Salaam brothers and sisters, this is my story of converting to Islam from Sikhism.
I was a 17 and carefree studying for my a-levels, free, I was still living at home but I was allowed more freedom. It was laugh everyday I had a boyfriend who was a Muslim but he was just a time pass. I loved being with him he used to tell me about his family and Islam and I used to tell him nothing about Sikhism because I didn’t know about it. My family wasn’t religious we would go the Gurdwara once a month if it fit into our schedules. It was going good until we fell in love and I realised the consequences of our actions, we came from different families and cultures so I decided to break it off.
It was hard but I began to live without him until he sent me a few Islamic books. I read them and realised Islam had an answer for everything. We talked after I read the books and decided we were going to be serious and finish our a-levels and then decide about our future. I researched more into Islam fell in love with it until my parents found the books. Allah works his miracles as this was one day before I was going to Spain with friends, Allah forbid what sins I would have committed there.
I told my parents about Atiq and wanting to convert to Islam, they were mortified to say in the least. My mum kept saying girls your age want more freedom where you want to decrease it. My parents hated the idea, his parents hated the idea they wanted a daughter in law from there background. I met Atiq we were torn between what was more important respecting parents’ wishes or making me a Muslim. So we decided to get married with the help of his brother who was training to be an Alim, he was supportive of us.
The last day @ home was horrible. I discreetly got all my essentials together until both my parents went out to work. I sent both of my younger brothers off to school, it was weird like I went numb, I was saying goodbye not just for that day but forever. I never shed one tear I know what you are thinking robot. But it is as if Allah gave me so much courage to leave. When it was time to leave I left a letter and said Bismillah hir Rahman nir Raheem and left.
We left with a few clothes and about £500. We survived with the help of Allah. During that day I said my Shahadah and we got married. It felt so right. The next day I wore the Hijab and haven’t looked back since. Soon we found out we were expecting a baby and my husband decided he was going to keep a beard he didn’t want his child to know his dad to be any different. Alhumidillah its 5 yrs on now we have 1 boy and 2 girls.
I spoke to parents after 3 yrs; I just feared what they would say but it’s wrong to cut your family out even if they are Kafir. My mum said to me what hurt the most not that I converted or married without there consent was that I never got in touch for 3 yrs. That was my biggest mistake. They felt awkward at first but now they have learnt to deal with it. At the end of the day I’m their daughter no matter what you do they will always love you. Trust me I know a worst thing a Sikh daughter could do is convert to Islam in my parent’s eyes.
That was my story please forgives me if I went on a bit…. But if you are in my shoes make Dua to Allah and you will be able to conquer anything.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by Naadir: *
**Sister Aishah’s story*
This is a story, which clearly belongs to the “Love Story” forum or "Ishaq Mashooqi" forum.
It has nothing to do with Religion. Two young people fell in love, and wanted to have a married life. One spouse decides to "realign" her church (or mundir, or mosque etc) and converts. Not a big deal.
Off course MAToos will always make a mountain of a molehill. Obviously the result of limited mental faculties!
MashAllah...it's so tough going from a hindu or sikh to Islam. and the number one problem is family. People come to Islam in different ways, we all have different motives, but in the end we all realize it's the best decision we ever made. Even if times are tough, all you have to keep in mind is that Allah's swt plan is in your best interest. :)
@ antibol do you have a fetish for 'MAToos'. It's all i read in your posts. Saving a person from the fire of hell is 'not a big deal' ? It takes courage especially if your loved ones are hostile.
*Originally posted by risc: *
...Saving a person from the fire of hell is 'not a big deal' ? ...
Saving from Hell, is different and "Ishaq Mashooqi" is a totally different matter.
This was a love story about two youths. Ask a MAToo Munkee and he will give a 3 hour lecture that Islam forbids this type of Ishaq Mashooqi.
We may not encounter similar situation in Pakistan, but ask a US or UK guppie as to how he would feel if his sister would disappear for 3 years. Then one fine morning she turns up at the door all converted and in the arms of a stranger. Knowing the Pakistani culture, the same guppie will be even more upset if that stranger happens to be a Black, or a Hindu man.
As I said, this story belongs to Ishaq Mashooqi and the forum of run-away teens. Jacking around this teenage love is no way an Islamic victory dance.
Bloody hell give up on using MAToo. I supose you would prefer it if your parents arranged a life partner for you.
Pakistani culture a lot of which I must say is based on old Hindu traditions such as caste system are not Islamic. What would you do if lets say you decided to become a Jew and your parents wenr to happy with the situation to put it mildely. Wont exactly bring ladus and broadcast it on the mosques loud speakers.
She converted from Sikh
That's cool 4 sure. I can imagine her parents must have been pissed. We are like there worst enemies.
Actually I heard this is fairly comman in UK
By the way, I always ment to ask, what the hell is a mattooo?
I’m converting from Islam to Hinduism in few days to marry a Hindu girl. She won’t give up her religion and I can’t live without her. Well, someone gotta convert.
ask her to send you some books on how glorious lingham pooja is…I am sure you will be convinved just by reading couple of books and fall on your knees. on the other hand you are not 17…it may not work.
I know many people when marry christians girls, they ask girls to wear scarf and ask her to read kalma tayaba and then they declare the girl as muslim, prior to marrying her.
Since I am not arab and I have no communication gap with these euoropean christian girls, very often i find they are still christians, they say" how can any one know what I truely believe in; They say they said what their present husband had asked to say to marry.
They say "I loved him so no problem in saying so. Since christianity is not by lip service it is faith and believe in heart.
Inshallah people accept islam by lip srvice first and then by heart soon. Bye sokoon