one wedding that I went to, the people that wanted to pray (men and women) ended up praying on the dance floor and close to the entrance.

Another wedding, the men prayed in the main foyer , while some women prayed in the hall room itself in a corner.

I once prayed in a tiny spare room. It wasnt the bridal room, but just a room with extra tables and chairs.

If there is a will, there is a way.

if i am in such a situation. i'll probably read its qaza.

I am sure the whole hall wont be filled with table and chairs...i mean there must be some space in corner or something where group of people can read namaz turn by turn.

if one of those bridal rooms are available then some ladies can read there too.

or like that person said "just turn off the music so people can pray on their own when the time comes"...so maybe one can announce saying "its asar/maghrib time now the music will be turned for half an hour (or whatever is appropriate) those who wish to pray can proceed. that way people will know how much time they have for the prayer.

Turning off music for prayers?? are you taliban or something :asa:

People should be allowed to dance n all…

shaadi to zindagi main aik dafa hi hoti hai…namaaz parhnay k liye to saari umar pari hai …:chai:

I'm more asking from the perspective of the hosts. They want to be able to arrange something but aren't able to come up with formal arrangements. I guess the folks that have to pray will find a spot for sure. :D

They can arrange the program is such a way that there is no music 30 minutes before and after namaz time. Another thing is that I would encourage people (somehow) to come with the wudu (I am assuming that if they are my guests, i have frankness enough with them to suggest that). Third thing is that I can work with the hotel people to lay the tables out in such a way that there is enough empty space for people to pray/

And you get today’s award for the most tunzeela aunty of GS for today :hula:

Stop music for a few minutes…announce its prayer time…give sometime for ppl who dont hv wodhou to go to the washrooms and do wodhou…then ppl can play on the stage if it has enough space…or they can move a few tables temporarily and make space…

:smack2:

There is some fancy arrangement on the stage that cannot be moved. There are too many people....looks like they exceeded max capacity :D.

If they cant do anything abt the space...then I guess the least they can do is stop the music for sometime and announce its prayer time....and let ppl pray wherever they can find place....maybe beside their own tables.....they can get a few prayer mats from home.....

Is it in a hotel? Usually they will give you a separate room for namaz, if you ask.

yep…:k:

They asked but all ballrooms are being used. Maybe a smaller conference/meeting room?

^ Yup, that should be enough. Abu made sure that all the venues we considered were able to accommodate in this manner.

Thanks Sahar. I don't know if they've asked but I can suggest.

niksik almost all the weddings I have attended in halls, manors, etc.. have been extremely accommodating. Kindly ask them for a separate room (does not need to be a ballroom, can be an empty conference room) for prayer. And if they refuse, ask them to provide you with several sheets. If a ballroom has an adjacent hallway with little traffic, they can spread the sheets there...

Get some guys to move the chairs....there will be enough space for 2 rows.....and if there are more people..they can do jamaat's one after the other......

Yes great ideas guys.

Approximately how many guest will there be at this wedding? Do the hosts believe that almost all the guests will take the opportunity to pray?

I ask because I went to a wedding that was small by desi standards (250ish). Similar situation but many of the guests were non-Muslims. Most fancy hotels usually "comp" a few rooms for the bride/groom since they're spending to much money already. At the wedding I went to, the bride/groom was given 4 free rooms in addition to their bridal rooms. They used those 4 rooms for prayers, a place for people to go if their kids were acting up or if mom's needed privacy for some reason(ex. breastfeeding etc).

If another ballroom or meeting room is not available at all....see if the hosts can negotiate and get the hotel to "comp" them a few rooms (at least for a few hours). That way people who want to pray can do so in privacy and comfort (especially the women).

Hope this helps.