Asalam-o-alaikum wrt wbt,
I’ve been wondering about these naat khuwaanis that are held frequently in Muslim communities, especially Pakistan.
Some of the naats (praising the Holy Prophet or else) contain some stuff that is close to Shirk like calling out Ya Mohammad (PBUH). As far as I know calling out to anyone except Allah is shirk. Also these naats seem to give the Holy Prophet (PBUH) the same rank as Allah Himself. These naats are also aired on television but surprsingly, no one has ever complained. Also saying Ya Ali! is considered as shirk by aalims.
Anyone has any opinion on this matter?
W'alaikum Assalaam waraHmatullaah wabarakaatahu Sister,
Yes indeed you are absolutely right. Calling out to someone who cannot hear our calls is for sure considered Shirk. We should only call upon Allaah subhaan wa ta'aala.
I was not aware that they were broadcasting these naats on television in Pakistan, subhaan'Allaah. Unfortunately there is a lot of deviation in Pakistan (as well as many other countries). If this diversity from Islaam was due to ignorance then through the Will of Allaah if the people were sincere, once the proofs are brought to them they would be guided. However due to 2 reasons some of the Muslims are further progressing down the path of sin.
Firstly, they do not wish to let go of old traditions and customs that were practiced by their forefathers, even though they have no basis in Islaam. They are firm upon stubornness which could lead to their destruction.
Secondly, in the case of the authorities, it's all about greed and power and maintaining it by keeping the general public happy, at the cost of keeping Allaah happy, astaghfirul'atheem.
... May Allaah guide everyone and keep us away from all matters which are displeasing to Him, the Most Perfect.
kindest regards
W'salaam
Dear HSHTSA,
I did not want to come bakc on this Forum but I have been forced to by your comments and those of Hasnain!
Astaghfirullah! Allah says in the Qur’an:
Verily Allah and His angels send blessings upon the Prophet; O you who believe send salawaats and salaams upon him. [surat maida?]
And since the time of the Sahaaba e Kiraam themselves Muslims have been following this command of Allah and composing poems in honour of the Holy Prophet sal allahu alayhi wa sallam. Hazrat Hassaan ibn Thabit radhi Allahanhu was the most famous of the sahaaba to do so although many of them did including Hazrat Ibn Abbas and Hazrat Abu Bakr and Hazrat Ali (may allah be pleased with them).
And since that time till now ALL muslims have been composing books and books of millions of naats about Rasool Allah in every language Arabic, persian, urdu, turkish etc.
It is one of the greatest forms of blessings one can attain and a sign of love of Habib Allah.
Only WAHAABIS and DEOBANDIS and other such people object to this practise which is as old as islam itself. It is a practise of the Allah Himself, His Angels, the Sahaaba and all the ulama till now of Ahle Sunnah. Only hypocrites will object to it! please email me for detailed information..
As for saying Ya Rasool Allah [alayhi salaato salaam[ that is also a practise of the Sahaaba and the Muslims since that time.
In namaaz during the Tahiyya [at-tahiyaat..]
you say:
Assalamu alayka AYYU HANNA BIYYU…
Peace be upon you O Prophet [alayhi salaato salaam]
So please do not be fooled by the Wahaabis.
Check out www.iqra.org for a full article on this.
Ya Rasool Allah sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam.
wa salaam
Asif ![]()
Abd al Nabi
Hasnain! gasp! How did u figure i'm a sister?
Yeah i agree with you....Pakistani people try to attain sprituality thru these naats :)
The best way to show ur love for our Holy Prophet (PBUH) is by following his Sunnah :)
Asif ji! Welcome back :)Glad to see you here.
Okay ji. I do agree with you but what about saying Ya Ali! That's gonna be considered as shirk or not???
Salaam
Sister Hum Sa Ho Tho Samne Aaye,
I think i must have picked it up from another thread. I agree with you, the best way for us to show our love for the Prophet (salallaahu 'alaihi wa sallam) is to follow his Sunnah. May Allaah guide us all toward this. Ameen.
Asif bhai,
Yes it's nice to have you back in this forum.
With regards to your last few comments on the above post, i'm sorry there were just one or two things i would like to clarify.
Ibn Masood said, “The Messenger (salallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam) taught me the tashahud, [with] my palm between his palms, the way he taught me Soorahs of the Qur’aan:
Attayaato lillaahhi wa salawwatu wa toyebaatu, Assallaamu ‘alaika AYYOHAANABEEYO (peace be on you O Prophet) ...
[This was while he was among us, but after he was taken away, we would say “Assalaamu ‘ALANNABEE (peace be on the Prophet)
Bukhaari, Muslim, Ibn Abi Shaibah (1/90/2), Siraaj & Abu Yalaa in his Musnad (258/2). It is given in Irwaa' (321). ood's statement, "We said: Peace be on the Prophet" clarifies that the Companions (radi Allaahu
Ibn Masanhum) used to say, "Peace be on you, O Prophet" in tashahhud while the Prophet (sallallaahualaihi wa sallam) was alive, but when he died, they ceased to do that, instead saying, "Peace be on the Prophet". Undoubtedly, this was with the endorsement of the Prophet (sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam); this is supported by the fact thatAa'ishah (radi Allaahu `anhaa) would similarly teach the tashahhud in prayer with "Peace be on the Prophet", as transmitted by Siraaj in his Musnad (9/1/2) & Mukhlis in al-Fawaa'id (11/54/1) with two saheeh isnaads from her.
Ibn Hajar says, "This addition shows clearly that they used to say 'Peace be on you, O Prophet', addressing him directly during his life, but when the Prophet (sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam) died, they stopped addressing him and mentioned him in the third person instead, saying 'Peace be on the Prophet'." He also says in a different place, "Subki said in Sharh al-Minhaaj, after mentioning this narration from AbuAwaanah only, 'If this is authentically-reported from the Companions, it proves that after his time, it is not compulsory to address the Prophet (sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam) directly in the greeting of peace, so one says: Peace be on the Prophet.' (Ibn Hajar continues): This is authentic without doubt (i.e. because it is established in Sahih al-Bukhaari ), and I have also found strong support for it:-Abdur Razzaaq said: Ibn Juraij informed me: Ataa' informed me that the Companions used to say 'Peace be on you, O Prophet' while the Prophet (sallallaahualaihi wa sallam) was alive, but after he died, they would say 'Peace be on the Prophet', and this is a saheeh isnaad.
As for Saeed bin Mansoor's narration from AbuUbaidah bin Abdullaah bin Masood, who reported from his father that the Prophet (sallallaahu alaihi wa sallam) taught them the tashahhud, and then he (Abdullaah bin Masood) said it (the tashahhud); IbnAbbaas said: We used to say 'Peace be on you, O Prophet' only while he was alive, to which Ibn Masood replied, 'This is how we were taught, and this is how we teach it', it would appear that IbnAbbaas said this as a matter of discussion but Ibn Masood did not accept. However, the narration of Abu Mamar (i.e. the narration of Bukhaari ) is more authentic, since Abu Ubaidah did not hear (ahaadeeth) from his father, and furthermore, the isnaad up to AbuUbaidah is weak." (End of quote from Ibn Hajar)
These words of Ibn Hajar have been quoted by several scholars in their analysis, e.g. Qastalaani, Zarqaani, Lucknowi, etc. They all chose to give his words without commenting further.
... and Allaah Knows Best.
I trust this will Insha'Allaah clear the matter Insha'Allaah.
W'salaam
kindest regards
[This message has been edited by Hasnain (edited July 01, 1999).]
Hasnain ji
Assalamu alaikum.
Without being disrespectful in any way brother, I have to say that I have only ever heard 'Salafi' scholars quoting these hadiths and no other scholar in any book on islaamic prayers i've read has ever said this. So I cannot just take your word for it.
also, no noe has ever said that following the Suinnah is not important; our point is that please do not say naatkhuwaani is wrong.
HSHTSA ji :)I know that saying 'Ya Ali' is NOT shirk and I have read the proofs but I cannot recall them now; I will look them up for you insha Allah. ps. I'm not a Shia but the Holy Prophet said that the way to tell a hypocrite is that they will not love Hazrat Ali karam Allah wajhu.
wa salaam
asif :)
[This message has been edited by Asif (edited July 01, 1999).]
Assalaamu 'alaikum,
Dear brother Asif,
I have brought forward the proofs. The rest is up to you Insha'Allaah. The above were not my words, but the words of the pious predecessors. However, as you still have some doubts, by all means please look it up in Bukhaari or Muslim.
Take care
W'salaam,
kindest regards
[This message has been edited by Hasnain (edited July 01, 1999).]
Asif Brother,
Asalaamalaikum,
My understanding is that every action that a muslim performs in worship requires an evidence (daleel) from Qur'an and Sunnah. Therefore Naat will only be permissable if there is evidence in Qur'an or hadith that the Sahaba practised this. As far as I know this is not the case but please correct me if I am wrong.
I will try to bring an article on acceptable differences of opinion in Islam. I am not a Wahabbi or a Deobandi but I think any muslim who can provide an acceptable daleel for his actions or thoughts should be given respect.
Incidentally, it is nice to see you back on this forum. Inshallah, you will continue to make a worthwhile contribution.
W'salaam
Mr. Xtreme ji
assala mu alaykum!
Bro, if you read my post you will see that indeed saying naats was the practise of many of the Sahaabah and that sending salaam and salawaat and Habib Allah sal allahu alayhi wa sallam is a practise of Allah, the angels, the sahaaba and all the Muslims.
wa salaam
asif
We DO love Hazrat Ali and all the other Sahabas....but is saying Ya Ali appropriate?
let me ask you guys this question,
When we say Kalima, doesn't the translation of "Mohammad Rasool ullah" (looose prononunciation)is:
"I give witness that Mohammad IS the prophet of Allah".
Doesn't this IS implies that person is in existence not WAS?????
If he was then it should be read like the following:
"I bear witness that Mohammad WAS the prophet of Allah"
The mere recitation of this Kalima (in literally sense) implies that you are referring to a personality in present not in past???? Is it not???
Even in mainstream muslims, there are sort of two groups who differ in their idealogies. One tend to think to reject all the traditions and what not while the other fully backs it up with their reasoning citing Quran and Sunnah..
Dear ImranZ
you are absolutely right. according to the ahle sunnah qaeedah anyone who believes that The Messenger of Allah was diminished even one tiny bit by death is a kaafir.
For the Beloved of Allah himself [sal allahu alayhi wa sallam] told us in a hadith that Allah has forbidden the earth to eat the bodies of the Prophets.
Also, if martyrs are alive [Quran] what then about the Prophets who are much hgigher in status? What then of Habib Allah's exalted status?!
Only heretics like the Wahaabis and the Deobandis say that, nauzubillah, Sarkar e Do Aalam are 'finished' and 'no more'. La hawla wa laa quwwata ilah billah.
Volume 5, Book 57, Number 19:
Narrated 'Aisha(the wife of the Prophet):
Allah's Apostle died while Abu Bakr was at a place called As-Sunah (Al-'Aliya) 'Umar stood up and said, "By Allah! Allah's Apostle is not dead!" 'Umar (later on) said, "By Allah! Nothing occurred to my mind except that." He said, "Verily! Allah will resurrect him and he will cut the hands and legs of some men." Then Abu Bakr came and uncovered the face of Allah's Apostle, kissed him and said, "Let my mother and father be sacrificed for you, (O Allah's Apostle), you are good in life and in death. By Allah in Whose Hands my life is, Allah will never make you taste death twice." Then he went out and said, "O oath-taker! Don't be hasty." When Abu Bakr spoke, 'Umar sat down. Abu Bakr praised and glorified Allah and said, No doubt! Whoever worshipped Muhammad, then Muhammad is dead, but whoever worshipped Allah, then Allah is Alive and shall never die." Then he recited Allah's statement.:-- "(O Muhammad) Verily you will die, and they also will die." (39.30) He also recited:--
"Muhammad is no more than an Apostle; and indeed many Apostles have passed away, before him, If he dies Or is killed, will you then Turn back on your heels? And he who turns back On his heels, not the least Harm will he do to Allah And Allah will give reward to those Who are grateful." (3.144)"
Hazrat AbuBakr (raa) indeed had an unusual set of nerves and perception. He is the best person among the Prophet Mohammad (pbuh)'s umma, and this is just one of the events which show why.
Naat-khawni bordering on shirk, sending salaams while standing and "believing" that the Prophet is visiting us in person, and other such unfortunate activities are practiced by a portion of ahl-e-sunna and almost all of ahl-e-tashee (shia's) - who include their imams as well.
This is an addition to Islam with no basis in traditions.
No one is saying that one shouldn't write verses in love of Prophet, (that happened during his life-time too, Hazrat Hassaan (RAA) was a pretty famous poet) but making it an organised part of religion is a disputed activity especially when one starts believing stuff which is incorrect and relating things to Prophet, which better be left for the Almighty.
Allah knows best.