Re: My official stance on Musharraf
Both Jalandhar and Dilli are Punjabi populated cities. I am sure you know that.
Fair point. But Delhi is definitely not in Punjab. Isn't it at the border of Haryana and UP, or something?
Thank you for that indepth observation, Roman…
Faisal, don’t think of this as a racist response, but in my view, Pakistan has always fared better under Mohajirs…
Justice Rafat said, that Punjabis have a natural desire to dominate…They work towards trying to achieve control so they gather close to them as many acquaintances as possible…
The Mohajir is very good at administrative tasks…Look at the history of Karachi…It is a well made city from the time it was a fishing village…
Perhaps it’s their forte, and the Punjabis have theirs…
Zia was a great soo'ur and a great ****** mullah. I'm hoping he's burning in hell as we speak.
Not to be judgemental at this early stage of the discussion … but pls elaborate which mohajirs are you thinking of, when you made this interesting statement?
^^
Man, if Lewis Black read all of that, that’d be great…![]()
Lajo.. Punjabis don’t even know what “dominate” means. Punjabis by their DNA are an agrarian society, where roles are very much assigned to each member of the society. What you are calling (or other) a desire to dominate, it stems from Punjabi culture being polluted by invaders (mainly the Moghals and the English). Karachi has been an cosmo city long before Pakistan was created, and was built because of its proximity to sea, and not because Mohajirs settled there. Mohajirs in Karachi live in some of the most run down and appalling conditions, just like the rest of Pakistanis do in rest of the country.
Madhanee, what's your take on Mohammad bin Qasim? You think he was not an invader? Why and why not?
The first obviously that comes to mind is janab Liaqat Ali Khan,
Khwaja Nazimud-din, Mohammed Ali, Ghulam Mohammed were others…
My Pakistani history is weak, but I do know that when Ayub Khan was president we had a war and when Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto was president we had a war…Both non-Mohajirs…
The times of Mohajir leaders have been relatively calm…
Bhutto ulla ka patha was responsible for 65 war. Ayub khan was just a dolt like any military knucklehead. He asked Ayub to take panga in kashmir and India retorted with Lahore. sub hee haram khor rahay heiN.
Lajo, tu bhi dheet hai. seedhi taraH kiyOn nahi bolta "urdu speaking", "UP walay"? Faisal bhaijan ko chain aa jayay ga.
If you go that way back, then may as well throw in Muhammad Ali Jinnah, who was clearly not a mohajir. Liaqat Ali Khan, while being known as Qaid-e-Millat and all that good stuff, was never credited with brilliant leadership. Infact, he was unable to tackle many of the severe problems Pakistan was facing with, and resultantly got himself assassinated leaving Pakistan under the clutches of greedy politicians and bureacrats.
First two were fairly non-controversial, primarily because they didn’t do pretty much anything… GM was a cunning bureacrat. I don’t recall him doing anything great for Pakistan.
Having a war should not be the sole yardstick, ofcourse. Ayub’s general leadership is praised, as well as very high industrial development that took place during his rule. Bhutto invokes fairly strong emotions on both sides, but generally is deemed a very intelligent person, and depending on your view point, you can call him either an “evil genius” or a “poor man’s crusader”. Our economy almost completely tanked during the 70’s, primarily because of socialist policies.
Personally, I don’t think the place of birth of a person defines his/her leadership skills. These are dis-connected matrices, and leadership result card is dependent on the personality of the person, willingness to do good and opportunity to achieve the goals, more than the name of the village where one is born.
he got himself assassinated, kinda like zia got himself blown up, bhuto got himself lynched, nawaz got himself over thrown?
Haha.. Yeah. If you don't deal with problems in a timely and effective manner, they become big problems and can get you killed. This little bit of *Mafioso *wisdom brought to you, free of charge.
so JFK got him killed and WTC had itself blown up too? did the jews have themselves holocaust-ed too?
there have been many other "leaders" who did not handle problems in a timely and effective manner but they did nto get killed. one of them is living in ayyashi in dubai and the other kameena is living large in UK, one is chillin in saudi.
I am sure comparing Liaqat Ali Khan with Benazir, Nawaz and Altaf is gonna rub almost everyone the wrong way. But even before the assassination I can't recall any significant leadership skills displayed by Quaid-e-Millat, except may be that one photograph where he lehra the Pakistani jhandi in the Parliament. I am sure he must have displayed some great traits that Lajawab uncle will shortly inform us about, but we'll just have to wait.
I can't recall any significant leadership skills displayed by Quaid-e-Millat, except may be that one photograph where he lehra the Pakistani jhandi in the Parliament
Yes, I was a dedicated adult myself like you at that time and was keenly observing every single movement he ever displayed.
Oh yeah.. you wanna talk about Musharraf... Go right ahead... so'our and what not (that get past funguy's qainchi)
Lynching is too honorable a death for this scum and please refrain from insulting friendly creatures such as dogs.
generalizations verus genaralizations, lajjo wants to make him appear to be jack welch of pakistani politics, and you are making him look like richard nixon of pakistan, but noone has concrete examples, just generalizations based on individual viewpoints.
Here is an overview of his achievements…
I believe Liaqat Ali was a great strategist who held together Pakistan at the momment of its creation when it was almost ripping apart…
He unified Pakistanis and had a decidedly active hand in the creation of Pakistan, and he was a dignified leader…
His wife Begum Raana Liaqat Ali Khan was a graceful woman of substance and was an ardent proponent of education…She did many good works while she was the PM’s wife and guided a newborn nation which had barely opened its eyes fully…
I am not here to discuss race issues…If I wanted to, then the sacrifice of 3 million Mohajirs would be enough to keep you quiet for a little while…
I don’t believe in sectarianism and class systems…
My point was simply that Mohajir leaders have had more periods of relative calm…