My 'How do you' question

How do you tell a woman to change something about her. Now this could be very tricky since we all are aware of women’s sensitivities.I have tried being blunt, polite, diplomatic and honest but nothing has worked.

To tell someone to change is rude as it is, but when you are dealing with someone on frequent basis then it becomes sort of necessary to share how you feel about certain things.
For example, how would you tell a woman that she should get upto speed with fashion or she is going overboard with it. It’s just an example..I’m more interested in the approach women prefer. If they don’t like to hear about such things then men should be educated about it too. :slight_smile:

Re: My 'How do you' question

Fayz, you are entering extremely dangerous territories. My suggestion is don't criticize. Whatever you say will come across as an insult.
Choose your words very carefully. For example, if you want to encourage a girl to exercise, don't use the word "over weight" in your sentence or else you will have to hear about it for the rest of your life.

what exactly do you wnat to change?

Do change people! change your response to them. How does it matter how someone else dresses... if it hurts your eyes, look away.

Mehnaz..careful choice of words are the tricky part and one could never be too careful. I have concluded women don't wanna hear it..unless I hear otherwise in this thread.
Mywish, let's say I don't like your hair style :-D..how should I express myself (other than going ot hell)
Aisha, how could you look away from beauty..perfection would only enhance it.

Fayz, no matter what you say, unless the woman is very secure, confidant and can handle criticism, no matter how positive the criticism is, it will come across badly.

:(

If she aint your sister, keep away. I say this out of my desire for your welfare :D

That's the irony of it..it is supposed to be constructive criticism. How could we not be receptive to something constructive :-p

Well if you are talking about fashion...then you could kind of say something like "I saw this picture in a magazine and I think you would look really nice in something like that" ... or take her shopping and ask her to try on stuff that you like...and you should offer to do the same and try things that she likes on you (that depends alot on your relationship though)
if you want her to lose weight... tell her "I need to hit the gym...lets join together, it will be fun"
And i agree...be very careful choosing your words!

Fayz it really depends upon who the girl is. Is it even your place to tell her how to dress/make her hair etc?

if u want her to change her hairstyle .... tell her something like "babe this current hairstyle looks really hot on you but the other day i saw a hairstyle on (tv,movie, actress ) and her face shape was like yours....i think if u had that hairstyle it would bring out your (eyes/ cheekbones) even more....just a thought!"

it should do the trick.

praise another woman who already has the change you want :)

Re: My ‘How do you’ question

skhan, tha’ts the last thing in the book :hehe: in fact it has been torn off in the new editions.

Sweetpac/Shweetdreams..Now we are talking..wow! so many twists and turns to get your point across eh. Sounds reasonable but don’t most girls already know when a guys speaks out a paragraph before coming to the point.
I’d crack up half way through the speech.. :frowning:
Miss Fatale, you have added a new variable in the equation. Definitely the relationship matters…
with guys normally you get away with sentences such as
“Ja yaar, yeh pink shirt utar..kisi hijRay ka khasam lug rha hai” and there are no bad feelings on either side. Life is so easy.

Ok then somewhat praise what she already has and suggest the change for best results.

if u crack up…u r toast…no!..u r roast!

trust me even with all these twists the girl might ask “why ? u dont like THIS hairstyle?” :mad: and then u gotta be even more diplomatic.

“no sweety i LOVE this hairstyle! its awesome!, i just thought that if you are planning to change it someday u should give that one a chance since i think it would suit u too”

and dont say it again and again…lolz g’luck!

Now if this is a potential we r talking about tell her that the new hairstyle/outfit really turns you on and to see her in it would just be mind blwoing, then just watch her change to it :D

Definitely!!! :k:
We women don’t take criticisim even though beneficial very well.

Depends on what you want her to change. If it's her sense of style, go shopping with her and say you want to buy her something. Do your own shopping at the same time too and get her opinion so when you opine yours, it will be legitimated.

sighz..Well, this isn't about someone special..if I were that capable, I wouldn't be asking such questions. :-p
Theek hai ji, hum apnay suggestions apnay pass hi rukhtay hain..I wouldn't want to corrupt my roza anyways (just incase they get implemented).

Sensitivity in one area translates into insecurity and sensitivity in other areas as well. Wouldn't you rather try to change that than put up with it?