Re: Muslim Etiquette
its not just a maulvi thing. its more like a desi thing. most desi stores in my area open at abt 11am/12pm and majority are owned by indians and sikhs. most have the crappiest service and mushtunday cashiers. very few are good to deal with and these are exceptions. :halo:
In order to avoid any controversy :halo: - Even if you take away the word MUSLIM from the above discussion and just focus on the word DESI (paki/indian), the situation still holds true (the crappy part I mean).
You would NEVER EVER see a GORA sales or counter person talking to his girlfriend / Saas / Friend / Blah /Blah or Blah , on a cell fone while you wait patiently to present your query to him :o . I have witnessed that umpteen times.
Second thing I have noticed is that you would never find a GORA talking to his friends inside the store (who just happened to drop in
) , and they form a nice little group in some corner, while the customer is waiting for them to finish their important discussion. This is something that you would typically observe in desi-run stores all over amreeka and kaynaidaa.
Ridiculous post PCG, I see no difference in a "molvi" or "non-molvi" doing business. There are idiot of all kinds, whether they are with beard or without.
there's this guy by penn station that sells indian/paki leather jackets/khussas/skirts etc and i stepped into his shop to look around (wearing jeans and a T and a jacket) and he went all molvi on me..first he asked if im from pakistan or india...and then looked me up and down and went "kya ho gaya hai aajkal ki paki larkiyon ko ...jeans pehentee hain shalwar kamiz nahi pehentee....islam meain hijab ka hukm bhool gaye"...
lets not go into what happened after that.....dishum dishum
Muslim business-owners in the west need to realize their services should not come with a sermon. As highly as I loathe my relatives judging me and telling me how a proper Pakistani/Muslim girl should behave, I do not need complete strangers butting in my personal life. Heck one of these so-called movlis even refused his business unless we came back wearing a scarf/hijab.
I have found that indian do a better job of running business. Exactly bcoz of the attitude above i have found over last 10 years, in place where i live, all shops have changed hands from Pakis to indians.
I agree with PCG on this, however, this is not limited to just movis, but all desi stores. Very very rarely do you come across a desi business with good customer service. And I would like to add to PCGs list,
sigh
can we all agree on a saying that ALL 5 FINGERS ARENT THE SAME!
jaza'kallah
That's too funny! How could someone in his right mind start telling off a complete stranger? Please share the details :D
On a side note, desis aren't the only ones with crazy hours of operation. Last month I was at Pacific Mall looking looking for cell phones. The store with the largest selection was closed and the owners took their sweet time and decided to open around 2:30pm - 3:00pm.
can we all agree on a saying that ALL 5 FINGERS ARENT THE SAME!
jaza'kallah
All because of that STUPID THUMB
it throws everything out of balance
lolz. I dunno sadiyah. I was dumbfounded for a second because I had never faced such a situation. i told him islam also tells you to cast your eyes down and not be rude to people and insult them like this. and that he just lost a valuable customer since i was planning to buy some stuff…
and i said im gonna make sure EVERYONE i know knows about his great customer service skills.
i dont think he cared though…![]()
Stereotypes aside, each place may have a different way of conducting business. Its a much different experience walking into Ehsan Chappal Store in Anarkali market where the owner is shouting at his "chota" sitting in roof storage to drop "size 10", compared to a dipper and suave "Sales Consultant" at Gucci's new shop at Rodeo Drive.
Fortunately or unfortunately some of the immigrant shop-owners here in the US maintain their habits from back home. Fortunately because if you get to know them, they afford you the same service like you expect from a familiar shop-owner back home who is more like a friend, with personal touches, unexpected discounts, freebies and preferred merchandise. Unfortunately, for some merchants their old habits consist primarly of unscheduled shop closures, delayed service, rude behavior and patchy merchandise. At the end of the day, its their choice. If they are undisciplined in keeping their shop open at the regular hours, they will lose business. If they are consistently rude with their customers, again, they will lose business. So if they are serious about their business, they will bring their service up to speed, compared to the competition. And if they serve in a marketplace with no competition, and consequently have no compulsion to improve their service, then, by jolly, more power to them. You are screwed! :-)
LOL!
Perhaps he wanted you to buy a few skirts, so that’d make his sales and you’d be more appropriately dressed.
He probably didn’t care because he could’ve thought it might bring bad luck to his business.
Shweetdreamz, that was shocking! Spread the word around, bad publicity will hurt.
Faisal is right, at the end of the day it's their business and they will do whatever is necessary to stay competitive. Unfortunately, in most metropolitan areas, there isn't much competition when it comes to desi stores. Hence, the poor service.
On a side note, desis aren't the only ones with crazy hours of operation. Last month I was at Pacific Mall looking looking for cell phones. The store with the largest selection was closed and the owners took their sweet time and decided to open around 2:30pm - 3:00pm.
Pacific Mall? The one in Toronto? If so, those *******s never even service me...no doubt because of my brown skin...
^ Yup… that’s the Pacific Mall I’m talking about.
I suppose it must’ve been my brown chamri because of which I was deprived of a good deal. ![]()
You are talking about shops in Amritsar before 1947? That was due to paritition, holocaust putter!
Look who’s talking about Haqooq-ul-Ebaad :o . You make me laugh bhaijan.