My friend's problem :(

PUBLIC SERVICE MESSAGE: don't
Dont marry somebody whose family cannot accept you unless that person has the guts or willingness to leave their family for you! the fact is that these days people meet their prospective spouses in colleges or university .....they way this couple got married is wrong.....LOVE DOES NOT CONQUER ALL!

This is worse the Humsafar story.....

^ we have seen parents accept newly converted girls as Bahus because they didn't want to lose their sons.....what is so wrong with this girl that they can't accept her? Desi parents blackmail BIGTIME! We all know that! That's kinda ingrained in their nature ! but honestly if they don't to lose their son they will accept their daughter in law!

Re: My friend's problem :(

saray he pagal hain is story main head to toe. kuch larkiyon ko sirf shadi kerni hoti hai chahay gadhay se he ho.

Nobody, neither the guy nor the girl, should have to break ties with their family as a prerequisite to a relationship. The issue here is lack of moderation and common sense.

Tell her to thank her lucky stars that her husband has been so supportive. He could have been like a lot of other trashy pakistani guys - married her and dumped her a few nights after the wedding upon his family's wishes.

So...just keep up a good relationship with her husband and ignore her in-laws. She can easily make other friends in town, can't she? Why is she so heartbroken that her in-laws wont talk to her straight? If I was them, I'd just ignore them, and tend to my true friendships.

The guys sounds like he's trying to do right by everyone, and is just getting taken advantage of. The way she should play the situation is NOT TRYING TO TAKE ADVANTAGE of him, and then making sure that he knows that SHE isn't the one asking for iphones and a house, etc etc, bleeding him financially dry.

Re: My friend’s problem :frowning:

I love the way you put it. :omg:

She should not talk to her husband about anything. He’s got nothin.

She’s gotta do this herself.

Thank you all, for your replies and suggestions. Will definitely let her know and make sure she follows some wonderful points mentioned.

About the wedding and what everyone has mentioned what pagalpan it was.....I just want to say it wasn't feasible even though her mom did feel like postponing it. The shaadi was continued because all the arrangements were done, everything in place, and all relatives present. Yes, the outcome wasn't good but I guess in desi culture answering to relatives/friends that guys' family had some problem/health issues is considered easier than canceling a whole wedding where everything's set up in place, no?

I also think parents shouldn't have even left the U.S for Pakistan to do the wedding before they had a rishta pakka word with the family, not just the guy....but his family is very well known so parents never doubted their intentions or any fraud. Also, the guy and their daughter were happy and wanted to be together, I guess that blinded her parents.

Thanks again everyone, please make dua for her and let's hope she follows what is advised, insha'Allah :)

Nobody, neither the guy nor the girl, should have to break ties with their family as a prerequisite to a relationship. The issue here is lack of moderation and common sense.

I totally agree but when we meet and fall in love we should consider these things. Things don't always fall into place and love does not solve everything

I guess something good did come out of nothing in this thread! :hmmm:

I think lot of ppl have made great suggestions. Bottomline, the couple got married too young. But they're old enough now for sure! She needs to get a backbone and stand up for herself. She is allowing these people to be rude to her and walk all over her. And he needs to get a backbone. Islam has given some rights to his wife as well as his parents. Maybe get her to find out and quote him passages of the Quran re the rights of wives! He gets punished for not giving her, her rights also, not just mom's. As Islam does protect the rights of all women - wives as well as mothers.

She also needs to grow up and not be so dependant on the opinion of others and be more confident and independent. Maybe even go back to dental school? Or atleast get a job / part time job? Go out, meet people, make more friends, have a social circle to keep her busy and pick up new hobbies and activities. She has all this love for her husband. How about some love for herself?!

someone said grand parents love and accept or want grand children ... its not always true.
I have seen a marriage where the girl was not acceptable to the guy's family ... it was not this extreme situation but still the guy's family did not accept the girl and even after the guy had kids, the guy's family would point all the faults of the girl as a mother ... they had a preference for the kids of their other son. The things they say would make my friend feel bad as a mother.

So after having a child, the situation may worsen for your friend.

Also it is very hard for my friend to ignore people's comments, she keeps thinking and does not forget what anyone said. So I can understand that your friend may have a hard time ignoring too. But she needs to. I keep telling my friend the same thing.

She does not need to attend the phone calls from her inlaws. Does she not have caller id ? She does not need to read emails sent from her SIL.
I like the idea of her spending the rest of her pregnancy at her parent's home ignoring what her inlaws said about not delivering in their city, I mean WTH ... who cares !!! and again do not attend their phone calls.

May Allah give her strength and her husband some sense.

:smack: If it is the short version of the long story , then what will be the long version. 500 pages long novel ?

Damn, that post was long. I read the first few paragraphs thinking it's going to end but realized I wasn't even halfway through and gave up. Girl's side of the family sound pretty stupid from what I read.

Any updates?

The girl’s family is to be blamed entirely! How could they even agree to go ahead with the wedding when no one came from guy’s side!! :bummer: :smack: