My upcoming flop wedding

Re: My upcoming flop wedding

I'm 19 and I'm marrying my parents choice and they're well aware of these problems. The only reason which convinced them is that the guy is alhumdulilah alhumdulilah really nice. My wedding is 2 weeks away now. And please, I didn't share my feelings so that you guys could judge me. I had all this on my mind and really wanted to share with someone because I was having a melt down. I know alhumdulilah my wedding's still gonna be better than thousands of people, who can't even afford to buy a dress. It's just that this is right now the biggest event of my life and all my life till now I dreamt about it. But finally it turned out into something that I wasn't expecting. My heart get a pinch when I hear about others weddings, feel kinda jealous. I know I'm being materialistic, but I think this is the only event where i'm allowed to be a bit. Especially knowing that one year after, it would have been a totally different story. Anyhow, thanks all those who tried to make me feel better. And don't reply after this if you wanna judge, I'll get a nervous breakdown lol. Anyway, cheers and alhumdulilah, always.

One year later have a grand party at your baby's aqeeqa! :)

Hi newbie, i completely understand what you are saying, its not about material things or be happy that you are better than others. Its really not about that, a girls wedding is the most important part of her life, she has hopes dreams and wants to look beatifulll on her wedding weather rich or poor. I went to the wedding of the women who works at my place, at trust me she was going through the same feelings we all do, asking me if she looked nice, telling her cousin is tarhan nahin uss tarhan makeup karo, screaming at everyone :-), does anyone think she could afford a good dres?? No she didn't like it either and it was ok for her to feel bad. Insaan hai yaar sab at the end. I don't know why your wedding is happening in such a hurry but if it is and you can't do anything about it, i would say try to make what you have work. Even if the dress is hideous, make it work, wear it in a way you feel looks good, whoever does your makeup, tell them what you want. Enjoy with your family, whoever is at your place and forget about the troubles. Hvae a grand event after a year, wear your best dress and look fab. Best of luck.

hi how about you sprinkle some chaat masala on everything become bettar with chaat masala yah even your MIL

Gud Luck and insh’allah U gonna be a beautiful bride :biggthumb:

Thats a brilliant Idea - have a one year annversary party of a aqeeqa.

dont focus on these things .. im also getting married and my all cuzns also and they got their bridal wear from designers by their own choice .. but i m not becoz i dont have mother in law and my father in law do shopping for all these things and my sil ...... but my mom said whatever they will bring i have to wear ...... we can afford desingers suits but still i cant buy of my own choice this is most disaster thing for me but still im quite becoz every says these things dont matter ......i also dont think about these things more but im afraid my cuzns will laugh at me :(

Do you watch Sex and The City? At Charlotte's second wedding everything was going wrong and Carrie told her not to worry. Her first wedding was perfect and the marriage was a disaster. So what if this wedding sucks, you love the guy and the marriage will be perfect.

Yes it's materialistic and silly to care, but I understand your feelings. Why shouldn't you get one day to be the centre of attention and feel great? I hope you somehow do. Control everything you can, and try to make peace with everything you can't. Enjoy it no matter what, cause its still your wedding! And, yes, definitely have an anniversary party next year and make it perfect :)

It's just that this is right now the biggest event of my life and ...

I will guarantee you this will be NOT the biggest event of your life. All this stuff won't matter in 5 years. In 10 years you'll laugh on it. 20 years you won't even remember the details. 30 years you would have wished you wouldn't have even wasted a moment worrying about the trivial details and just spent the time with your parents and siblings.

Don't worry about the details. You are starting a BIG chapter in your life. make the most of it.

Weddings are about the life you live afterwards. The wedding day is not the be all and end all! So many times we focus everything on that one day when its actually our life ahead we shud be planning!! There is always good in everything, maybe next year your situation might have been worse. Make the most of what you have nd may Allah grant you a pious husband. There have been worse weddings trust me I've been to some BADDD ones. As for the dress some people can wear a bin bag and look beautiful. Make the most of what you get, the glass is always half full!!

whats should be more important is if you guys are happy together

its okay to let yourself out .. that is how GS is helping you :)

Just make the most out of it .. keep in mind that there are screw ups even at the most perfectly planned out weddings .. !!

When I was getting married I had the choice of going to designers and having a full lavish event. But the. I read a Hadith with just completely changed my mind: the just goes something like this. If you choose a simple wedding and spend less on it, Allah puts more barakat and blessings in the marriage. So I thought to my self do I want this dress or do I want more blessings in my marriage?? And this was a completely personal choice. I am not saying going to a designer is wrong. But over doing it and doing it just to show off is. For a girl her wedding is so important I know. But just like everyone else says it really is just one day and so much depends upon how u live the rest of the days.

I ended up wearing something I hated on my ruksati and actually cried when I first saw it!! But today I really don't care. It made my MIL happy and my hubby happy. :)

One of my friends spent lakhs on the wedding planner and flowers that were being imported!! On the day it self, not even half the decorations went up due to some screw up! What is meant to be yours will be. And what isn't will never be!!

Feel sorry for you. You have been wronged in so many ways....Those who did ill/wrong should be punished I think...

Desi Wedding…By Nouman Ali Khan..FUNNY but true.. - YouTube

Totally agree with Mfasis

Hey as you said your hubby is really really nice alhamdulillah then this all what you want to have a happy wedding :) Some girls do have great wedding arrangements but after that their life sucks. You are lucky infact very lucky mashaAllah.

Your wedding dress is not of your choice but I pray that may you become the most beautiful bride ever :) That bad beauty parlour does wonders on you on your big day INSHALLAH

and pray to Allah that whatever you have may He puts immense happiness in your heart that you enjoy even with these little things. :)

Plus in the life hereafter you wouldn't be asked for any FUZOOL KHARCHI on your wedding day unlike others.

I wish may you enjoy on your wedding and have a wonderful life after that you forget about these minor things.

Best wishes, my sincere prayers are with you. :)