Na'ats

inevitable during Ramadan and Eid a lot of Na’ats are sung, mostly by the typical maulvi-type person. What i’m so surprised about is that these na’ats all have the tunes and melodies from old Indian songs.

This is quite astonishing for me, cuz usually it’s ppl like these who say that listening to songs is haraam etc. Furthermore, they are usually the ones who are very patriotic pakis and hate india to death. How come they sing na’ats with indian tunes???

just to be fair, i'll take it up a notch..

have you ever listened to a Majlis? I lived close to an Imam Bargah and almost ALL nohas were to the tune of some INdian song. in fact we used to enjoy observing that each year they introduced the same nohas to the tune of a different new Indian song..

:salam:
yaar the problem is that these ppl who recite naats like this are professionals…they are mostly not ulema…

secondly…some of them are good genuine pl who are muttaqi in there private life as well …in baycharoo ko pata he nahin hota kay ye indian song hay …wo to doosray naat walloo ka sun kar tone develop kar latay hain…

even ulema do this…perhaps more so than others

if they copy other naat wale…then the question is raised how those naat wale get their tunes?

Soggy: that too is a good example

Assalam Aleekum
Naats, is it even Islamic to recite them. Like its a Subcontinent
tradition. Why can't we just listen to Koran and forget all this
naat and stuff like it.

I am sure you have an example of an ullema in your mind…Can you tell me a name of one?

If you don’t know of any ullema who recites the naat, you should not spread rumours as it creates dissent, arguments, misunderstandings, strife and antagonism…

Don’t just say anything from the top of your head ‘because you think it’s this way’…If it’s not really as you think it is, then you have done nothing more than spread ignorance and created confusion…

The Mullahs aren’t the problems with Islam, it’s ill informed people who think something is ‘beacuase they think it is’…

Anyways, some of the poetry I have heard in naats is astaghfirullah, pretty much shirk…Although well intentioned, the Quran speaks of actions done out of love for faith but on reality it took them awayfrom faith…

Remember this naat, “Yeh sab tumhara karam hai aaqa kai baat ab tak bani hui hai”? What this naat’s poetry refers to is the fact that it is , nauzubillah, the Holy Prophet :saw: who has taken on the role of provider for the Momin…This is shirk…Allah knows best, but to a Muslim Allah :swt: is the only provider…Mohammed :saw: was only the Slave and Messenger of Allah :swt:…

Re: Na'ats

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *
inevitable during Ramadan and Eid a lot of Na'ats are sung, mostly by the typical maulvi-type person. What i'm so surprised about is that these na'ats all have the tunes and melodies from old Indian songs.

This is quite astonishing for me, cuz usually it's ppl like these who say that listening to songs is haraam etc. *Furthermore, they are usually the ones who are very patriotic pakis and hate india to death. How come they sing na'ats with indian tunes????

Tell me, how many naatkhwaans have you met and talked to that said they hate India to death?

Many of the naats have shirk content in them. I do not see any difference between the church hymns and naats. On the other hand, Qawalis are just so wierd, like bhajans of Hindus.

The best thing is tilawat of Quran. Why do we forget that and go for such invented things? Besides tilawat, do zikr and send blessings on the Prophet :saw: in the right way.

Lajwab: before going on the topic of 'ullema', we first have to establish the definition of this word. Care to give it? (I'm sure very subjective criteria will be used for this)

The Mullahs aren't the problems with Islam, it's ill informed people who think something is 'beacuase they think it is'...<<<<<<

have u ever thought about who is the one responsible for this ill-informed state of the ppl and y they think that something is just that way? yes, the mullahs are responsible....

Tell me, how many naatkhwaans have you met and talked to that said they hate India to death?<<<<<<

like 99% of the paki naathkhaans

Salaam
Excellent reply.

Many of the naats have shirk content in them. I do not see any difference between the church hymns and naats. On the other hand, Qawalis are just so wierd, like bhajans of Hindus.

The best thing is tilawat of Quran. Why do we forget that and go for such invented things? Besides tilawat, do zikr and send blessings on the Prophet :saw: in the right way.

*Originally posted by Soggy: *
just to be fair, i'll take it up a notch..

have you ever listened to a Majlis? I lived close to an Imam Bargah and almost ALL nohas were to the tune of some INdian song. in fact we used to enjoy observing that each year they introduced the same nohas to the tune of a different new Indian song..

maybe one or two people would copy indian tunes..i know of one person but no one i know appreciates that..pretty pathetic i must say

Asslaam Aleekum
In relpy to Naat(tauba) i am refering you guys to an article. Also refer to websites http://tafsir.com/ and http://www.quraan.com/.
Please copy and paste in the web browser.
And i pasting the articles in 2 emails.

Bidah - Its Meaning, Aspects, Dangers, and the Solution
An anonymous contribution.

The religion of Islam, the religion of Muslims, is based on only one teaching. In other words there is only one ‘true’ Islam. There is no such thing as different versions of Islam or different types or classes of this deen. The true path is only one way which lies under the shade of the Qur’an, the Sunnah and the understanding of the Companions.
As was illustrated by our beloved Prophet (Saw) and was narrated by Ibn Mas’ud that one day the Prophet (saw) drew a straight line on the ground and He said, “This is the path of Allah.” Then he drew some lines to the left and right to it and said, “These are the erred paths and on each of these paths, there is Shaytaan calling to it.” Then he recited the following verse from the Qur’an (which means):

“Verily, this is my straight path so follow it and do not follow the other paths that will take you away from the true path.”

In fact, if we look in the Qur’an, when Allah (swt) describes the truth, it is always described as singular. For example, the word ‘al-noor’ which is singular is used for the truth, as opposed to ‘zulumath’ which is plural. It is a prime example from the Qur’an the clearly shows us that the right way is one way only. Any deviation from the true path is not an acceptable ‘branch’ of Islam but as the scholars call it, is a ‘bida’.

Unfortunately, due to several reasons, the concept of Bida is not as clear to everyone as it should be. A reason for that is a lot of people are confused about ‘good’ bida or bida-e-hasana.

Secondly, there are many things which we do now that were not done at the time of Prophet (saw). With the outset of such widespread bida, people are confused, and rightly so, as to what is actually sunnah and what in religion is not sunnah- i.e. bida.

These misconceptions call for the need to establish the fundamental step which is to know bida, the concepts of bida according to Ahl-Sunnah Wal Jamah and the aspects of bida.

Bida, its Meaning: (heresy, innovation)
“Any invented act or path in the religion that is made to compete or resemble the Shari’a and that is followed for the same purpose as Shari’a is supposed to be followed.”

From this definition and from the statements of Prophet (saw) about bida or innovation, we can come up with some general ideas or concepts about bida that explains this definition.

None of the links work Zulfi…:konfused:

Aspects of Bid'ah:
Some of the aspects or concepts of bida are as follow:

1. Every bida is Dalalah.

Linguistically bida is something which is new or something which was not done before, i.e., it has no precedent. From the point of view of Shari'a, every bida is Dalalah and there is no such thing as 'good' bida. Prophet (saw) said in an hadith, "Kullo dalalatin fin naar (every dalalah is in hellfire)."

Dalalah means to be astray or to be away form the truth. If we look in the Quran, we will see how Allah (swt) used the word 'dalalah' or 'dal'. It is not used for the one who commits a sin or makes a mistake with respect to the deen but it is used for those people who have gone astray form the straight path or who have divided the religion. For instance in Surah Fatiha (first chapter), the word 'Daaleen' is not used for mere sinners but it is used for people who have gone astray form the true path, the Christians.

So when Prophet (saw) described bida, he used the harsher form of deviation, i.e. dalalah, as he said, " Kullo bidatin dalalah (every bida is dalalah)." He didn't just say that every bida is a sin or is wrong but in fact it is something much greater than that. It is a misguidance, something that takes us AWAY from the right path.

1. Bida is performed as a way of pleasing and getting closer to Allah (swt).

In other words, when someone follows a bida, he claims that by doing this he will be closer to Allah (swt). This is much different from committing a sin. As Ahmad Ibn Hanbal once said, "The greatest sinner (fasiq) from the Ahl-Sunnah Wal Jamah is better than the most pious person from Ahl-Bida."

The sinner, at least, knows that whatever he is doing is wrong and doesn't claim that it's halal and should be done to please Allah (swt) and so on. However, the one who commits bida not only goes against Qur'an and Sunnah but also claims that what he does is pleasing to Allah (swt) and a way of getting closer to Him. And this is one of the greatest lies one can commit to say that some act is pleasing to Allah and has no proof from Allah (swt) about his claim.

So part of the concept of bida is that one who commits it claims that it is approved by the religion and Shari'a and it is beloved to Allah (swt). This is also one of the dividing points between what is bida and what is not.

1. Bida can be both in inventing new actions or in shunning an action.

Meaning, when someone originates a new practice saying that it is approved by Shari'a without a proof is bida. In the same way, when someone avoids something claiming that by avoiding such and such practice he is pleasing Allah and has no proof for it form Quran or Sunnah is also bida.

For example, during Prophet (saw)'s time three people came to the Prophet offering their types of 'bidas'. One claimed that he will pray the whole night, every night for the rest of his life. One claimed that he will fast every day in the future and the third one said that he will never marry. The Prophet was swift in his disapproval of these "good" bidas (at the outset, one would think how could anything be wrong with worshipping Allah all the time). The Prophet told these people that he was the best among all mankind and the he prayed some part of the night and slept another part, that he fasted some days while did not in others and that he was married. While the first two wanted to increase their worship beyond what Shari'a requires, the third person intended to avoid marriage or shun or elude something which is totally legal in Shari'a and approved by Allah (swt). Like the Christian monks and priests and the 'Muslim' Sufis claim that by not marrying they are pleasing Allah (swt) is bida and against Islam. Or if a vegetarian claims that by not harming a living soul he is pleasing Allah is also bida because Allah has allowed it and made it halal for us to eat the meat of animals(of course, only the animals He has made halal).

sorry guys. just try to copy paste in the browser
http://www.quraan.com/Bidah/Bidah.asp

if ti works let me know.

This is weird Zulfi…it’s not working in any way…:konfused:

Naats in tunes of indian music...It is a good thing because it is the proof that Pakistani masses are basically not as much rigid and fundamentalists as "some" "ulema" want them to be.

An even latest trend is also being developed. It is to use "Pop music tunes" in new naats. I hope one day such naat khawans will produce new composers, musicians and singers for needy pakistani music and film industry. Therefore I appreciate this trend.

wut about the naats that DON’T have the tunes in them?? and are really popular among ppl, and the arabic ones too??

Nescio bhai, what proof do you have of 90% of the naatkhawans hating India, etc.? juz curious :konfused:

Asslaam Aleekum
Well the thing is NAATS and Qawaalees are all innovations in
DEEN. And somebody comapred them to Bhajans. And very rightly
said.

wut about the naats that DON’T have the tunes in them?? and are really popular among ppl, and the arabic ones too??

Nescio bhai, what proof do you have of 90% of the naatkhawans hating India, etc.? juz curious :konfused: