My Raspbery PI Review

It wasn’t an eid gift to myself till it was delivered on eid day.
Model B Raspbery PI with case and pre-loaded N00bs SD card.
I didn’t ordered power adaptor I am using my micro usb phone charger. On first boot I was given option to install OS from the list of options like
Archlinux
OPENELEC
Pidora
Raspbian
RiscOS
RaspBMC
I chose RaspBMC.
I am using 7 port usb hub with its own PSU, Arctic cooling K481 wifi keyboard. 3in1out hdmi switch is not working as it drains power from PI I will try powering it PS3 or separate PSU later.
Add-ons for dailymotion youtube and many other websites are available. So far using official repository I am able to watch live al jazera ,euronews and some African channels(there are many more but havent tried them all). I tried couple of desi channel add-ons from unofficial repositories one ask for money and others do nothing but me will keep trying.
Its a nice little toy. Next i will be ordering another one and make my own frankenstein using Pi archos tablet and hp laptop :devil:

any help with add-ons is really appreciated.

Re: My Raspbery PI Review

Itni computer lingo mujhe samajh nahi aati :snooty:

yeh chotay wala computer hai in miansaab’s words:D

1-Make 5 volt recharge able battery circuit for the device.
2-Make it work with wireless with above power circuit.
3-Install ubuntu or some thing with v4l2.
4-install usb cameras.
5-install some other sensor.
6-put some motors.
7-put it on a small boat, take pictures or fish :wub:

Or Put a big HDD and make it into tv recorder.

you seem to know lots about stuff… help me here
can i use pi with screen from tablet to make PIpad?

I only know low level stuff.

so Ideally you have to send your stuff on usb on pi, and then receive on usb on tablet.
On tablet you can use fb(frame buffer to display that.)

I short, don't do that, instead get an expansion board for pi with lcd.

But look into linux option for pi, that will open up a whole world of interesting stuff for future.

or perhaps you can send your stream over to your pad.
like network driver.
hmmm
May be vlc and stuff already have this option ??
showing stuff over network share.

also look into mplayer. it can do strange things.

mplayer
raspplex
mash up
few others i will be trying this weekend.

thx a lot :k:

How to Stream Videos and Music Over the Network Using VLC

:smiley: its already there.

But don’t give up on linux on pi.

good thing i have spare SD card to try linux on pi:D

You can install Live Linux on the SD card with some SAN software on it. then attache a 4TB drive and turn it into a Media Center computer. A little DLNA love and now you have a live streaming box. :)
I haven't done anything with mine, just need more time.

my add-ons keep giving me errors:bummer:
had to download them again and again. Disabling and enabling them doesnt work
on XBMC