My salute to Sabieh Anwar....

Re: My salute to Sabieh Anwar…

Khawarzimic science Society is a wonderful organization..anyone from any field ..and from any part of the world..can be its member…Pakistan uper brains are its members…it was strted by** Dr Sabieh and his father Dr Siddiqui **..in 1997 ..with only 2 or 3 memebers..and alhumdullilah ..now .its the biggest non profit pakistani based society…:slight_smile:

When he was studying his D Phil..in Oxford as Rhodes Scholar..in vacation when he used to vist Pakistan…he used to give** totally free** lectures to pakistan top most educational institutions like …

• Punjab University…Lahore
    *UET..Lahore
    *FAST..Lahore
    *Government College..Lahore
    *Quada-i-Azam University Islamabad
  • COMSAT …Islamabad

about all which he was studying at **Oxford…**to keep pakistani students up to date with latest developments nano technology..and quantum computing…

All lectures were free…and large amout of young students benifited from them…

The Khawrzimic society also invited great scholars like Dr Pervez Hoodbhoy..and many other to its totally free public lectures…about new developments in science and physics…

after completing his PhD…He was previously teching …in

Quada-i-Azam University …NCP(Natinal Centre of Physics)..Islamabad
*** UET ..Lahore
*** COMSAT**

officaly..and privately gave some lectures ..in

*** Government College Chemistry Department**

*CASP(Centre for Advandced Studies in Physics) ..Goverment College Lahore…

*** FAST NUCES University…**

*** LUMS…**

then after 3 months he went for his post doctoral in Berkeley..under world top NMR(Nuclear Magnetic Resonance..an advanced form of MRI..Magnetic Resonance Imaging used extensively inmedical field) …Professor Alex Pines..of PINES LABS…

He also worked in LAWRENCE BERKELEY LAB there..a lab ..which is under US energy department mostly..and very few blessed students get a chance to work there…

here is the link of Pines LabsProfesor Alex Pines and his achievements…his students are wordly known as **PINEUTS …**I think he is the only pakistani may be first muslim ..to be PINENUT…

Re: My salute to Sabieh Anwar....

This man is role model for all those runners ....

who run from Pakistan ....

who dont want to serve this country....

specially professionals...

look at the PSA or ALUMNI of any famous** Pakistani Medical** college nearly 50% have run from Pakistan to US..UK or Canada etc....

some people just enter medical colleges to hunt for a cool guy or girl...waste thier seat as they all got thier FSc by GHOTA or RATTA...then after MBBS ..both run from Pakistan..and after that stat producing BAL Bachai....and giving bad names to pakistan and that ..its a bad country..we cannot live in that society ..this and that*..bah.....*

Such runners have no self respect and honour..they are just greedy..and money lover....and I and Paistan damn care about such **** people...

All those...also who have got high skills from abroad..like enginers..they must also pay back the debt of the soil....and serve this land ..not Masters...

Even though I don’t know the guy, of course, but based on what you are saying, he obviously seems like a very smart person. After getting all these lofty degrees, he decided to move back to Pakistan and teach at LUMS. Pretty good. Many professors at LUMS (and other prestigious institutions in Pakistan) have similar backgrounds, where they achieved great academic success overseas and decided to settle down in Pakistan. My salam and salute to all these great people.

I don’t think straight conversion of US$ to PKR is very helpful or useful. Its more a question of quality of life. LUMS salaries, to my knowledge, are fairly generous too. A person making $15k/month in the US will have about the same life quality in the US as someone who is generously paid by a top-notch Pakistani organization (with all the added perks of paid housing, chauffeur-driven company-maintained car and so on). If a person is a high achiever, its not so much a question of money (he will make good money any where he choses to live) but more a question of life style, and in this case, he decided to be in Pakistan and use his talents to teach students in Pakistan. Kudos! :k:

By the way, people who decided to settle abroad are not necessarily inferior people (or "runners" as you so negatively imply). You have no idea what contributions they are making towards helping their motherland. In addition to contributing valuable foreign exchange, many of these expatriates are in influential positions in other countries to help with policy-making and trying to make sure Pakistan's best interests are defended on important issues. The world is a global village of inter-connected nations. Its a very myopic and narrow-minded view that only those who decide to live in Pakistan are the ones who are helping Pakistan.

Studying hard & doing Post Doc etc is not an achievement - the real achievement is a "successful & happy life" even if u can get by selling "ganday'riyaan" on a "rehrri" in Shah'dra. I dont think he did something special, just over studied .. probably I over studied too.

Good post.

When i asked Dr Sabieh about his life time brilliant achievements secret ..he replied only 2 words.....Positive Attitude....

who told you that he is not living a happy and sccessful life ..while he is a source of inspiration to Pakistan Top Most educational instutional students in field orf physics..electrical engineering..and nano tech etc....even when he was studying at Oxford as Doctoral Student..he regularly used to give...free lectures in prestigious institutions to keep pakistani students up to date with latest developments in Physics....!!!!

Najim Sahab...be Positive ..in the attitude ....jeolusy is more suitable to women ..not men and genius like you....to accept someone's greatness will never make you let down ....

regards wasalam..

this is wrong...he not decided to move back ..after his all prestigious degress...his heart ..his soul ..everything remained in Pakistan ....even when he was at Oxford or Berkeley.....

while studying there and using his influence ..he arranged more than 70 worshops..symposius..conferences ..omn latest developments in scientific fields...by using his influence and inviting Pakistan top most scientits and professionals.....like DG NCP (Quaid-e-azam university)...COMSAT 's Physics Department Head ..and many others.....he himself gave 18 lectures ...in NCP (Quiad-e-Azam University,islamabad) ..and 18 lectures at UET , Lahore ...all for free..just for curious science and engineering students to let them know what is happening in Oxford Physics Division....

He gave lectures for students at

LUMS
GC, Lahore
Lahore Uniuversity
UET
Punjab University
FAST NUCES
CASP
etc etc....

this all shows that...he was not DECIDED to move back Pakistan..his all academic career (though of only 29 years) is spent in educating Pakistani students..and let them know the modern** nano technology*..and **quantum computational techniques*....which he was studying at Berkeley or Oxford...

I will inshallah copy the mission statement of Khawarzimic../which he written in 1998..then ...you will see...even in UET..whats were his heights of thinking ..and his goals and aims....

True*...LUMS* give fairly good salaries....but government institutions not give such high rates salaries....but he even taught at these institutions....like COMSAT...etc....his friend once told me that ..he applied to UET EE department..but as his doctoral studies were riginally from Physics side ..so UET refused him to join the Faculty...again UET salary rates are just as other low paid government officals..get...

I think..his joining of LUMS ..is more due to very hi fi forigen arranged faculty..and labs facilities there...I doubt...he wil not find thoese standards of Oxford or Berkeley in LUMS ..but super genius like him....can bring ..the LUMS ..to atleast international level..if not at the level opf US or UK universities...his friends used to say that..if after Dr Salam..Pakistan will ever have a chance to get Nobel in Physics....it will be for Sabieh Anwar..and..if he had stayed abroad for 10 15 years ..he would have got this prize..as going through his brilliant achievements.....

but Pakistan is more important for him...not Nobel....Taigor got the Nobel..but Iqbal not ..does it means that Taigor is even reach the foot level of Iqbal !!!!!!

all such prizes ..medals ..and honours are nothing..if they are not benificials for Pakistan and ummah....

sorry Faisal bhai...personal expertise CAN NEVER be a subsitute of money..forieng reserves and policy making....

I know that ..many people are doing wonderful jobs..but how many are they ..just handful....!!!!!

the most educated class moved to US and Canada and UK is mostly pakistani doctors ..and what they are using thier influence ..in policy making ..is unleashed recently by Syed Muwahid Hussain Shah..Pakistan top most intellectual and think tank..and top advior to CM , Punjab....

i once wrote this in another thread ..so again copying it....

Syed Muwahidd also very sadly said that...the leading muslims Pakistanis living in US have lost thier self respect..Khudi...by just inviting high congressmen to thier dinners ..and meetings..have a photo session...and fear from them...like as second grade citizens ...fear...just do "Khushamad" and "Chaplausi" of them....

and dont say a single word against thier evil policies against muslims.....Syed Muwahids ...beautifully explained that..how he Pakistani Americans ..have no courage to see them in thier eyes and tell that you are wrong....

Look at the most educated class leading personals of AAPNA...pakistani doctors...assocuiation...look at thier site...with bold and colourful ..they have "CONDEMED" the Glasgow Airports Attacks..very STRICTLY.....that its the crime..against humanity...terrorism ..etc etc....

And nobody of all these Doctors who run from pakistan..just to earn money and high pays...not dare to write asingle word for 12 lakh innocents muslims which have been died in Iraq and Afghanistan...in recent years....

Just watch thier "Bravery"......

When Tipu Sultan decided to fight the last and final battle with British..the Commander of British army...General Harris ..gave him a message ..just surrender yourself..we will make you the life time ...King of Mysoor.....

and this brave man ..in one historical sentence ...unleashed the golden reality of this life with words....

Its better to rule like a lion for 1 day then to serve as jackal for 1000 years.....

and the same is the case here....when minarates of pounds and dollars are important..then its better not to ponder over Tipu's attitude ....this is foolishness !!!!!!!!

They are just earning money in thier hawis and greed.....

some will ..at the most ..will start some school in poor Pakistani village....

some will arrange some local Pakistani based NGO ....

thats all.....

they are Pakistani.....

because....

at 14 August Pakistan Parade..they wear white shalwar..green qameez...paint thier cheeks with green white flags....and dance on the song....

Tuu nai aisi ada sai mujhai dekha kai dil ho gaya nisar mahiya....

or recent** Houston Pakistan Show*..telecasted live by **ARY Digital*..whre thesemi nude girls were dancing on songs..on 14 August....

Pakistan dont want these "Pseudo Dramai Baaz " "Patriots"....

This land ..came into being on 27 of Ramzan with 40 thousands women raped..killed and burnt alive..and 1 millions muslim blood is used in its foundation.....

Those runners ..dance on 14 august ..and then start busy making pounds and dollars..and think that they are super patriots...Pakistan means land of pures..and its good that by running ..Pakistan auto filterd out by these "impurities" .....

we dont need such "patriots" ...

we dont need such runners..

we dont need such greedy ....

Bhaee mujhay to positve attitude peh lecture day diya .... magar .... yeh nahee socha keh positve attitude "being anonymous" bhee to ho sakta hay. PhD to bhaee main nay bhee kee huee hay, but I think no one knows about it here apart from few. But I stay anonymous, no one knows about me & I like it that way.

Struggle hard & you will achieve it my friend, dhoondhnay say to Khuda bhee mil jata hay, PhD, DSc ya iss say zeeada .... teray saamnay kuch jahaan aur bhee hain.

Jealousy, lol, why should I be? Jealous to woh banda hota hay jissay koee parwah ya fikar ho. Main to "Ek Rupay wala statue hoon."

^^ nice to hear about your doctrate....is it being used for Pakistan ?

All those who want to know about

Sabieh flight of thoughts ..

his aims ..

his** goals ..**

and his spellbound English

and purpose of his wonderful ..rather Pakistan most famous non profit science organization..just click on that…

http://www.khwarzimic.org/frontline/perspectives.pdf

http://www.khwarzimic.org/frontline/profile.pdf

Whats the comparson between the most difficult and boring branch of Physics…long tedious equations…of quantum ..with most difficult ..and interesting topics of Mysticism..philosophy..logic..and Spirtuality..plus…wonderful urdu and persian touch …but Genius like Sabieh Anwar …blends the all flavours of this life…no matter what the topic is…:slight_smile:

check out the most intetresting topics written by Sabieh …Most of these writings are in** PDF** ..and can be read at this link..of his homepage…

http://ravi.lums.edu.pk/sabieh/#literary](http://ravi.lums.edu.pk/sabieh/#literary)

Literary and Popular Publication

"Our Need: Literacy or Education* "* (English), Magazine “The Nation”, 1996.

"When the Sun Bleeds" (Urdu), essay on the implications of Pakistan’s nuclear capabilities,** “The Ravi”, 1998.**

Ask Now of the Days that are Passed, (English), essay on old educational traditions at the Government College, Lahore, “The Ravi”, 1998.

The Silhouette, (English), a profile of the Khwarzimic Science Society, 2000.

Perspectives, (English), information booklet of the Khwarzimic Science Society, with Jawad Mahmood, 1998.

"He who does not Know and Thinks he Knows", (Urdu), essay on debating traditions, the “Government College Gazette”, 1997.

"Honoris Causa - a Tribute to Muslim Scientists"](http://www.khwarzimic.org/frontline/history.html), (English), the quarterly “Jawan Pakistan”, Oct - Dec 1998.

"The Quarantine of Death", (Urdu), an essay on our social attitudes of mourning over a friend’s death, the daily “Sahafat”, 1996.

“The Last Pearls of the Last Cloud”, (Urdu), a biography of an old teacher and mentor of Tahir Shadani(Late) of Crescent Model School , "Armughan-e-Shadani", 1999.

A Letter Addressed to Tahir Shadani, (Urdu), Crescent Model School Magazine “Al-Hilal”, 2002.

Human Genome: The Challenges Ahead”, (English), “DAWN Science Edition” - (Pakistan’s leading English daily), Karachi, 9 Nov 2002.

"Iqbal: In the Heart of Hearts", (English), “Nida-e-Khilafat”, Lahore, 13 Nov 2002.

*“Iqbal: Between Stars and Hearts” *(English), the weekly “Pakistan Post”, London, 9-15 May, 2003.

*"Highlights of the Iqbal Symposium"*, (English), Akhbar-e-Urdu, National Language Authority, Islamabad, July 2003.

Oxford Rekindles the Light of Iqbal”, (English), The Friday Times, Lahore, June, 2003. “Sufism: Modern Fantasies?”, (English), The Friday Times, Lahore, 20-27 Feb, 2004.

“Sufism: Between Flame and Shadow”, (English), The Friday Times, Lahore, 5-12 Mar, 2004.

*"Satan’s Longing", *(English), The Friday Times, Lahore, 23-30 Apr, 2004.

*"Citizen Tipu", *(English), The Friday Times, Lahore, 13-20 May, 2004.

“Tipu, Maslihat Pasand ya Jur’at Kesh?” (Urdu, Tipu Sultan: Realist or Pragmatic Idealist?), Akhbar-e-Urdu, National Language Authority, Islamabad, May 2004.

who told u fizix is boring :vivo:

it is the most fascinating subject n field to pursue in :jano:

btw yeh app ka salute kub khatum hoga. n where ur contributions are?

we all guppies also wana salute u now :smiley:

hey, ur’e a physics waali as well… i am so happy to see a girl liking physics (they all like biology and chemistry, typical!)

lol…yep.

but i like all three :hooray:

science is :jano:

“the other day i was teaching my brother that think ur self as an electron, life asan hogaeya gee :D”

LOL, u nerd… calling ur brother an electron, lekin u know, bcoz of its tiny size, the big bad protons can pull it any which way they like, and even worse, the positrons can manipulate the electron into annihilation… ok now i sound like a nerd.

wow, u like all three sciences, thats a first 4 me :slight_smile:

Other Snippets…

Chek it on this link…scroll down a bit …with heading Other Snippets…

http://ravi.lums.edu.pk/sabieh/#literary

specially Iraq kai Shadeena-i-Wafa..never seen such a beautiful urdu before on this topic…amazing !!!

***“Muslim response to twentieth century science”, ***(English), notes of speech delivered at Islamic College for Advanced Studies, London, 19 May 2004.

**"***Mysticism: The Science of Opposites", (English), *detailed article, rambling thoughts on mysticism, with a core of love and a crust of fatalism.

*"Iraq ke Shaheedan-e-Wafa" *(The Iraqi Martyrs of Love), (Urdu), on the war on Iraq.

Notes of Introductory Opening to the***“Zinda-Rud: Symposium on Indo-Persian Poetic Tradition**”*, organized by the Oxford University Pakistan Discussion Forum, 29 May, 2004 at St. Antony’s College, Oxford University.

Notes of Introductory Opening to the** “Mera Payam Aur: Symposium on the Poet-Philosopher Mohammad Iqbal”**, organized by the Oxford University Pakistan Discussion Forum, 23 May, 2003 atSt. Antony’s College, Oxford University.

My summary of the Kitab-e-Tawasin by Mansur Hallaj (d. 922).

i gonna make sure he applies bohr model oftenly. :roman:, n dont give a damn about Heisenberg uncertainty principle :cb:

lol.

ok, i’ll be a typical paki and say "itna na purha karo, larhka nahi mille ga… " :slight_smile:

ya…dat is y science is left as my passion only. i didnt pursue it.

per lagta hai i gonna go back to uni, just for science :jano: