And here it is…
[thumb=H]100_101518924_4314263.JPG[/thumb]
It was all good except that I put too much garam masala in it. Smelled heavenly though. The recipe was a little different from the way my mom makes it. Instead of using tomatoes i used yogurt. If anyone is really interested, I can type out the whole recipe.
look yum.. i'd love to give your recipe a try when i'm past my holiday laziness. and oy, who likes aalu in their biryani? i thought that was for times when you didnt have enough meat for all the people. :b
irem: keep in mind this is my first biryani ever.
-i thought the rang was okay
-garam masala say hi to biryani main khushboo ati hai
-aloo???you want me put ALOO in my punjabi style biryani??? hadd hi hogayi hai!! FYI, aloos are only to put in Sindhi biryani or Bombay biryani
baqi keeray kahan hain
Aalsi: i know i will be hit by jootas once i say this, but I believe I did use Indian Basmati (some brand called Zaafrani). But I belive Shan has the best rice ever!
queer and Lioness: Recipe is following soon, InshaAllah.
cHEeGUm: THanks for the tareef of the biryani’s shakal. It tasted good too, else the perfectionist I am, I wouldnt post all this here if it wasnt good
Ira madam bahanay na banao i want to see the alloos
aur bibiji PISA HUA GARAMA MASALA bhee hik shae hondi ae u know :p
the Rang IS too much!!!
ps. im jus pulling ur leg man, the biryani (no kidding) looks quite good. atleast ur chaawal dint come out all geelay like mine did when i first made biryani :D
ab next step: make PAAYAY and post a pic in my paayay thread :D shukran
irem, i know you joke with me thats why i take your mean comments with a grain of salt
I dont like eating Paye: they are slimey :yukh: I always just eat the shorba, no paye ki boti.
TNW: its not that hard to make once you get the hang of it. I have seen my mother make it countless times so it was easier. But ofcourse its much easier to eat it up! :D
Diva: Yeah I also want to try Sindhi biryani but I want to make mine from scratch. I havent found a recipe yet, although I suspect that its prolly similiar masalas plus the addition of eggs and potatoes.
Recipe: I usually eyeball the quantities.
2 small chickens, or 1.5 large
Appx. 4 cups rice
Appx. 4 cups sliced onions
1 whole clove garlic, peeled
1/2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and shredded
1 cup yogurt
garam masala, grounded
cinammon stick
cloves
bayleaves
orange and yellow color , optional
lemon juice
dhanya
salt
red chilli powder
dhanya powder
1)Saute the onion and garlic in oil until the onion is golden brown and garlic is soft. Cool, strain and make a paste.
2)Heat some more oil, add the whole cloves and cinammon sticks. Now add chicken and fry on low heat until it starts to change color. Now add the yogurt. Cook until the water evaporates. Bhoonify some. Make sure not to stir it too much like I do, as the chicken pieces might break.
3)Now add peesa hua garam masala. Stir. Also add salt and pepper according to your taste. Now add the onion-garlic paste and ginger. Add water to make a thick, salan like consistency. Heat until it bubbles. Turn the stove off and set aside.
4) Wash and chop the dhanya leaves. Add to the salan.
5)Meanwhile, boil the rice in salted water with bayleaves until they are almost done but not quite. They should be somewhat crunchy. Strain the rice.
6)Take a large foil tray. Grease the bottom with plenty of oil. Add a layer of rice. Add the salan on top, spreading the masala as evenly as possible. Now add the last layer of rice on top. Flatten with a spoon. Now sprinkle some lemon juice on top. Also add color mixed with water. You can also add zafran instead of color. Some ppl also add rooh kewra.
My mother usually fries some whole dried red chilles in oil and spreads this "tarka" on top.
7)Cover carefully with foil. Bake in a preheated oven at 350 degree farenheit for about an hour or until the rice is done and masala is not watery. Make sure your foil is really tight on the tray so the steam stays inside.
Makes about 10 servings.
Now since i took all this time to write it out, queer and whoever else said htey were gonna try it, better try it!!! :p
hey i gave it a try over the weekend, and it turned out yummay!! course i did modify the recipe a bit, and didnt take me quite as long coz i wasnt making ten servings, but it was very tasty. shall try to take some pics the next time i fix it.
lol.. well i left out the kewra essence, and color, just used a bit of saffron. skipped dhaniya leaves - i've never had biryani with dhaniya in it.. and erm, i did feel one clove of garlic and a half inch piece of ginger was far too less for 10 servings. ended up adding a lot more.. substituted the red chilli powder with some green chillis and roughly crushed black pepper corns.. and well i was too impatient and opened the stuff up after 20 mins in the oven, and it was already done!
Tsk tsk tsk queer!! You make all those changes and then tell me you followed my recipe?! How dare ya? Ok ok, just kidding… I am glad it turned out good for you though. Maybe next time I will try all these variations.
*Originally posted by Ira: *
And here it is.....
[thumb=H]100_101518924_4314263.JPG[/thumb]
It was all good except that I put too much garam masala in it. :( Smelled heavenly though. The recipe was a little different from the way my mom makes it. Instead of using tomatoes i used yogurt. If anyone is really interested, I can type out the whole recipe.