Mushi on GEO

Did anyone catch the question/answer session with General Parvez Musharraf on Geo?

Indian actors (Aiswaria Ray!), directors, journalists, businessmen etc were in this biiig hall with Mushi uncle’s face on the huge projector (live sattelite connection) trying to have a dialogue and asking hiim about a whole lot of stuff regarding Indo/Pak.
This was after the cricketmatch btw.

What I don’t understand is why did they find it necessary to have it dubbed in urdu (everyone was speaking in english). It was a live show (I think?!) and because of the guy who was TRYING to translate whatever that was said into urdu, I missed everything!
Bah, sound on GEO sucks!

(ok there we go I opened the first GEO bashing thread :smiley: )

Waise it was a good concept/effort .. there should be more initiatives like that but khuda ke waastay don’t ‘dub’ it :-/

I watched it Shinoo. It was absolutely fabulous. The Indian journalists asked him some tough questions and Musharraf always bounced back twice as hard. I was particularly impressed with his response when one of the journalists asked him about human rights violations in Pakistan. Musharraf turned it around and asked them about their human rights violations in Kashmir, Gujarat, etc. and that they should focus on their own internal problems before looking at their neighbours. Good for Musharraf. He makes me proud to be a Pakistani (at least for today :p ).

Khair, I love Geo. I'm very impressed so far with what I've seen ... except the constant ads for the new Tariq Road shopping centre.

Oh yeah, and I watched two really good dramas today. Plus, they had this segment on where they showed all the songs from the upcoming mega-drama Umrao Jaan (or something like that). Although I can't stand Reshma, her dancing was very good. Even Iman did a fab job dancing to In Aankhon Ki Maasti.

Thank God now we wont see expat guppies parroting senseless political scenarios , Geo will feed some sense in u all.:)

*Originally posted by Pakora: *
Thank God now we wont see expat guppies parroting senseless political scenarios , Geo will feed some sense in u all.:)

^^ This is a generic statment.

Duly noted. :D

Mehnaz, so far I’m enjoying it aswell!
Mushi was excellent! I laughed my head off when he told Ashwaria that she shouldn’t act in anti Pakistan/kashmir movies :smiley: SHe was laughing too, did u notice? He had some very direct and blunt comments/replies :k:

I saw a drama/short story called ‘kaash, a love story’
Those kinda stories frustrate me though. I think they show too little ‘emotions’ between husbands and wifes. Maybe it’s just me though :-/. It was cute nevertheless.

Also saw the Umrao jaan thingy and it was very well done. I was especially impressed by the cinematography :k:

Last night there was show called "matchbox’ (Inzamam ul Haq and Yousuf Youhana were interviewed). I think that was a good show bcuz they actually went out on the streets of Peshawar and Karachi to mingle with the crowd and ask their opinions about the upcoming matches.
Good show

Did you manage to watch Love Stories Shinoo? I found it to be quite emotional and tugged at my heart strings. :blush:

mushy mera shezada was too good.

tikka kay juwaab diye, i loved it.

not just GEO, it came on PRIME TV too :hehe:

mai kya chaa geya shezada

anyone see "yeh duniya hey dilwalon kee." Great drama about a group of college boys and girls.

he certainly is a great guy. you can tell that he is a likable guy but when he wants to, he can be the most meanest son of a bitch.

Yup I saw like the last part of that :k:

Prez Musharraf was cool :k: but man, are these Indian journalists chalaak and eloquent or what, they were coming up with such smart questions!!! lekin Mush unkil also made us proud with his replies :jhanda:

I missed the part where Ash asked the questions though… :crying:

Musharraf's plea to Aishwarya Rai

Don't act in anti-Pakistan films: Musharraf's plea to Aishwarya

New Delhi, Mar 14 (IANS) :

Pakistan President Pervez Musharraf has made a personal plea to Bollywood's leading star Aishwarya Rai not to act in films that projected Pakistan in a bad light.

"I would like to request a leading star like Aishwarya Rai not to act in such films because they will be most unrealistic," Musharraf said amid laughter from an elite Indian dinner audience, including Rai, during a live satellite address to the India Today Conclave here Saturday night where the two sides could see each other.

He was answering a question by director-producer Subhash Ghai about cooperation between Indian and Pakistani film worlds.

About some of the Bollywood war films, Musharraf said, "I don't think they are realistic at all. You try to ridicule our forces. You overdo it in your movies. I find it to be absurd," he said.

Asked if he would rather see an India-Pakistan "love movie," he responded: "It is absolutely all right as long as you are realistic."

The president was earlier pleasantly surprised when master of ceremonies, India Today Editor in-Chief Aroon Purie, told him Aishwarya would like to ask a question.

"I am very glad to be asked a question by a leading player from the film world of India," a beaming Musharraf said.

To her question about prospect of peace between India and Pakistan, Musharraf assured Aishwarya that all sections of Pakistani society wanted peace, interaction and harmonious relations with India.

"There are some extremists in Pakistan and India who are against it. But they are a very small minority." he said.

Re: Musharraf’s plea to Aishwarya Rai

wowww :k:

good :k:

Asihwarya, Pooja Bhatt, Urmila and other actresses alike should be appluaded for their stance..they give us hope in times of idiocies like LOC and the rest.

I am a strong supporter of musharaf , but I think on this forum he went a bit over board , nagging about kashmir , and then being a bit too blunt and rude was a little disheartening.

AS they say in PMA !!

General sahab! Zara thand Rakho.:)

I am a strong supporter of musharaf , but I think on this forum he went a bit over board , nagging about kashmir , and then being a bit too blunt and rude was a little disheartening.

AS they say in PMA !!

General sahab! Zara thand Rakho.:)

indians doesn't understand anything but danda. He had to show them who was boss. You know what is rude and backstabbing. Inviting pakistanis into these programs and talking crap about pak-ind bhai bhai and then turning around and making films like border and LOC. THAT IS BACKSTABBING. MAKE UP YOUR MIND, YA WANNA BE FRIENDS OR ENEMY.

He is not only a general, but a statesmen too, He should have been a bit careful, Forums and direct questions are not backstabbing, rather an opportunity to show ur commitment to the greater cause.
Diplomacy plays a great role when u talk about confidence building measures which musharraf lacked big time. Short of showing his middle finger to the Indian crowd musharraf did every thing that a statesman should not do in such a volatile situation.

He is not only a general, but a statesmen too, He should have been a bit careful, Forums and direct questions are not backstabbing, rather an opportunity to show ur commitment to the greater cause.
Diplomacy plays a great role when u talk about confidence building measures which musharraf lacked big time. Short of showing his middle finger to the Indian crowd musharraf did every thing that a statesman should not do in such a volatile situation.

talking to the civilized world and talking to the indians is completely different thing. If he had talked that way to lets say australian or chinese presses than I would be the first to criticize him. When you talk about human rights violence and pak-indo bhai bhai crap than you better damn make sure that you have taken care of gujrat carnage and films like LOC in your own country. UNTIL THAN, STFU. What is wrong with that.

:mad2: Pakora sahab zara hosh karo!
You guys are so much in love of India and Indian movies that you even forget your identity!
Its only a film. There are many innocent Muslims dying in Kashmir everyday. WHy are you so shy to mention those atrocities.. In fact, no Pakistani should be shy about it. Yes we look forward to peace, but not at this cost!!! Gen. Musharraf did the right thing!