Musharraf to launch Pakistan party on October 1
By Peter Brieger (AFP) – 1 hour ago
HONG KONG — Former Pakistani president Pervez Musharraf said Wednesday he would soon launch a new party, touting his support among the Facebook generation as he vowed to remake the nation’s turbulent politics.
The retired general also accused Afghan President Hamid Karzai of lacking “legitimacy” but urged the West to stay the course against the Taliban or risk destabilising the region still further.
“I’m going to declare a party on October 1… We have to bring about a new political culture in Pakistan,” he told reporters in Hong Kong after addressing an annual investors’ forum organised by the CLSA brokerage.
The 67-year-old Musharraf, who lives in self-imposed exile in London, shrugged off the threat of possible legal action arising from his years of military rule of Pakistan.
“There are elements opposed to me, political elements, and they are the ones who engineer these cases. One has to face that. I’m very confident nothing can happen (on his eventual return home),” he said.
Musharraf, who plans to stand for parliament at the next general election in 2013, did not say where he would launch his new party – called the All Pakistan Muslim League.
Reports in Pakistan say the October 1 event is slated for London, and Musharraf has proclaimed his belief that he could become president again.
As army chief, Musharraf ousted civilian prime minister Nawaz Sharif in a bloodless coup in 1999. He was president from 2001 and has lived abroad since resigning in 2008.
Pakistan is back under civilian rule but President Asif Ali Zardari – the widower of assassinated former prime minister Benazir Bhutto – is under siege from rampant militants, a parlous economy and catastrophic floods.
Political analyst Mutahir Ahmed said that despite the Zardari government’s enormous unpopularity, Musharraf posed little threat.
“I do not think they should be worried, although they lack credibility themselves,” Ahmed, a professor of international relations at Karachi University, told AFP in Islamabad.
“In the political history of Pakistan, retired generals have not been able to make a mark and their political forays have ended as failures,” he said.
Zardari and Bhutto’s 21-year-old son Bilawal is being groomed for his own political career, but Musharraf said Pakistan had to turn a page on its dynastic politics and claimed to have his own following among Pakistani youth.
He said that more than 80 percent of the 295,000-plus followers of his Facebook page were aged between 18 and 34. “Therefore I know that it is the youth who are yearning for change.”
After the September 11, 2001 attacks, Musharraf made Pakistan a key ally of then US president George W. Bush in the “war on terror”, but faced a resurgence of Islamist militancy in the tribal northwest near Afghanistan.
He had a dismal relationship with Karzai, who regained power last year in an election that was widely decried as fraudulent.
“There must be a legitimate government in Afghanistan… He does not have that legitimacy,” Musharraf told the CLSA forum.
In contrast, the former military leader heaped praise on US General David Petraeus, calling the head of foreign forces in Afghanistan a “great commander”.
But with US President Barack Obama planning a troop drawdown from mid-2011, Musharraf warned that abandoning Afghanistan would “be playing into the hands of the Taliban and Al-Qaeda”, and said “quitting is not an option”.
“The whole world is against the Taliban. So why can’t we win? We can win and will win. But we will suffer casualties,” he said. “No one is analysing the effect of abandoning the region on Afghanistan, Pakistan and the world.”
Re: Mushrraf to officially launch his party on October 1
I think it's too dangerous for him to come here. Lal Masjid & Bugti's case will haunt him for sure. PM Gilani has also said that if he comes Chief Justice will welcome him.
And so will the army. The World shall stand witness, as a mass murderer is hailed as a hero by the very people who he has hurt. Anything is possible in Pakistan.
So how is he going to contest election .. peer sahib style?
pata nahi............with all due respect to peer sahab fans but he is biggest actor (dramaybazz) I have seen. If "peer sahab" can have thousands of followers while he is living a lavish life in Europe why can't Musharaf ? akhir ko ye Pakistani qaum hai jo Mr 10% ko President bana chuki hai !
Only Allah knows kiya honay wala hai and what will happen with Musharraf !
pata nahi............with all due respect to peer sahab fans but he is biggest actor (dramaybazz) I have seen. If "peer sahab" can have thousands of followers while he is living a lavish life in Europe why can't Musharaf ? akhir ko ye Pakistani qaum hai jo Mr 10% ko President bana chuki hai !
Only Allah knows kiya honay wala hai and what will happen with Musharraf !
True, with all the bad deeds associated with Mushy, he is still better than Zardari... although i'll vote for him ( even if i am asked and my vote's not casted already)
I too support Musharraf. For me he was one leader who took Pakistan out of the horror of IMF. During his tenure , electricity , petrol & food items at utility stores were subsidised. These are very basic things but these affect the life of a normal salaried class Pakistani whose income is limited.
I don't say kay us nay Pakistan sey khaya nahi hoga ya us nay ghalat kaam nahi kiye hongay but he did alot of things which benefited Pakistani awam in so many ways.
Plus , I think during his tenure there was a sense of unity among Pakistanis ...because we can clearly see the difference in response of same Pakistani awam during earth quake and now towards flood victims. At that time people wanted to help and they trusted govt but now there is lack of solidarity and people don't trust just because there is lack of leadership.
I too support Musharraf. For me he was one leader who took Pakistan out of the horror of IMF. During his tenure , electricity , petrol & food items at utility stores were subsidised. These are very basic things but these affect the life of a normal salaried class Pakistani whose income is limited.
I don't say kay us nay Pakistan sey khaya nahi hoga ya us nay ghalat kaam nahi kiye hongay but he did alot of things which benefited Pakistani awam in so many ways.
Plus , I think during his tenure there was a sense of unity among Pakistanis ...because we can clearly see the difference in response of same Pakistani awam during earth quake and now towards flood victims. At that time people wanted to help and they trusted govt but now there is lack of solidarity and people don't trust just because there is lack of leadership.
I believe that Musharaf knows how to lead.
I was his biggest supporter on all the forums for the 1st three years of his tenure, although that was non-democratic govt ( i am not fan of democracy as well), but the technocrats then did their jobs well.. he appointed skilled persons and they delivered, however, when he ran to the those kinds such as pervaiz illahi, shujaat, faisal saleh hayaat, aftab sherpao, altaf hussain etc.. then it was start of his demise... and with these kind of people one cannot deliver nor does anyone can survive with honor... same happened to mushy... He may have some support from Pakistan but so does Zardari....
The biggest crime of Mushy is to let NS and Zardari back in the country.. issuing NRO
Did he have to use word "Muslim League" in the new name? This is not 1947!! One would think that after all this time the guy will use bit of common sense and realize this is high time to bring change in the country with tolerance and unity for all under one flag regardless of their religion and sect. He sure is going to miss out support from many great people and gain of those who are corrupted and use word “Muslim” and "Islam" to abuse politics. He can lead and bring change but he needs to leave his old mantras behind and look at this from a complete different angle.
^^^ Its marketing 101. Its easier to sale product with well known name. That why you see so many Muslim leagues from A to Z b/c everyone is familiar with this name.
It is too late for him. He shouldn't have left in the first place after transferring power to Zardari. He can never stabilize Pakistan like he did when he was in uniform, so he is useless now.
you guys are unbelieavable! Musharaf, while I hate him for trying to steal Kargil from us, is the only guy with some brains in Pakistan politics.he alone saved your country from total chaos and collapse. He miscalculated the chief justice thing but other that he was good to you.
Funny now he cannot even enter Pakistan! Goes to show what happens if you try to attack India - God punished him!
I was his biggest supporter on all the forums for the 1st three years of his tenure, although that was non-democratic govt ( i am not fan of democracy as well), but the technocrats then did their jobs well.. he appointed skilled persons and they delivered, however, when he ran to the those kinds such as pervaiz illahi, shujaat, faisal saleh hayaat, aftab sherpao, altaf hussain etc.. then it was start of his demise... and with these kind of people one cannot deliver nor does anyone can survive with honor... same happened to mushy... He may have some support from Pakistan but so does Zardari....
The biggest crime of Mushy is to let NS and Zardari back in the country.. issuing NRO
It only happened when all crooks wanted him to remove his uniform and leave his army status. After that he was null as of his status. Things started to worsen when all parties come together to remove him. He was a lot better than these democratic parties. I support only that person who really work for the progress of the country, till he or she does.
you guys are unbelieavable! Musharaf, while I hate him for trying to steal Kargil from us, is the only guy with some brains in Pakistan politics.he alone saved your country from total chaos and collapse. He miscalculated the chief justice thing but other that he was good to you.
Funny now he cannot even enter Pakistan! Goes to show what happens if you try to attack India - God punished him!
your whole post is laughable. but the part in bold is just outstanding.
He did a lot of good things and few BIG mistakes... What I think he save Pakistan from allies possible attack on the name of war against terrosim, personally i want him back to done his unfinished job, he is lot better then current and old bad corrupt sick leaders.