mushtaq ready for comeback

Mushtaq Ahmed, the Pakistan legspinner, has expressed the confidence that he can play a key role if selected for the home series against England, which starts next month. The 35-year-old Mushtaq said that he had studied the England batsmen closely during his county stint at Sussex.

“If I am recalled I can still spin a web around the England batsmen,” said Mushtaq, who is tipped to earn a recall after two years out of the national side.

Inzamam-ul-Haq, the Pakistan captain and Bob Woolmer, their coach, have hinted at giving Mushtaq another chance after he took 80 wickets for Sussex. His efforts helped the county finish second behind Nottinghamshire and have boosted his chances of playing for Pakistan.

“I am right up there and enjoying my bowling, and if my country needs me I will be there and even if, God forbid, I am not recalled I am ready to pass on my experience and my knowledge of the English batsmen.”

Mushtaq, who played last of his 52 Tests against South Africa two years ago, said he was confident he could get under England’s skin despite their recent Ashes success against Australia. “England are now a very confident side with players like Andrew Flintoff and Kevin Pietersen, but I have special plans for both of them and have dismissed them cheaply,” Mushtaq said. “I have not seen such an aggressive player like Pietersen who plays fast and spin with equal aggression, but he is vulnerable to spin.”

Mushtaq disagreed with those who say his devotion to religion has halted his cricketing career. “Islam has given me faith and now I am a relaxed man who knows my future and success are in the hands of Almighty Allah and turning to religion is not an impediment in cricket, never.”

Pakistan host England for three Tests and a five-match one-day series. The first Test starts in Multan from November 12.

I reckon we should recall him. 80 wickets in eng county speaks volume!

Re: mushtaq ready for comeback

He was a certainty if Kaneria wasn't around and there is NO way in the world we should go with 2 spinners, Malik and Afridi are certain inclusions in the first TEST and Kaneria is there making 1 proper and 2 very handy spinners, do we need another one then?????

He may still perform a bit better than Kaneria and he is a much better batsman but i think it will be a step in wrong direction. Perhaps we can include him in the squad of 15 or 16 and if kaneria doesn't perform well, he could be given a chance. He is by no means an inferior spinner to kaneria but SADLY only one specialist spinner can be played unless they prepare spinning tracks.

Maybe i am contradicting myself but since Sami and Rana are USELESS test bowlers, Gul has just returned from injury and hasn't played at international level for a year and a half and Shabbir is also under suspicion and may not chuck as well as he has been doing so why not give Mushy a chance alongwith kaneria on SPINNING tracks.

Imagine this bowling attack

Shoaib
Gul/Shabbir/Sami
Kaneria
Mushtaq
Afridi
Malik
:D :D
I see England in big trouble:p

Let’s see… how many batters do we need? Id say 7. That leaves room for four specialist bowlers:

Akthar is definite :k:
Gul is needed :k:
Sami, as u said, is crap :nook:
Shabbir has had his actin modified, misht not be so good :nook:
Kaneria has bowled well :k:
Mushtaq is a good choice and isn’t a dope with the bat either :k:

shoaib, gul and kaneria are three… so, on a non-spinning track, we’re gonna have three frontline bowlers with eight batters?

I really hope he gets his chance. He seems determined and that's what counts.

agreed!

I would NEVER go with 3 frontline bowlers in a TEST match but from what we have seen in the past, there is a big chance that we will go with only 3 frontline bowlers and Razzaq being the fourth one.

Whether or not picking mushy is a step in the right or wrong direction is debatable, on merit mushy deserves a recall.

well he also got a chance in 2003 against SA after he took over 100 wickets in the county season that year…and mushy was a total failure…i mean he was a complete failure…he prolly did not spin one single ball…mushy is totally finsihed and a past story and there is no point spending time on this old tyre…Uss kee hawa nakal chukiee ha bhai sahib…it was such a pain watching this great spinner against SA 2 years ago…actually Kaneira and Mushy played together in both test matches and if my memory is correct, mushy took one wickt for so many runs whereas kaneria simply out-classed SAs…

Rana???

Rana's figures in last 3 TESTS he has played:

Ist test against India: 1/133 off 32 & 0/6 off 2

1st TEST against West Indies: 0/66 off 18 & 1/88 off 24

2nd Test against Windies: 0/50 off 6 & wasn't good enough to bowl in the 2nd.

As much as i like Rana as an ODI bowler, i don't really wanna see him in TEST matches anymore as long as there is any injury to frontline bowlers. He has been at his peak in last few months as an ODI bowler but couldn't do much in the TESTS and although his county performance is very encouraging, he still doesn't deserve a chance on merit.

He took 1 wicket in the 2 TESTS he played against Windies where as Razzaq ( who i don't rate AT ALL as a test bowler took 8 and performed way better than Rana in India as well).

There is no point on bringing in Mushi I doubt he will make any difference and the way he is giving messages to the English team he will be hit all over. As per Mushtaq words "I can still spin a web around the England batsmen" I doubt he can. Well we will find out I hope if he can't make a difference in the first test he should be kicked out.

Tyre panchar tha, abbh tube pai patch lag gayee hai :D… I remember the home series against SA and Mushy was hard done i would say. There is a huge difference between the overs Danny was allocated compared to Mushy.

At Lahore, fair play Mushy was given a fair outing in the 1st innings but in the 2nd he wasn’t. He bowled something like 7 or 8 overs, whilst, Danny bowled in the region of 25+ overs. Mushy still grabbed a wicket with his ‘ODI’ allocation. :rolleyes:]

During the 2nd test Mushy was again under the cosh. He was given his regular ODI allocation in comparison to Danny in the 1st innings. Spinners need a few overs to settle in tests, with Mushy it was the case of bowl a few deliveries mate and on your bike! :rolleyes:]

In the 2nd innings, he ‘AGAIN’ bowled what 10 or 11 overs whilst Danny bowled something like 30+ overs.

I wasn’t surprised to see Danny get a upper hand on Mushy after the 2 tests as, he bowled a lot more overs then Mushy and, i feel that did make the difference when you look at the wickets column.

Don’t get me wrong here, I’m taking nothing away from Danny, he is the next superstar and I admire him, but that test series was a slap in the face for Mushy for no apparent reason. Not much of a home coming.

musthaq bowled 51 overs in the whole series and gave away 200 runs and took two wickets
Danish bowled 120 overs and gave away 279 runs and took 11 wickets.

…mushy was definitely not used enough by stupid skipper “inzi” but the fact remains that he was not bowling well and he gave away 4 runs per over…and that was against SA who are not very adept in playing spin… Decision is yours

1st Test: Pakistan v South Africa at Lahore, 17-21 Oct 2003
ist innings

Bowling O M R W

Mushtaq Ahmed 18 1 80 0
Danish Kaneria 21 2 65 2 (2nb)

2n innings
Bowling O M R W

Mushtaq Ahmed 8 1 18 1
Danish Kaneria 28.3 8 46 5 (2nb)

2nd Test: Pakistan v South Africa at Faisalabad, 24-28 Oct 2003

Ist innings

Bowling O M R W