Mush's Popularity

Re: Mush's Popularity

good news! now he can take of army uniform.. and contest elections.. we will see if he be more popular than Mirza Aslam Beg or not :)

So hes a failure! If he can only make rich richer of filthy richer..these so called illeterate have the same right as citizens of Pakistanis to elect anybody..

Please visit any police station, jail, court, hospital, govt office in these rural areas and see if any iota of change has happened during last 7 years..

As far as the rest 30 percent.. i dont see much hope too.. i live in Pakistan and very few endorse his policies.. most are tired with his greed to cling to power with illegal ways..

Talking about local waderas, chaudhrais - he is the most cruel vadera and chadhray.. using public institutions for his greed.. using NAB to gather hollow support.. hes supporting all the things for which he said he had to take over power..

Re: Mush’s Popularity

I agree 100%. We will find out how “well” this government is doing compare to others in the past. Inflation has broken the back of common man, power is no where to be found, corruption in Real estate, stock market and automobile industries is overwhelming. This PM was found directly involved in the steel mills deal that Supreme Court had to stop. So those of you who think this government is better, well I suggest you need to talk to common man in Pakistan. I think government had the best chance that any government ever had to put Pakistan on the right track when billions of $ came to Pakistan from overseas after 911. All that investment went to cars, real estate and fake stock market of Pakistan.
It is quite fashionable to blame Nawaz and Zardari since they have become easy targets but NAB has not proven a single case against these two. Zardari was kept years in jail without a single charge and this “honest” president could not prove a single allegation against him. Unless you can prove it in the court of law, all talk is just talk and nothing else.
Mush is popular just like Saddam was. Saddam was also enlightened moderate who promoted secularism in Iraq and killed religious entities. We have to wait and see when our enlightened president becomes the “tyrant”. But again, Saddam stood up against the master. This guy will never disobey the master and probably remain the “most popular” for along time to come.
[FONT=Times New Roman]:lahol:

do swiss and british courts count :slight_smile:

u sound like broken record

any convinctions in a Pakistani court? any convictions re billions that u routinely suggest is an accurate figure?
any convictions for Sharif and co?

err...I for one am a common Pakistani man in Pakistan...and I have no doubt that this govt is better than those of the past. While I dont say it's perfect or the best that could be, far from it, there are many flaws and I too can identify them and am angered over them, but as a common Pakistani in Pakistan, I do feel this govt is much better than those of the past...

And yes, one of the biggest flaws of this govt is to let the criminals go free or to have them appointed in key offices. But does that mean Zaradari and his likes were innocent that's why they havent been convicted and are roaming free!? All political manipulation...and yes, I'm not happy with it at all, but because we feel this govt is better than many of the past in many areas for many reasons, we bear with these 'deals' or whatever they are...

huh?:confused:

you come from a well off family(likely Army), and have only heaped praised on the dictator and allies in your posts, despite all the scandals and corruption

well that remains to be seen,i am not sure how accurate that survery is.if there are fair elections in the country i am not sure how successful hes going to be.Musharraf's popularity is pretty low in places like nwfp and balochistan.and even in places like karachi and lahore i doubt if hes going to do well unless backed up by MQM and CHaudry shujaat.Musharraf is not that popular a man because people in this country still don't see the difference between right and wrong.

O yeah, Mush is very popular and people want him to be president and want him to be in uniform.

sorry man, I am no broken record, I have stated where I think the govt needs to do more, versus yourself who have nothing positive ever to say about anything this govt has done.

no there are no convictions for shareef and co. and I did not say that there are any convictions for them did I?

but if the point eing made ids that zardari and benazir are innocent and were in jail for no reason, well maye the charges could not be brought against them, or not enough info as present to convict them, but the fact that they got pimp slapped in swiss and british courts goes to show that BB and her main squeeze zardari were massively corrupt. if you can not digest that then that is your problem. Maybe you had some facilities provided by BB govt that you no longer have and are thus bitter. be objective :slight_smile:

Mr. common man
They are not letting criminal go but they themselves are criminals. Please read the report from transparency international. I wonder if Zardari paid TI off to keep Pakistan from the top 10 list when BB was in power. The credit for this award goes to Mushy and Shortcut Aziz. Just like Nawaz and BB is responsible for corruption during their tenor, Mushy and Shortcut are also resposible when it happens on their watch. They will face their share of cases when they leave office and if they stay in Pakistan. It is a tradition in Pakistan to make cases against oponents after they no longer hold office so I don't put too much faith in that process.
Fraudia, Sir, I always like your posts on this forum. They are quite enlightening. But, I must disagree with you on this one, respectfully off course. :)
I am not aware of any convictions of BB and Zardari. If they are convicted then how come they are not in jail in Swiss or UK? Please explain! May be I am missing something here or you are going by the Pakistan government lines?
By the way, I am not a a fan of ML (Nawaz) or PPP. If it was up to me Imran Khan would be the president since he himself has given something to people of Pakistan instead of taking.
"Ask not what your country can do for you. Ask what you can do for your country." JFK
[FONT=Times New Roman]

zb7779 nay farmaya

** Sir, I always like your posts on this forum. They are quite enlightening. But, I must disagree with you on this one, respectfully off course. :)**

hai bol lo, dost bol lo, sir keh kar gali toh na doh yaar

**I am not aware of any convictions of BB and Zardari. If they are convicted then how come they are not in jail in Swiss or UK? Please explain! May be I am missing something here or you are going by the Pakistan government lines? **

well, in cases as such appeals do keep people out. Benazir and zardari were convicted fo money laundering by Geneva-based magistrate Daniel Devaud of obtaining the money in illegal commissions from two Swiss companies for a 1994 customs inspection contract.

They appealed, and a swiss police tribunal has accepted their appeal, however they are still waiting on a move by the prosecutors.

as far as UK courts go, this is specifically related to their estate in UK. They have been found as owners of surrey palace, and they would nto divulge the sources of the money that was used to buy the property which was bought for over 4 million pounds. The estate is now going to be sold and there are moves being made to ensure that proceeds go to the Govt of Pakistan. Although now all of a sudden zardari remembers that he had bought the place.

Is Mush popular? ofcourse he is. Is he the best for Pakistan? not anymore

Fraudz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/member.php?u=301), no gali at all. Like I said I am your fan in Chicago. I am of opinion that this western court during war against “terrorism” can not be trusted just as this so called GOP sponsored survey. If these cases were such open and shut then Zardari would have been convicted in Pakistan 6 years ago. Again, I am not suggesting that this guy is an angel. He could be guilty. At the same time, we can go on and on about Army general’s grabbing land all across Punjab and Islamabad which will result in court cases later on I am sure. The point I was making that these guys are worst because not only they are corrupt they are also a security risk for the country. Just look at what is going on in Balochistan and NWFP. It is very concerning for Pakistani like me who have read the East Pakistan fiasco. I am afraid general will be gone and Aziz will run to New York while Pakistani will suffer from inter province hatred. I pray that I am dead wrong but I don’t like where this guy is taking us.
As far as a common Pakistani is concerned I didn’t mean someone with a computer and access to Paklinks forum. I meant a worker who makes 5000 rupees a month or a person who works in our home in Pakistan. We should ask them how much they like Musharaf when they go to grocery shopping and can’t buy enough food for their kids because of this uncontrollable inflation. Or a pensioner who is receiving negative interest on his or her deposit while banks fleece the common borrower.
In the end, I am not concerned about any individuals or parties. I care about my country and the unity of our 4 beautiful provinces. This regime seems to be hell bent on destroying this unity. Just look at Musharaf’s statements in Punjab about KalaBagh Dam. I agree we need dams but why can’t we try to build consensus instead of statements like “Punjab would topple any government that opposed the construction of Kala Bagh”. This does not sound like a responsible statement and gives the impression that no matter what Sindh and NWFT wants Punjab has the veto power.
Again, no disrespect intended my brother, just difference of opinion.
[FONT=Times New Roman]

zb, I was joking about gaali :0 sir is such a formal term, makes me uncomfortable. as far as western court during war on terrorism goes, this is not something that started just now, it has been going on since 1998-1999 time frame. I can search and give you more historical accounts. Some of this was happening when Pakistan was under sanctions and thus had very little if any leverage.

As far as corruption in army goes, I know its there and I am no fan of it. I actually recall posting a while back that I see army people's kids in expensive unis in west and living a lavish lifestyle, which I know that their papa's salary can not give them, and they are not on any full ride scholarships (plus I dont know any full ride scholarships that buy students porsches.. ) So please do not take my statements as pro army at the expense of Pakistan. There is a hell of a lot that needs to be done. anyways, the usual statement I hear is that oh the kid's dad some colonel or something is a land owner..and made me wonder, are all officers in Pak military land owners..(before..or after they join the military)

But, what I see on forums here is a duplicity, people want to focus on all the ills in the current regime and not accept their accomplishments. That is unfair, each regime had its good points and its bad points, the rato and severity of those changes regime to regime and even year to year.

As far as the provincial discord, obviously it did not start in 1999, and I feel that opportunists have jumped on it because they know that the country is preoccupied with other stuff. Provincial discord is not just limited to people who have a province named after their ethnicity, the mohajirs in karachi had dealt with a lot of it, and in reaction groups like MQM came into being which went on to become cartel of thugs and were crushed...and many innocent ppl along with them. If you look back in history, one of our leaders a few decades ago had told mohajirs that only other place for them was the sea...(I can not verify this statement and am noting it as such)

All I expect is people to be fair. If someone wants to look back at my threads abou Nawaz Regime way back, i actually thought they did quite a bit because it was during his regime that saw karachi bounce back to life rather than be the plice state it had turned into during zia and more so during BB times.

The challenge is that when one is dealing with people who will not be fair. I mean is it realy possible that this regime has done nothing good and all is bad? and that a previous regime was all good and nothing bad, or any bad was not their fault?

Unfortunately, objective discussion does not take place, and my time is spent more on countering baseless statements by critics of this regime, which I would rather not do, but one can only have an objective, open and fair discussion if everyone involved wants to do that as well.

PS: I do want to note that I have also seen and heard about lavish lifestyles of politicians and mullah brigade's kids in US. I mean avay ka ava hi...

or you wanted to emphasize your statements :smiley:

Fraudia, i agree that Nawaz, BB &MUllahs are corrupt. But Mush is no way better either. I wonder how do you support a dictator and an imposer. By supporting Mush we insult ourselves.

I oppose all dictators, whether they got in the office via a revolution, via martial law, or via elections.

We insult ourselves when we vote for the same ghundas time and time again, as if one term of BB was not enough for her to be brought in again. We insult ourselves by allowing the mullahs to pollute our political offices.

I dont care if benazir runs the country, nawaz runs the country, musharraf runs teh country or if we have a national lottery and find someone that way to run the country. All I am interested in is someone who can deliver results...good results. I am seeing that with this regime and I support what it is doing for these good results. I do have issues with this govt, however they dont take away from wat they have delivered. Objectivity is just that.

actually I know who I want to run the country.
the real man of the people. none other than Kafeel bhai.

You know..."Cricket ki duniya ka betaaj badshah..
Kafeel bhai.. left arm, right arm, swing , fast bowler...... "

and

Kafeel bhai, left arm right arm medium pacer fast spin swinger

come' on y'all know who i am talking about.

Not at all. But, a real good guess on your part. :)
I like your detailed response. It is a fair expectation on your part. (no fun intended)
Joking aside I do see your point. I agree that there are some good things done in the past 5 years. I just got uncomfortable with the "most popular" tag for Musharaf. I know you were not saying that but thread some how implied it.
Never the less a great discussion indeed.