My Scarf

“The Scarf”

They stand there with shorts, so short, excessively short, shorts that so deceptively capture from them all they know of modesty…

…and I proudly pull my scarf over my hair

They stand there, face lost in a sea of make-up, make-up that so ruthlessly captures from them all they know of freedom…

They stand there, hair raining with gels, colors - chemicals that so menacingly capture from them all they know of purity…

They stand there, so close, so very close to their “lover”, devoted to them, the devotion that so mercilessly captures from them all they know of individuality…

And they stand there, talking of getting new shorts, new gels and colors, new boyfriends, materialistic things that so wrongfully capture from them all they know of God and love…

For my scarf is my protector, my lover, my devotion, my pureness, my beauty, my rememberance of God, And I proudly pull it over my hair knowing that when I wear it, I so rightfully thrust away all the things that the devil brought about,

And when I put it on, I am

Free…

Its not written by me, but says everything i want to say.

Masooma

Thanks Masooma Baji

And I’m proud of those muslim sisters because not only they are protecting their respect but also by doing this, they are protecting mynz

!

You know most of me, but not all of me
Things that I have done are not suppose to be
I’m a sinner of my sins
A prisoner of my prisons
Will someone care to cry for me
If not, then you must see
That I ask not to die for me
I just want to know
If I die will you cry for me

Masooma ji on a lighter tone...scarf na hua aapka, alladin ka chiraag ho gaya....protector, lover, beauty aur na jaane kiya kiya aur:) When it said protector....I wanted to say in punjabi....achha, beTi eh dupatta ay ke patriot missile?:)

Anyway, to one ones way of life. but still think about it, what No-scarf means in your mind may not be true the same way as what scarf means to you is not same what it means to others.

Originally posted by ChannMahi:
**Masooma ji on a lighter tone...scarf na hua aapka, alladin ka chiraag ho gaya....protector, lover, beauty aur na jaane kiya kiya aur:) When it said protector....I wanted to say in punjabi....achha, beTi eh dupatta ay ke patriot missile?:)

Anyway, to one ones way of life. but still think about it, what No-scarf means in your mind may not be true the same way as what scarf means to you is not same what it means to others.**

I agree Channmahi ji, this was just for the muslim sisters who wear scarf, an encouraging article. I think you will have more selfrespect when your covered than you will while not covered properly. About dupatta being protector, believe it or not, it is our protector but again as you said, to some people its a "conservative" and "narrow minded" custom, well suit yourself.

Sada dupata hi tai sadi izat haigi. Jo izat pardai wich ai, nangai sir naiee milsakdi. you won't understand that.

Masooma

Masooma g, I really like what you said. Unfortunately, most narrow-minded people find all you've said hard to believe. ChannMahi, I dont think it was Masooma's intention nor did she say that her scarf was a missle!! What's so wrong with being in touch with one's faith and feeling good about it???

My first paragraph was in a lighter mood. It was not supposed to be serious.

Now as for the poem and its intention. read the poem again. It is not about scarf that much as much as about others who don't wear scarf, the ones who change boyfriends because they don't wear scarf, ones who are materilistic and all that bad bad stuff because they don't wear scarf.....a comparison based on crude generalisations.....yes generalisations that we hate so much in some other threads when they are made about us but they are ok when we make about others.

Masooma ji, asiN vi dupatta lainday aan....well not me:) I mean my family members...it is our culture and tradition. It looks good on girls...they look beautiful in it, it gives them identity...lekin iss da matlabh eh nai ke jehRay dupatta nai lainday oh gaye garkay ne.....like the poem implies.

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited September 18, 2000).]

Oh gaye garkay tai naiee nai, magar Oh jo apnai aap nu samajhdai nai, aini wadeeya shaiwa wi naiee o.
Anyways, no hard feelings, this poem wasn’t put here to offend anyone, it was for muslim women who wear hijaab and are proud of it. I’m a proud one too

But yea one thing, is there anything written, which is not true about SHOW-OFFS?

“And they stand there, talking of getting new shorts, new gels and colors, new boyfriends, materialistic things that so wrongfully capture from them all they know of God and love…”

Masooma

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/cool.gif

U go grl!

~YesTerdaY is a hiStorY…
tOmoRroW is a fuTurE…
anD toDay iS a giFt…
tHaT’s whY it’s caLLed a prEseNt…
~~@~~

[This message has been edited by Admin (edited September 18, 2000).]

Originally posted by ChannMahi:
**My first paragraph was in a lighter mood. It was not supposed to be serious.

Now as for the poem and its intention. read the poem again. It is not about scarf that much as much as about others who don't wear scarf, the ones who change boyfriends because they don't wear scarf, ones who are materilistic and all that bad bad stuff because they don't wear scarf.....a comparison based on crude generalisations.....yes generalisations that we hate so much in some other threads when they are made about us but they are ok when we make about others.

Masooma ji, asiN vi dupatta lainday aan....well not me:) I mean my family members...it is our culture and tradition. It looks good on girls...they look beautiful in it, it gives them identity...lekin iss da matlabh eh nai ke jehRay dupatta nai lainday oh gaye garkay ne.....like the poem implies.

[This message has been edited by ChannMahi (edited September 18, 2000).]**

I dont think she meant to focus on those who DONT wear a scarf but rather those "so-called" Muslim girls who have boyfriends, wear clothing that is un-Islamic and draws attention to their bodies.
Believe me, I have seen TONS of girls like this!!

Maashaallah sister Masooma

That was a great, what should I call it a poem.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

When I see a muslim girl waring a scarf I fell very proud. I think yes there are girls who love god and have self-respect for them selves the others look like as we say in Sindhi Charrian (filthy women)
keep up the exelent work!!

SPAWN

I am very encouraged that you spawn such pride on seeing our sister observe hijab!

Now, tell me - do you observe the Islamic dress code, grooming requirement(beard), head gear, and keep you eyes/gaze lowered when approaching or in company of our muslim sisters?

Pls advise!