najam sheraz - ten years special album

[thumb=H]l1220407_77027741.JPG[/thumb]

being such a prominent figure in pakistan’s music history with his euphoric voice comes an album that is basically a compilation of all his hits that he made in the 10 years after he went solo from the band karavan back in 1994…

mein ek saans mien kuch ziyada bol gaya nai? :stuck_out_tongue:

ye lo list of some tracks that are included in Ten Years Special Album. some tracks have been reworked around while ek do naye tracks hain.

Rabba
if u guys havent seen the video, dont even bother. gaana bhi aisi ronay dhonay wala hai.

Larki
the hit that gained him popularity.

Menu Teray Naal
selected for the bollywood film Murder earlier this year.

Peace 4 All
i dont know what he was trying to attempt with this angraizi song.

In Say Nain
another huge hit. lyrics achay hain.

Piyar Ki Pyaas
this track has a groovy starting. he sounds like babar sheikh a bit in the beginning(vocalist of the band dusk). the rest of the track is just…okhay.

Ajana
ye ek aur acha track hai.

Kajla
nice punjabi track. good for those mehndi like occasions. :smiley:

aur bhi hain. u be the judge. somehow, a fan like me of najam was prospecting alot from this album. i dont see the need for compiling hits like that. he couldve come out with more songs but i guess he was too buzy attending those naat concerts :stuck_out_tongue:

waisey he did mention of making roop nagar huge this time along with aamir zaki but somehow i didnt find it included in the album.

not upto expectations of sami saab. there were so many better tracks than the ones compiled on this cd. fir bolta hai i listen to my fans. khaak bhi nai sunta.

Is it out online?

yea if people from my town houston wouldnt upload it then who would? sab se pehlay sangeet! :smiley:
www.sangeetradio.com

Thanks

jeetay raho aur sada suhagan raho :k:

pai lagoo

agree, there are so many other songs he could've included in this album. where is tracks like pal do pal and yeh baat kisay maloom nahi. The man has such a strong voice. When it comes to vocal talents, he is right up there in the top of pak pop scene. Congratulations on the great 10 years najam. Hopefully he will give us some more creative works in the future.

yea he did say about a new album as soon he's done promoting this one.

*Originally posted by [sami rahman]: *
yea he did say about a new album as soon he's done promoting this one.

naat album or something else?

:) beats me

hope it isn't. I don't think I can take one more confused mullah pop star. Junaid bhai is enough.

He joined Karavan in 97 and left it in 99. He had been around in university circles in Lahore since 90, however he came into limelight in 94 with his first song that happened to be an instant hit and on the top of the charts. In Se Nain Mila Ke dekho. Before he was in a band called Wet Metal, that was not that sucessful.

After Inse Nain, he came up with a rock number Aajana which made people think that, yes this guy is sure a little weird but has enormous music sense as well. Since those were the days when Awaz and some MCC bands/artists were carrying the lagacy of VS/Strings from early 90s. Najam gave a different face to our music. With meaningful and well versed lyrics, intese expressions, beautiful and unique tunes (although the production and mastering was poor in his first album) and a voice with a lot of variety. He was all set to hit the stardome. Here comes the ‘Sona Chahta Hoon’ which is quiet controversial song (or singing rather :hehe:) since after 10 years of its release people still trying to find the dog who bit Najam :smiley: j/k for me it was a great experiment. Larki was released in 95 which further proved his vocal capabilities and musical experimentation. A widely acclaimed song, indeed.

Then he joined Karavan and did their first album Rakh Aas. The song ‘Aa mere Sung Sajni’ is considered as master piece in its genre (despite of the use of drum machine :smack: in the entire album). They hired Allen on drums afterwards. Anway, long story short, they were kicking really good, but due to a fact that Najam is not a good team player, the band split. This was not a ego thing or money thing that they split on (as its usual these days with band spliting for these reasons). But due to Najam’s nature of not considering others during composition, they had to split for good. Asad Ahmed and Najam are still very good friend and that tells that they split for good for the band and Najam as well. They both did well after that.

Then he worked on Roop Nagar, his dream world. In my personal opinion Najam has to be solo, collecting poetric pieces from what he likes, compose music with inspirations and hire the best musicians with whome he likes to work with. Roop Nagar is the proof of that. Still influenced with the Rock as freshly departured from a band, but he collected all the ideas that he had have since his childhood. You can find, rock, fusion, blues, country and western touches in one album. I think it was a unique album in Pakistan’s Music history. A very serious effort with lots of heart given to it.

After enjoying independence and his OWN music enterprise, he fell for the Abrar/Jawwad trend. Bhangra. He made a few good song in that album, however it was kinda techno for pure bhangra lovers. So it was not a big success and is certainly a low point. An exteremly talented musican should not jump into the bandwagon for cheap publicity. Let masters do their work. Abrar that is.

He got married simply and quietly (no showbiz celebz) in 2000 to a christian convert girl.

in 2002 he released Jaise Chaho Jiyo, in which he continued his experimental expedition and discovered new venues of soul and tunes. This album has almost all types of song along with the best song Najam has ever produced. ‘AAO WAHAN CHALEIN’ which has not only acquostic guitar but sarangi as well. The fusion of eastern and western strings is breath taking. My full applause goes to him for this song.

Then he experienced a revolution in his life and stopped making music for sometime. Now he is balancing in both worlds and coming back to the showbiz.

Note to self: I can write biographies :wink:

^ along with plagarizing stuff from geocities.

thanks though.

Prove it otherwise its not a decent way to reply to someone's time and efforts. :(

I ran Najam's fan club from 98 to 2000 that is why I know this much about him.

achaww? hmm then your site was prolly on geocities. i remember seeing it 2 years ago or sumfin.

and lets try to stick just to the album's discussion pleesh.

thankoo.

Did anyone catch that najam 10 year thingie on geo/ary etc?

^kya aaya tha?

yeah, what geo thing. Don’t tell me I missed it. :crying:

Im not sure when it got aired, I just know as Salman was supposed to be on it too, and these other artists, they talked about their friendship with Najam. Najam also performed some songs on it. Maybe they will repeat it! It should be a treat to watch.

yeaaa…thats just sad u missed it. Dammn what are u gonna do now, ur doomed. :rolleyes: