Najam Shiraz

I would say hes the second best vocalist in Pakistan right now. He is also, perhaps the most underrated of them all. I remember Junaid Jamshed telling me that even he attended a Najam concert when he was still in college, so yeah, najams been around for a while. How many of you think hes underrated? Why hasnt he received the success a vocalist of his potential should have? Personally, I would say he was not part of a band, thats why.

p.s. Those who know nothing about Pakistani music, please dont give your opinions (like you did in the other live performance thread).

He's brilliant. Esp his first song Sona Chahta Hoon.

He's no number 2. he's number one by far the best vocalsit in Pakistan. Ali Azmt would be number 2 if you talking about pop/rock msuic. and Number 3 RAHIM SHAH zindabaaaaaad

and he was part of a band paaji wasn't he?

*Originally posted by PakCanada: *
and he was part of a band paaji wasn't he?

Well, obviously, hes got people with him, but he still uses the solo name when releasing albums. At present I would rate him as the second best, but everyone1 has their own opinions. I am sure if he was part of a big band, he would have done wonders.

yaar i can't remember da band's name but i'm 100% sure he was in a band

hmm Karavan?

yah karvaan and thanx to Baba ji for remingding me that he started his career with wetmetals

Well, why do you think the band didnt do as well as one might have hoped? I actually found a nice old photo too!

[thumb=E]karavan_rakhaas7227_2468771.JPG[/thumb]

He's great. I think that one hamd "Na tera Khuda koi aur hai, Na mera khuda koi aur hai" set his career off.

Jaisay Chaho Jiyo didnt have the right balance altho it was heard all over.

Another new video out htese days -- "Pakistan". The story displayed is fantastic.

Im glad spock that you brought up this topic. Najam is definetly very underrated is an excellent vocalist. But I believe its his choice of music which has led to this. I remember his album "Roop Nagar", it was a master piece. Then came an all punjabi album "Pyaar Karan Nu Dil Karda", and then a rock album "Jaisey Chaho Jiyo."

Experimentation is good, but he should have associated himself to one kind of music before experimenting a lot. For example Junoon, Deewar was pretty different then the stuff they had been coming out with for the last few years, but was still a success.

One of his song which was a big hit in Pakistan.
In the video, the mic was comin from the top and ufff i cant remember the name of the song!

help :bummer:

*Originally posted by yaasir: *
Im glad spock that you brought up this topic. Najam is definetly very underrated is an excellent vocalist. But I believe its his choice of music which has led to this. I remember his album "Roop Nagar", it was a master piece. Then came an all punjabi album "Pyaar Karan Nu Dil Karda", and then a rock album "Jaisey Chaho Jiyo."

Yep, that makes sense. Was 'in se nen milla kar dekho' part of Roop Nagar as well?

Re: Najam Shiraz

*Originally posted by Spock: *
I remember Junaid Jamshed telling me that even he attended a Najam concert when he was still in college,

and Najam did the same for Ali Azmat.. i.e. watch his concerts when Najam hadn't even started..

Re: Najam Shiraz

*Originally posted by Spock: *
I remember Junaid Jamshed telling me that even he attended a Najam concert when he was still in college, so yeah, najams been around for a while.

JJ attending a Najam concert while he was in college?

who was in college Najam or JJ

thats coz both of them belong to the same intitution from where i studied
i.e University of engineering and technology Lahore (UET Lahore)
plus i did my matriculation from the same school where JJ did his, and even meet him once when he visited the school (now a degree college)

in UET Lahore JJ was in the session 1983...meaning his studies started in 1983 and ended in the end of 1988 (coz my elder brother was also from the same session).... while Najam joined UET in 1990 in the civil engineering dept (he never completed his degree and left)

if you are saying that the concert was when JJ was in college than it means between 1980-1983 and at time Najam would have been a student of class 3-5

so can you clear this out

that who was in college and who attened the concert ?

i am waiting Mr Spock

I think he's underrated but I also think he isn't so famous because he doesn't have a good song writer.

Yep! He’s one of the best singers.. :k:

The Game Responds:

*His vocals had won me over ever since "Un Se Nain". That songs kicks some unbelievable ass. People, That Is All.*

He has a very deep voice. His song 'meri tanhaayon tum hee laga lo mujh ko seenay se' has been one of my all time favorite songs. His live performances are too good, one of the best performers on stage.