My Dad: Angioplasty and stents in heart

My father suffered some pain in his chest 2 days ago and was taken to A and E…they did Angioplasty on him today as they thought he may have some blockage…docs actually wanted to do a bypass but dad refused…they have now put 2 stents in the coronary artery and say he shud be fine now inshallah

does anyone know of anyone who has had stents? are they ok now? is there a chance he can have another chest pain at all? is it dangerous? do they last 4ever? he will be changing his lifestyle completely now so inshallah he will never experience this again I hope…

Im really freaked out now and worried about my dad..pls do dua that my dad has a speedy recovery..

Thank you

Re: My Dad: Angioplasty and stents in heart

Dear Tabu,

I will make dua for ur dad. Wish him a full recovery very soon. I know how distressing and scary this time may be for u. But pray to allah for ur dads good health. Im sorry i dont know much about angioplasty or stents therefore cant offer u any good advice. I hope someone else can. Take care.

Hey Tabu,

I hope your father is feeling better. Dr Oz did a show on stents, artery blockage and bypasses on Wednesday. The interesting thing one doc has discovered is that the blockage is reversable. There is a diet plan you need to follow and ppl who followed it have seen drastic results. Take a look at his website. May Allah bless your dad with good health, amen.

May your Dad make a speedy recovery :)

My dad had a heartattack a year back, and didnt even realize it, he had chest pain in the middle of the night, made my mom get him a glass of water, went to sleep and went to WORK in the morning!!! When I woke up and realized what happened, i immediately called him home and made him go to the ER.

Thats when the doc said he suffered a heartattack due to 2 arteries being 90% blocked. He got 2 stents placed in. Alhmd hes been fine since. Although he has a million pills he must take everyday.

But of course, my dad is the typical case of a desi uncle. Eats anything and everything. Hes not really over weight, but hes all about food, and its hard to make a man like him 'watch what he eats' so me and my brother try to find ways to keep him active or make him go to the gym (which happens once in a blue moon).

But i will say, he got a LOT lazier after the heart attack. My dad was a fairly active person, but I can really see it took toll on him. But inshallah everything will be fine with your father as well. Try your best to keep him active and help him watch what he eats.

Thanks Guys for your good wishes...

Alhumdulilah dad is doing well and really good at watching what he eats...hes a person who loves food but he also likes eating healthy so is njoying his vegetables and no oil at the moment..inshallah he will make a speedy recovery...ameen

yes his main artery was 99% blocked so they put 2 stents in..now in 6 weeks they will make him run on treadmill and decide if he needs further angioplasty as his other artery is 65% blocked...

dad mashallah is not overweight, no blood pressure, not diabetic, very fit and healthy and doesnt eat fazool cheezein...it was just such a shock..many ppl are surprised its even happened to him..

Im so grateful to Allah paak that it wasnt a heart attack and we found out before that...

May parents saaya always be over kids...May our parents be protected from all evil...ameen sumameen :)