Naan vs Roti

I’ve grown up eating naan, we had a homemade tandoor in our backyard, we’d bake naan every 2 days and eat naan during breakfast. Recently a Pakistani girl (fiance of roommate) dropped of some rotis and prathas for breakfast. Man ohhh man… rotis are just dry barely cooked chunks of wheat and prathas are oily crisped flour :bummer: . The oil was just too much. Why don’t you girls cook more naan? Naan is supple, moist, and with a brush of butter its a taste of heaven :hypo: . Naan compliments everything better than roti/prathas.

Re: Naan vs Roti

seems like a perfect Life1 thread to me

Move this thread to household and please share secretes of your heavenly naans…

Biggrin1.gif

Naans are tasty, but I would not prefer them every day. Whereas I can eat rotti every day. If it is well made, it won't taste dry-ish.

Plus rotti can be eaten with every salan dish, and naan I only like witj certain dishes like dahl, chicken/lamb karhai, shorba etc.

Parantha once in a while is good.

Nayhi yaar, naan can be eaten with anything roti can be eatan with. Roti beats naan only in complimenting plain yogurt with some sugar (prathas are good with that also). The reason I dislike prathas is we desi folk already use tons of oil in almost all our dishes, the oil in the pratha with the oil in the salan just becomes to heavy and oily.

I Like 'chappaties' they are soft and light.

I think naan are pretty heavy too. I eat naan on regular basis but that's because I can't cook rotis :( I would love to have rotis/parhatas in breakfast with egg or something... In Ramadan parhatas in sehri are so filling.. only if I could make it

Btw I think when the OP says rotis he means chappati... which is just like parhata minus the oil.

Whoooaa whooaaa whooaa back it up, I thought roti and prathas were the same thing and the only difference was in the manner you cooked them (pratha =fried, roti = baked on a pan)

I don't know about the way the girl you know made the roti for you, but my Aunty makes a very good roti, better than naan, I would say, especially when they're fresh off the tawa, I guess you just have to know exactly how to make it.