Muslim Girls Shaking Hands With Na-Mehram Males

Is this allowed in Islam?
Or is it forbidden in Islam?

I heard that, “All those parts of the body of a female would be burnt in the hell-fire on the day of judgement that were touched by a Na-Mehram Male.”

Is this correct?
If yes then how one can keep herself away from this sin?

Any suggesstion?

Don't shake hands with na-mehram males.

Assalaamu ‘alaikum,

It is not permissible for a Muslim girl to shake the hand of a na-Mehram.

Although there are some sahee ahadeeth which make such acts of physical contact harraam, I cannot say for sure what you have heard with regards to the body parts being subject to the Hell Fire on the Day, due to my lack of knowledge. However, perhaps one of the brothers or sisters can confirm, or I can Insha’Allaah try and find out.

Not only will you escape falling into sin, but also be rewarded for avoiding physical contact with na-Mehram men. The best path to take would be to keep a physical presence around na-Mehrams limited, particularly if you are not in the company of a Mehram. Also, be careful not to enter a room or a segregated area with a na-Mehram, as I’m sure you are familiar of the hadeeth, that if you are alone with a woman (or man in case of woman), the third to be present is Shaytaan.

Moreover, if you wish to hold a job, it is far better to work in a female surrounding, in which your contact with men is close to nothing (zero if possible), unless of course he is a mehram. Also, when you leave the house, take special precautions and make an effort to dress modestly (e.g. hijaab, loose clothing etc), so that you will not attract attention from other men, therefore avoiding any excuse for them to approach you. It is always preferable and better for the Muslim woman to cover her face with a veil or a nikaab, when she leaves the home, as Shaikh al-Albaani has suggested, which is also the Sunnah of the Wives of the Prophet (salallaahu ‘alaihi wa sallam). However, if you decide to only wear a hijaab, then be careful not to wear any attractive cosmetics and make up, once again to avoid the attention of men. Only beautify yourself for your husband and household (or while in the company of other women).

... And Allaah Knows Best

kind regards
W’salaam

I would like to make a little change in the statement:

"Muslim Girls/boys Shaking Hands With Na-Mehram Males/females"

The statments is in true wording in my openion because in this case there is no different laws for the Muslim men and women. If muslim women are forbidden then muslim men are forbidden too.

I work in a place where I meet people that would just stretch their hands out without thinking
what should I do then?
say sorry ....or just ignore as if I didn't see it coming?
what about the times when I have shaken hands , Knowing in my heart that this hand shouldn't be going out there!??

Br. & Sisters
Salam Masnoon.

I think if we tell other person about religious preferences, reason why we are not shaking hand with counter sex, they will appreciate it and won't feel offended. It is not nice to simply ignore it.

Allah knows best

Vassalam

I agree with abrar. I found the people respect it more(in any case) when you tell them that you are practicing your religion.

Rania...ap na hand shake kiya wo sub mauf ho sakta hai,,kuch gulab jamoon,ras golla,maisu pak,cham cham aur barfi alah ka nam nazar kareen aur sub log ko gushup may fedex kar deen.allah ap sa razi ho jaye ga...ameen...Rania ye sirf mazak tha,bura mat man no...Rani jo ho gaya..us ko bhool jayee,allah bohat bara hai,har insan ko mauf kar deta hai,,allah hafiz

dil...dilseee

Please, my entire job means helping non-mehram men recover from illness...which means i must touch them.

ok fine..hadith say that i shouldn't...but my niath was pak..and niath is a big part of islam.

maybe I'm rationalizing.

dilse ji is main bura mannay ki kia baat hai....
aap jo kuch kahain , asal main to guilty feeling hay or that will be there..

msaqibj or abrar mai yeah poochna chah rahi thi , daikhain koi office main aaya , it is all business he stretched out his hand...
I stretched out mine , now this is not the place or there is no time for informal discussion , (place yourself at my place and see ) then what?...will this be also a gunnah , or that won't be as it is all formality going on , usual business matters...then what?with both parties shaking hands with nothing of man/woman thing in their minds?

Assalaamu 'alaikum,

As does msaqibj, i too agree with brother abrar from personal experience. It is far better to let them know (in advance if possible) that due to religious principals it is not permissible for men and women (non-Mehram) to shake hands.

My job also often requires meeting clients, but Alhamdulilllaah, most of them are not female, although occasionally they have been. So i've either tried to inform them in advance of my religious principals, or at the meeting. The problem is, that if there are other colleagues or clients in the meeting, they may feel a little embarrassed, so you have to be as sincere and humble as possible while explaining to them. If you don't have much time, as is normally the case, it can just take a sentence, something like, "Forgive me, but i'm afraid i cannot shake a man's hand due to religious reasons." And they will appreciate your religious beliefs, as well as your honesty and openess Insha'allaah.

Also, when i started work with the company i'm currently employed with, i set out my religious morals, and to allow some of them to understand more clearly, i briefly explained to some of the guys here why i did not for example, shake hands with females, go to pubs/bars, needed to pray etc. Once i told them, they had a lot more respect for Islaam. I find it a lot more comforting now to see the women not thrusting their hands at me when introduced.

Kashmirigirl,

In your case i would say try and avoid male patients as much as you can. I do not mean ignore them, but if you have male colleagues, try and pass them over to your colleagues and take some of their female patients off of their hands. If you explain the situation, they will understand Insha'allaah.

You are absolutely right, intentions are a major factor. However, there are also other supporting characteristics that need to be backed up by intention. If time allows, I'll try and respond to your other thread on 'niath', Insha'Allaah.

kindest regards,
W'salaam

[This message has been edited by Hasnain (edited June 15, 1999).]

Really silly belief! Maybe one can resort to wearing gloves? I find it very disturbing to see that people who are well educated care about such immaterial details. I feel Kashmirigirl is right, faith is what matters, not taking pains and isolating oneself socially.

Kashmiri girl ji, I think that in the patient-doctor (or other health care professional), shariat allows such contact as it is unaviodable; I'm not 100% sure but from what I can recall from memory of Imam Jalal ud Din Suyuti's Tibb an Nabi sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam it is permissible for a physician to have contact with a person of the opposite sex for treatment. wallahu aalam :)

Rania...salam wala kum..kiya hal hai ap ka..
ap na hand shake apna marzi sa to nahi kiya..so there should not be any guilt..hona wali bath ho gayee,laiken dont take anything in your heart that you did something wrong..I dont think you did anything wrong...

dil..dilseee

Rania...salam wala kum..kiya hal hai ap ka..
ap na hand shake apna marzi sa to nahi kiya..so there should not be any guilt..hona wali bath ho gayee,laiken dont take anything in your heart that you did something wrong..I dont think you did anything wrong...

dil..dilseee

This thread was addressed directly to the Muslims and some one asked a question to the Muslim about something in Islam.
Why Hindus have to interfere in the discussion strictly about Islam?
Can not these people keep their tails outside of the Islamic discussions unless they want to learn something. If they only want to tell us that how much they hate muslims and Islamic values, I have started numereous thread regarding these topics, so please keep your tails bound to those threads and do not take part in purely Islamic discussions which are addressed to Muslims only.

msaqibj - who can and cannot participate in a particular thread, discussion, or post is exclusively upto Gupshup, not to members.

As long as officials of gupshup allow someone to to participate, there is no hinderance of any kind, for one to do so if one pleases.

Thanks for that info Asif and salams…

Ok so I touch patients to treat.

But!!!! I touch when it has nothing to do with treatment and a lot more to do with humanity, compasion, empathy….oh I don't know what to call it… (Ok I'm going off into a really therapy tone here…)

I believe in the healing power of touch. I've held someone's hand as he cried from frustration at the disease that would soon kill him… hugged a young guy as he proudly cam back to show his therapist that he could walk…and I touch my patients all the time and often…of course this all non-sexual and all at appropriate areas. However, it doesn't have to do with treatment but enhances my patients ability to respond to me and feel that I care and I think I treat their spirit too.

I always feel that in our interpretation of Islam all touch is sexualized….we don't have that awareness of how much good it does for the soul.

Though don't get me wrong here...i still think girls and guys need to be careful about physical boundaries...particularly if they are just friends or "friends".

Anyways niath is where its at...along with awareness of the potential change in the nature of the relationship through physical touch.

[This message has been edited by kashmirigirl (edited June 15, 1999).]

Thanx for all of your suggestions.
I have gotten much from you ppl.
Thanx for helping.

msaqibj, Yes you are right, it applies to both sex.

Dear kashmiri girl,

you have a strong logic, and you will have a valid point with allah, if he questions you on this. Most probably, i think, he'd let you go.

Muslim women have been nursing men during the wars, for which sometimes physical touch is unavoidable.

rules must be applied on proper situations. Niat alone plays the major role in the acceptance or rejection of a deed by allah.