my birth story, finally!

ok just managed to find time to sit down, baby aslp next to me and i thought its time i wrote my birth story…

i was fine, no contractions up until wednesday night, i at first thought it was something i ate that was giving me funny pains, it then happened every 45 mins, and i knew deep down i was having contractions…throughout the night, and into thursday it went on, every 15 mins, i was supposed to be induced anyway on thursday morning because of my gestational diabetes, however as i was alreasdy having contractions they didnt need to induce me…so thursday i was in hosp, contractions every 5mins, midwife checked me i was fully diallated, however bloody hospital didnt have any room in the labour ward…so had to wait around in the antenatal ward, my contractions were so painful however the sound effects i was making apparently were told to me were almost pornographich,the nurse kept twitiching my curtains to see if my and my hubby were not up to something! what the hell! LIKE i was even thinking of sex for gods sake, but anyway the nurses kept telling me to keep it down as i was making the wrong` sort of sound effect, my husband found this hilarious, to which he earned a few slaps…:]

ANYWAY, bless him he was with me throughout, original plan was i wanted my mum to be in the labour ward, however by the time i was having realllyyy excruciating pains both husband and mum were with me, they rushed me into a room in the labour ward, ( how they managed to find an empty one i dont know, ).

husband and mum in the same room with me, hardly any clothes on, not good.!However any ounce of sharam i may have originally felt, was gone, as the pain was too much. the baby although head down was face up, and for some reason she wasnt coming out, i was pushing wrong the midwife sdound, i was on gas/air however iut wasnt enough, too much pain, i was screaming bloody murder, husband one side, mum on the other side. i began crying. this whole process took 16 hours, believe it or not, just pushing and nothing happening. eventually the head started to show and the midwife asked my husband to have a look, to which he replied no thankyou…!!! he was shaking and terrified of what he may see…they then asked my mum to have a look oh look your grandaughters heads shwoing, come have a look …to which my mums response ?? she fainted…

so the midwife called someone to help my mum oput, my husband shaking, and im the one with all the pain, i think they mustve forogtten me for a moment asll attention was on my mother and husband…the midwife kept asking them if they wanted some tea/buscuits/cofee/water/etc …im like hellooooooooo, i think im in ever so slightly more pain over here

anyway baby not coming out,20 hours gone, i just wanted it out and i was told by midwife to get up turn around and slide up and down on the bed ( like a pole dance) to get baby further down, oh my god, had i not been in that much pain, i wouidve laughed, i think my mum and husband woulve as well, seeing as i was naked and doing a pole dance-not good…but at that moment, nothing was funny…

in the end the docs came in, AND told me that they were gonna use ventouse, like a vaccum to suck her out, they cut a tear in me and out she popped in less than 5 mins…i lost a lot of blood, i was given an epidural, i remember the doc explaining the side effects of the epidural and to be frank she couldve told me the side effects were me putting on 15 stone, turning green, and growing an extra leg, and i still woulve happily signed it, it was too much pain at that time, in the operation theatre, it felt like they were taking a year to get the epidural ready, i was screaming at them to `f****** put it in will ya,* i now cringe when i remember how i was with them,

anyway i was then in heaven, as the epidural worked its magic…baby out in 5 mins..born 4am on the 1st oct…mashallah…husband was with me in the room. i lost 1000ml of blood, which they saiud was excessive blood loss…however other than that i was fine…cold and shaky but fine…baby weighed in at 6lbs 13…mashallah…

sigh

and tthere wer are…

Re: my birth story, finally!

**A darling baby girl for you,
precious, unique and adorable, too
a tiny miracle, a sheer delight,
to make your world
so happy and bright.

Congratulations.

Congrats again!

Thanks for sharing your story....you did quite well to have an epidural so late..so well done....

would love to see pics :)

LOL

hey once again congrats n may ALLAH bless u n the lil angel what's the name of baby?

Congratulations!

nadz funny story .. dun mean in a bad way.. the way you told the whole story... but congrts yar.. atleast u had natural contractions!!! i had to b put on piticon and it gave normal contraction pains but after 10-12 hrs they were so excruciating they had to operate me. love to fatima!

wow - scary :bummer: but probably all worth it in the end i guess :=)

Why didn't you take epidural sooner?

congratulation nadz123!

oh my god this is me. your entire labour i mean every aspect is mine. only difference is that i was in general ward not antenatal and i was told that its not labour and i will be induced 2morrow.

eventually when doctor came to check me i was 8.5 diulated and i was sent to labour room(previously they told me no room and doctor was available- hubby yelling that we are going to the other newly built private hospital and i am its new not fully operational yet). by this time i was in labour for more than 24 hours but i didnt know it was labour pains as i was told that i am ye to be induced and its not labour. i was waiting for real labour!!!.

2 hours later i was diulated fully but she wasnt coming out. it was jummah time and we wanted our daughter to born exact jummah time as my hubby has missed out his jummah prayer......it never happened!

she was stuck somewhere inside.......i was told to push and push and than they used vaccum and eventually i had c section.

hubby and mum was in the room with me and i had back labour so they were there rubbing my back as i felt better with that.

i remember screaming at the doctors in operation theatre as they were taking soooooo long to inject epidural and they were telling me we have steralise and follow our rules etc.
eventually i was told to cool down for epidural stay still but in pain that was impossible to do.

Wow!! You went through a lot, I literally laughed out loud reading you were making the wrong sort of sounds :p
And your mum fainting, thats really funny.

About the epidural, they should have told you about it so you could have gotten it sooner and avoided so much pain and misery ..... your labor was really long yaar, thats totally crazy...... even with an epidural my labor lasted 9 hours (and they say epidural delays labor).

mashallah nadz.. Well done!!! Your babies arrival has shed a tear or so to my eyes.. mashallah after all that agony- baby nadz arrived safe and sound.. and now mashallah u must adore each once of her:wub:.. congrats to you both and “praise the Lord” :balley:…its OVER!!!:wink:

:balley:Congratulations.:balley:

phew

Well done!

lol! this is going to sound terrible, but the way you told your story is hilarious!
i'm so glad everything worked out well for you in the end! i wish they'd given you the epidural sooner though! isn't it administered around 6 cms?

That sounds so scary :(

Wow, I am scared, again.

But congratulations for making it through!

By the way, how bad does epidural hurt? I am assuming with all the labour pain, it doesn't even matter?

congratulations and best wishes.. hope mommy and baby are doing well :D

Congrats!!

Epidural actually does not hurt as i had it for a major surgery - so talking from experience! but no idea about the labour pains - just praying that my pregnancy and labour is all easy inshaAllah when it happens :D