Muslims clerics incensed by Sania Mirza's Clothing

Re: Muslims clerics incensed by Sania Mirza’s Clothing

what a great heroine for muslim women..now they can dream to be a little more than just a burlap sack. mashallah :k: way to go Sania. atta girl!!!

someone oughta defrock this mulla first! where’s that ak guy?

Re: Muslims clerics incensed by Sania Mirza's Clothing

I don't think there is anything wrong with what the scholar sahib has said. The ruling on dress code, applies to all muslims, regardless of whether they proclaim to be the ambassadors of the faith or not. Every muslim is a representative of Islam. However, we all know muslims/people would ignore anything that doesn't suit them, so naturally Sania will not want to get into the row, and instead focus on her tennis career. Everyone's doing what they feel is right.

me and mulla? :smiley: i’m more of a pandit than anything else. :stuck_out_tongue:

bechari sania - she really doesnt need this right now. For some reason I think they should just let her be. Maulvis should have more serious issues to worry about than a professional tennis player in a skirt.

My dad was telling me how back in the day when Imran KHan first started playing cricket and he used to rub the ball alongside his crotch, there was a huge headline in the paper by similar maulvis saying that Imran Khan is trying to ‘excite’ the women. :hehe:

we should mail one of her skits to that moronic mullah and ask him to try it on and see how comfortable it feels. i'm sure he'll def issue another fatwa for those mullah who won't wear skirts from then on :p :D

[quote=“Faisal”]

I don’t think there is anything wrong with what the scholar sahib has said.
The ruling on dress code, applies to all muslims, regardless of whether they proclaim to be the ambassadors of the faith or not.
Every muslim is a representative of Islam.

• Yes, the mullah has no idea what he’s talking about - just rabblerouser using God

• dress ‘code’? the dress code for tennis supercedes anything else in the court

• I was told by a lot of people osama, zarqawi, extreme mullas & back-pack bombers don’t represent Islam…which is it?

Rather than jumping all over this girl for what she wears, why not protest and get the main tennis organizations to amend their dress code requirements? I’m sure if she was allowed to play in official tournaments wearing trousers she would. She has already admitted and publicly said that she knows it is wrong to play tennis in this outfit. It is really too bad, because she obviously has talent and is skilled enough to make it into the official rankings which most people are incapable of doing. Khair, I hope the maulvis have turned off their t.v. sets and aren’t continuing to watch her while condemning her. :hehe:

and I wonder, is it really o.k. to watch non-Muslim women in the same outfit playing tennis? They are still ‘half naked’.

Catty, that’s funny about Imran Khan. :hehe:

I don't think there are any rules forcing female players to wear the kind of dress. About the only requirement I know is for Wimbledon, where they require players to be in pre-dominantly white dress. The rest, players just improvise. The short short tennis skirt is a defacto for most women, but as we see with William sisters, they just keep coming back with newer dresses. If Sania wanted to play in long trousers, I am sure, she can. Problem is, before her, no muslim, or desi female tennis player has risen so high in tennis rankings or had so much tennis talent, so the question never arose. And Sania, for whatever reason, wants to fit in the mold and not create new issues for herself (by wearing something different), and ironically, that has landed her into this controversy.

If the option is there for her to cover herself properly and still be able to play tennis successfully, then there should really be no issue ... unless she simply does not care and wants to fit in with the others like you said. I thought I had read earlier in the thread that she was not allowed because of the dress code rules. I watch tennis quite a bit and I can't recall ever seeing any female player in anything other than shorts or those short skirts. Maybe she just wants to establish her career before causing another controversy by wearing trousers. Who knows!

she knows herself that according to her religion this kinda cloths are not allowed...she says maybe God will forgive her...so what is the problem if a mullah points out the same thing? this may not be a big deal but i am sure most muslim parents living in the west don't want their girls to dress like this

So let's simplify.

It's Sania's business. It's none of the mullah's beeswax. Tell the mullah to go bob it elsewhere

Now that the fatwa has been issued and Sania Mirza has been marked as the most-non-favorite Muslim and all the rest of the Muslims have patted themselves on their backs for their own high morals, shouldn't the issue be closed? Or do we have to go the next step and forcefully make change her sports attire?

So let the parents worry about it. Why let a Mullah come in uninvited and tell people what to do?

the scholar is perfectly right to speak up, if his idea is to dispel the impression that this dress is acceptable for Muslim women. doesnt necessarily mean anyone is forcing her to change her clothing, merely a reminder to Muslims and non Muslims that this is not a Muslim role model.

there are good mullahs bad mullahs shia mullahs sunni mullahs wahabi mullahs..it doesnt what sect of mullah but they all agree that this kind of nanga pan is not allowed :slight_smile: ..did they issue a death threat? no..they simply said this is not allowed accoring to islam…meri samajh main nahi aata hindus ko kyon mirchi lag rahi hai

if this is result of such ‘scholarship’ you oughta be worried about what they’re schooled in.

why dont you let Muslims worry about what they should worry about.

Sania Mirza made a terrible mistake by admitting the dress is inappropriate. Every non-mullah type/non-wahabi Muslim should adopt the mantra that it's between ME and Allah and none of your business.

Why is it so difficult for non-Muslims to understand that Muslims can't wear just anything crossing limits defined in sharia? Muslims don't have the mantra "its their personal business", we are told in Quran :

[3.110] You are the best of the nations raised up for (the benefit of) men; you enjoin what is right and forbid the wrong and believe in Allah; and if the followers of the Book had believed it would have been better for them; of them (some) are believers and most of them are transgressors

now non-Muslims please step away from this issue. Those muslims who have been shouting on top of their lungs that its Sania's personal business and we "Muslims" have no business should consider this verse above.