I found these Hadihs about NAfli Roza so wanted to ask ..can we keep a fast on Friday or staurday?
Abu Hurayrah quotes the Prophet as saying:
None of you should fast on Friday unless he fasts a day before or after it.
According to a Rivayah of Muslim:
“Do not single out Friday night rather than other nights for praying at night and do not single out Friday for fasting rather than other days unless it forms part of a fast that one of you is fasting.” (Bukhari, Sawm: 63; Muslim, Sıyam: 147,148; Abu Dawud, Sawm: 50; Tirmidhi, Sawm: 42)
Abdullah Ibn Busr as-Salmi related from his sister as-Samma (may Allah be pleased with her):
Rasulullah (pbuh) said:
“Do not fast on Saturday, unless it is part of what Allah has prescribed for you. If you could not find anything to eat but a grape skin or a piece of wood, you should chew it.” (And after all you should not be fasting).
(Abu Dawud, Sawm: 51; Tirmidhi, Sawm: 43; Ibn Majah, Siyam: 38)<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = “urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office” />
So the way I know it, if you are in a habit of fasting on certain days like on 15th of every hijri month, or 10th of Moharram, or day of Arafah - and that day falls on Saturday or Friday, then you are allowed to fast.
If you just want to fast on any specific Friday or Saturday, then add a day before or after with that, so fast 2 consecutive days - and that should be ok.
Other than that, singling out Friday or Saturday only is Makrooh.
as a rule of thumb...you can fast any day of the week...having said that, fasting on Mondays [which is a sunna], Thursdays and Fridays are in someways better days than any other day of the week. it's your intenstion [niyat] to fast for the pleasure of Allah and Allah ALONE is what that counts.
So that means Allah ne kabbi tofeeq di to friday n saturday ke sath sath Friday se aik din pehley aur agar Saturday ko Roza rakhoo to Sunday kO bhi rakhna pare ga..
Wese thanks KKF bhai for reminding Of fasting on Monday is sunnah.