When did you first trim your babys nails?
How did you do it?
How did people raise kids before Internet/ gs parenting forum? ![]()
How did you do it?
How did people raise kids before Internet/ gs parenting forum? ![]()
Re: Nail trimming?
Pehle walay bache used to come with a printed manual.They do not print manuals any more…bad economy you know.So that is why we have online forums…![]()
Trimmed E’s nails a few days after she was born.Ammi did it.I was scared I might hurt her…:![]()
Ammi used a tiny scissor to do it.when I had to do it,I thought a nail clipper (the one for babies) worked better.I still use that.
Try to do it after he has taken a bath (ammi said that..!!..) as the nails get a lil softer and easy to cut.And do it when he is asleep,that way he wont move a lot.
Lol I want the one with the manual..seriously I google things all day long! Sighhh
My mom isn't letting me trim his nails..apparently she isn't ready for it yet (yes you read it right) n I can't imagine the drama it will cause if I tried trimming his nails but they are soooo sharp.
I trimmed my nephew's nails for the first time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! With a baby nail clipper while he was asleep...his were so sharp we were scared he would hurt himself.
I trimmed them a few days after he was born.....I used baby scissors with the rounded ends.....did it after his bath.
If you're worried about trimming them, then just put gloves or socks on his hands so he doesn't scratch himself.
How did you do it?
How did people raise kids before Internet/ gs parenting forum? :D
**simple!...they held the baby's hand and instead of biting their own nails, they bit the babies'...you kill two birds with one stone :) :D
nayaa baby mubaarak...may Allah BLESS your baby...aameen :)**
No please trim his nails. They can be very fine and sharp. We don't realize it but babies scratch themselves and its pretty painful. Do it when he is sleeping so he is not moving. I did it i think in like 2 weeks or so when he was born. But then I didn't have to wait for him to sleep because he didn't move much but now at 8 months I trim his nails when he is sleeping.
I used to trim my nephews nails when he was a year or so old....he'd sit quietly on my lap and hold his hand still and whenever I cut the nail he'd go "WOWWWWW!"
buy "baby scratch mittens"
so when they scratch their little cute face it doesn't hurt them.
1 week after birth .. used small scissors and a magnifying glass when she was asleep.
hand mittens until you are ready!
its harder for me now that she is older ![]()
Lol I want the one with the manual..seriously I google things all day long! Sighhh
My mom isn't letting me trim his nails..apparently she isn't ready for it yet (yes you read it right) n I can't imagine the drama it will cause if I tried trimming his nails but they are soooo sharp.
Aunty shouldn't be scared of this..!!!..
they are actually pretty sharp and they can scratch themselves.Newborn apparel mostly comes with sleeves that can be turned outwards and their hands can be covered.I used to keep E's hands covered.Her undershirts had those kinda sleeves so I just used to use them.
Trimming nails is scary for you because you think you might hurt them.But do it once or twice and then you know it is not that bad.It actually becomes tricky when they are E's age.She is so ticklish and gives me such a hard time when I am trimming her toe nails.
GTG as weird as this may sound I bit Jr.'s nails off. I was advised to do this by a parent of two (he was for the most part a stay at home dad). I was shocked but the fear of blood if I cut his nails wrong was worse. And guess what a new born baby's nails are like fine paper and with ur teeth u do not cut more than needed at all. I did that till he was a couple of months and you kinda see the baby's nails getting tough like ours and that is when I stopped.
I know do what others have advised which is I cut his nails after a bath and it works out great.
It has only been 17 months since I had my first baby and I am already scared of how I'm even gonna hold the second baby... but they are a lot more resilient than we give them credit for. :)
we use tiny baby scissors and do it while he's eating. that way he's distracted and doesn't flail around.
I had the American Red Cross grooming set and would do it when she was asleep. But it was after a couple weeks, I think. And MIL said she used to bite the nails off with her teeth!!!
i had to trim his nails when he was only 6days old. I have to trim them every couple of days...they grow soo quickly. I use the baby clipper. The funny thing is my baby is 3 months n i have clipped his toe nails only once (i guess they dont grow at all.) I got the Ameican Red Cross grooming set as well.
My biggest issue is cleaning his nose :(
Put his fingers in his mouth and let him learn the basics first...
es tarha teething bhi sahi ho gi aur nail bhi trim hote rahain ghay ;)
eik teer dow shikaar, healthy baby, khush maan baap.
i had to trim his nails when he was only 6days old. I have to trim them every couple of days...they grow soo quickly. I use the baby clipper. The funny thing is my baby is 3 months n i have clipped his toe nails only once (i guess they dont grow at all.) I got the Ameican Red Cross grooming set as well.
My biggest issue is cleaning his nose :(
Ya the nose thing is an issue ... most of the time if its not bothering him ( he can nurse without issues) I leave him alone. If not then I use a ball syringe to get stuff out.
I am too a cared to bite off his nails or even trim them with a magnifying glass nail clipper..for now, I just keep his hands covered at all times! Mittens or onesies with back flap! I guess his dad will have to master up the courage n trim his nails one day!
He had a stuffy nose so we used saline spray n ball syringe..he hated it but it helped with congestion.the pediatrician told us to clean his nose only if he is having difficulty breathing during nursing!
aww...you want me to trim his nails for you...??...:D
Use a small nail cutter. Sonu normally sits still when I cut his nails .... but he likes to kick me when I cut his toe nails as he finds it too ticklish.