Because it teaches me not to mock other religions and faiths.
Infact it teaches me to argue with wisdom and knowledge(if I have any).
Its a pity that we start calling names and mocking religious beleifs if the opponent does not give in to our point of view.
The life of prophet :saw: is full of practice of above mentioned teaching. For more then a decade he preached in Makkah and faced brutal opposition, in term of physical and mental torture. But he never mocked idols in response to bad mouthing of pagans about his beleifs. Because he knew that he and his message is far more superior.
Its my duty to present my beliefs in best presentable way posible. And if I think that my knowledge is insufficient then first gain more knowledge.
We read Allama Iqbal day and night, and dont have slightest of idea what he is saying:
… Kisay nahi tamana-e-sarwari lekin
Khudi ki mout ho jismain wo sarwari kia hai
… Kafir ki ye pehchan ke Aafaaq main gum hai
Momin ki ye pehchaan ke gum is main hain Aafaaq
Its my duty to present my beliefs in best presentable way posible. And if I think that my knowledge is insufficient then first gain more knowledge.
a well-known sahih hadith says that the Prophet Muhammad (saw) said "convey forward from me even if it is a single verse"....
u dont wait to gain more knowledge to start presenting ur beliefs....
as Dr. Zakir Naik said in one of his lectures "if all of u wait till u reach the level od Sheikh Deedat to start preaching Islam than for almost all of u the day shall never come"....
Either you mean the statement "My religion is far more superior" truthfully... in which case you directly imply that other religions are inferior... and if you don't hold the statement as true then you are saying something you don't believe... take your pick...
You need to learn something about Marketing and positve communication
Yes** my religion is far more superior**. And if you read further, my earlier post i said
^^ here I meant ‘my Prophet :saw:’ and his message is far more superior.
Now another one ** My Allah is far more superior**
Now go and sue me for the offence i have cuased…
But you or any one else cant do this. Because its all agressive marketing. No TV ad can be challanged in court of law until it specifically name the opponent.
Our waisay bhi now in the period of information, nothing is unreachable.
and what percentage of that reachable information can u guarantee as authentic????
dont tell me u can blindly take anything from the net as original....
*Originally posted by armughal: *
as Dr. Zakir Naik said in one of his lectures "if all of u wait till u reach the level od Sheikh Deedat to start preaching Islam than for almost all of u the day shall never come"....
I also heared one of his lecture in which he says s'thing like "You see you might no know know every thing but as a Muslim you must have some knowledge. Tell people what you know. While you are telling things to people they'll raise questions if you know the proper answer then reply if you dont then tell them [people who have posed questions] that you dont know about it and you will find it and reply to question InshaAllah"
"There is nothing bad in not knowing s'thing. Go home do some research on the questions asked and then bring the reply. For now you have more knowledge than you had before and you can now reply to this question in future."
I'm still an ignorant man. This idea/advice struck me & I implemented it. Trust me it has shown some very, very, very, very positive results. Though I consider my self to be ignorant even now, I feel much better and knowledgeable than before. May Allah [swt] bless me with the light of the knowledge. Pray for me everyone.
*Originally posted by Code_Red: *
And according to a well known Hadees
A friend of mine once quoted a "well known" hadith which I even read in Islamic Studes book from my very early school age. He was questioned about the hadith, if it was authentic or not. So far we have not reached the source of the hadith. Infact it doesnt have any authentic source : ). Becarefull
'seeking knowledge is obligatory for Muslim men and women'
and
'Seek knowledge from mother's lab till death'
I would recommend you as a Muslim brother to quote the complete tradition along with the refferece.
and
'I am(saw) city of wisdom and Ali (ra) is the entrance'
Please bring the refference to this pertcular hadith. I would be extreemly gald to see one.
and many more...
So why wait ?
Our waisay bhi now in the period of information, nothing is unreachable.
Who told you to wait. I think the brother told you to start preaching what ever you know, even if it is a single verse.
I have no objection to your opinion, but if you knock at my door and compell your thoughs on me, I request you to have patience to my comments and opinion about you and religion.
I do not have any interest in compeling my thoughts on anyone. The most I will do is present it in most appropriate way, I can.
And I have no interest in degratory comments or ridicule for any religion and faith. I will respect your faith, and expect you to do the same.
SI I thought these were undisputed ahadees, if they are not, may Allah forgive me.
-Anas Ibn Malik t reported that Allâh’s Messenger r said, “Seeking of knowledge is incumbent upon every Muslim…” (Ibn Majah 1/224 and Tirmidhi 218)
**“… al-Tirmidhi and al-Hakim on the authority of 'Ali who said: The Messenger of God, peace and blessings be upon him, said: 'I am the city of knowledge and ‘Ali is its gate’… and in another [narration] recorded by al-Tirmidhi on the authority of 'Ali, 'I am the house of wisdom and ‘Ali is its door’…” ** more detail
I think that I was unable to make my point clear, which was
** Insulting other people’s beleifs, is not suitable for anyone particularly muslims as it is against the teachings of Islam**
**It is very painful to see many muslims indulging in distasteful insult and mocking of other people’s beleifs like saying “We see your gods in zoo” or " there is a vacancy for prophets…" **
I know one thing that if I start mocking others just for having different faith, then morally i am in the same capacity as the pagans of Makkah