My trip to lahore

Hello ladies,
I just returned from my short trip to lahore (10 days) and wanted to share info. with all u girlies.

Here is what i visited and what i picked:

Salons:
I booked Ather Shahzad for my barat makeup…60k, additional 6k for services
Allenora:
signature makeup by annie is 50K (Annies signature make up is starting at 30k). additional 10k for bridal service.
Khawar Riaz:
met up with his sister and hated everything abt them. The house they call a salon (used for the bridal makeup and photoshoots) is under renovations…there was no one at the salon except the construction workers n his sister…scary. She did not have a proper album to show me his recent work, she end up showing me stuff from 2007 n 08 (on the computer).
Did not like his work. he is charging 60k now. (i was quoted 50k over the phone a week before my visit).
Mariam Khawaja:
Charging 25 - 30k…refuse to give me a quote over the phone. Current Album to show her work was not impressive.
Maram and Aabroo:
Called them twice to make an appointment (required) to come visit them…but both time i was told they will call me back…never did. Very Disappointed.

Photographer:
I booked Afzl’s…LOVED this work. 35k (This price is not fixed, my cousin asked only once regarding whats the best they can offer…n they went down to 28k :O)
Shahnawaz:
35k…work is just OK
Ather Shahzad:
60k…i didn’t think it was anything special.
Khawar Raiz:
Nice but not worth 50k
Usman Jamshad:
I called him several time but she never answered, he did email me but by thn i had already booked afzl.

Bridal:
My budget was 1.5lac for each day. So i decided not to visit any designers as i hate window shopping and/or falling in love with something n not being able to get it.
I went straight to Liberty. visited these stores and picked up both my bridals in two visits :smiley:
Think pink: didn’t like anything, they really didn’t have a good varity. Kind a disappointing.
Libas-e-Khas: OVERPRICED, there work wasn’t what i wanted. heavy, big stone work.
Palki: Nothing new. didn’t show me that many outfits (maybe 5 and stated thats all they have).
Zardozi: Good varity, great prices, I picked my Barat outfit from them. Love it :smiley: it was 1.5lac and the we paid 1.10lac

My valima outfit is also from liberty but i dont know the name of the store. It’s in a corner (on the back side of the rest of the stores, where all the rickshaw’s are at), the store is on the ground (basement) level. LOVED their stuff. Beautiful work. The outfit price began at 1.40lac n the final price was 90k.

For the rest of my outfits…i shopped at duppatta gali…great stuff.

if any body needs more information…please ask away.

i will share pictures of my center pieces and other stuff later this week.

Re: My trip to lahore

i want to go shadi shopping!

i want to see centre-pieces :)
one little confusion ..... why did u go back .... 1 month reh gaya hai yaar sirf shadi mein :p

This is great info! Thanks for sharing!

rabia what sort of styles are in for bridals?

im going to be shopping for my walima jora......was there nice ready made bridals? i wont be shopping in lahore but obviously the general trend and styles will be around isb too

^ i got a very traitional bridal for the barat...and for valima got a really long shirt type of a sharaha.
i didn't look into ready made stuff since i have two months til the wedding (my wedding will be in lahore...ill be returning to lahore in june). But i didn't look into ready made outfits ...didn't find anything good...n they were overpriced.

i knw...but i just had to pick everything myself...cant trust anybody. i will be returning to pakistan on the 2nd of june :) inshallah.
i cant believe it but i ll be having orchids at my weddings :D...will put up a pictures once i get home.

rabia in bridals are short shirts for lengha and fishtails totally out of fashion???

aww i bet u cant wait!!! im flying out in june too.....we havent got long to go!!!

^ :D
i saw a lot of fishtails but with long shirts. i remember u saying that u r short and thats why u aren't considering a long shirt. but i m only 5 2' and long shirts look great on me.
I love the long shirts...u might have to try one on love it :)

yeah,long shirt makes you look taller

That’s super speedy shopping! :biggthumb:

Did you buy any jewelery?

Me toO!!!

Glad to read about ur experience Rabia...would love to see the pictures. :)

wow, im so glad you got your outfit from zardosi! i visited in 2008 and loooved their bridals. dupatta gali has lovely outfits but at the time i went everything was super expensive. oh and i tried taking pictures of their outfits and got caught LOL..they got mad at me and told me to put my camera away! i managed to get a few pics though :D

rabia your right i got a few long shirt suits made and they look really good :)

my in laws sent me a suit with long shirt and i was really worried about how it would look and it tooks good so now every suit i have got stitiched its long shirt :)

im going pak and see what is out there but im not taking long shirt bridals off the list, if it looks good i will be going for it :)

My mother is currently in Pak and has done most of my wedding shopping from Karachi. (bridal lehnga, heavy formals etc) She is on her way to Lahore now to visit some of her family and will probably head to liberty to have a look around. Do you know of any good (non-designer, reasonably priced and good quality) shops that do semi-formals, casuals and pretty cotton suits?

Any info would be appreciated. :)

^ i went to generation and got two cotton suits...i needed them right away so i have something nice to wear when visiting my in laws. Other thn that there are a lot of shops at liberty which are selling ready made cotton suits.
for Semi-formal there are a lot of stores in duppatta gali...just anybody and they will direct you to them. The prices are quoted high but u can bring it down. one of my really heavy formal was quoted at 16k n i got the kaam done for 9k (my aunt is great at bargaining).

as for jewelry shopping...i only picked out my karray (a set of two). Went to Ali jeweler at liberty...they are in the same line as Think pink. They had great selection.

oh n i did take pictures at zarodzi...will most them soon.

YAY!! I'll wait for pics from Zardozi!

me alsoooooooooo soooooooo curious...

when will we see the pics rabia ??

how much time did they take to stich ur outfit ??

i can't wait for you to fill me in on all the shopping...i have a feeling my dad's unsure of our trip to pak :( but excited to see and hear all about your trip. and orchids are my favorite are you putting them in a narrow tall vase or flaring them out?

So sorry for the delay but here are few pic

Bridal frm zardozi :

center pieces for the shadi day: