im going to go to lahore on AUG 17…and my barat is on SEPTEMBER 16…i dont have a dress…do you girls think i will have enough time to get something made or will i be stuck buying a ready made lengha…
What shops would you suggest to get decent ready made ones…and if i have time which ones do you suggest to get them made for…Im not looking for designer like hsy or karma kind of deals…im asking about shops that aren’t that popular…
i dont want to spend lacks on a outfit im going to wear for 1 day..im willing to spend up to 1 lack but no more than that…possibly below that would be better…plz plz help =(
Well I got my barat in anarkali and they made it for me in under a month soo..if you just tell them you need it asap then Im sure it will be fine..Maybe even go to Liberty..
i got my nikkah lengha from anarkali too..they had one ready for someone else but her wedding wasnt till after so they gave that to me lol i got mine 2 days before the nikkah because what my saas gave me i hated it...i cried so much coz it was awful....so my mom bought me one...but with ramadan and eid thats why im stressed
How on earth did your MIL take the fact that you hated what she gave you? That truly is a nightmare.
obiously she was not impressed....but deep down she knew i would never wear that...she kept saying itna bi bura nahi hai...but the good thing is that my dewaranis enagement was 2 weeks before me and she refused to wear it as well, the dress was identical to mine only diff was that it was blue...how stupid would that have looked..so it worked to my advantage
Oh god, yes it did work to your advantage. And buying a ready-made lehnga is a great option. Zardozi is great! The kaam is amazing. There was this purple lehnga posted here and it was beautiful! Look up the thread, the pricing is around 1 lakh too.
Ohh my..what a situation you must of been in when you saw that dress your MIL gave you :s
Thank God..All the clothes my MIL has given me so far I have loved!! she has great taste!
yes i cried for hours when my mom finally said okay we will get a new one dont wrry lolz...my saas was pissed but i would have canceled the wedding if i had to wear that lolz...i know it may sound mean but seriously if any of u girls had that you would say the same
my MIL has a reasonable taste but at times we do differ :p
but thankfully my walima bridal is quite pretty and initially the combo she had told me got me quite skeptical but when I actually saw what they had in mind, it was quite stunning :)
Hope it IA turns the same way :)
but yea Komal I can imagine how distressed you must have been when you saw your jora.
But knowing my mom, even if my MIL turns up with the most hideous dress, she would force me to wear it :(
yes i cried for hours when my mom finally said okay we will get a new one dont wrry lolz...my saas was pissed but i would have canceled the wedding if i had to wear that lolz...i know it may sound mean but seriously if any of u girls had that you would say the same
Ohhh nooo..actually I went to this mendhi the other day and the girls suit was lovely all except it had these big mirrors on it (I really dont like mirrors on suits esp big ones :s) and she was telling me she bought those lil mirrors seperate and had them specially put on...
Anyway I phoned my MIL the next day and told her about the mendhi and what the girl was wearing and I said to her please please dont put mirrors on my mendhi suit she really laughed and said dont worry!!
And then last night I actually had a dream she bought me the mendhi suit with mirrors and I started crying for hours I was like noooo!! quite a random dream lol
all the dresses i got are in a suitcase- havent touched them once...i dont even want to give them to anyone they are that hideous..lolzzz
lol aww don't worry if you told her not to do it im sure she wont...i guess u have to tell them in the begining or else they just do what they want...
now my sister in law is geting the valima outfit from Aashees in Liberty Lahore...i hope it turns out good...im scared though...but her taste is good so i am hoping it will be fine. even my mehndi dress they are choosing which freaks me out more..lolz lets see wat happens
Ohhh nooo..actually I went to this mendhi the other day and the girls suit was lovely all except it had these big mirrors on it (I really dont like mirrors on suits esp big ones :s) and she was telling me she bought those lil mirrors seperate and had them specially put on...
Anyway I phoned my MIL the next day and told her about the mendhi and what the girl was wearing and I said to her please please dont put mirrors on my mendhi suit she really laughed and said dont worry!!
And then last night I actually had a dream she bought me the mendhi suit with mirrors and I started crying for hours I was like noooo!! quite a random dream lol
that was my situation too when I went to Pakistan for my rukhsati.. ramadan time, shops closing early and rukhsati was right after eid but my lehnga was ready in a month at Mohsins sons in Pindi from scratch.. they even had to dye the fabric that we chose.. and for my nikkah I was able to buy a dress from Zardozi in Lahore in a day that they fixed within next two days and it was perfect!
If you are not going for a designer outfit, you can definitely get something done in liberty within a month.. I didn't like anything at anarkali so can't say much but liberty had a lot of variety.. just make sure you give them a wedding date of at least 10 days before the actual date because you never know with the fitting etc.. my neck was too deep so they had to fix that which took another day or two.. I was getting married on the 27th and I picked up my lehnga on the 23rd.. close call!!!