Mushi Calm Down.....

I just hope that all of u have seen President Musharaf’s speech to India Today via video conferencing , It was on PTV prime and GEO.

well here are my comments, what r urs…
I am a strong supporter of musharaf , but I think on this forum he went a bit over board , nagging about kashmir , and then being a bit too blunt and rude was a little disheartening.

He is not only a general, but a statesmen too, He should have been a bit careful, Forums and direct questions are not backstabbing, rather an opportunity to show ur commitment to the greater cause.
Diplomacy plays a great role when u talk about confidence building measures which musharraf lacked big time. Short of showing his middle finger to the Indian crowd musharraf did every thing that a statesman should not do in such a volatile situation.

AS they say in PMA !!
General sahab! Zara thand Rakho :slight_smile:

Give him a break, he has to listen to the hawkish generals around him who still think hindu india is breaking up next week.

Nahi Imdad sahab…

I think (maybe I am wrong) he has got scared , cause the suicide bomb attacks he endured were orchestrated and executed by our Dear old “Kashmiri’s” …what can u expect…

:konfused:

Yes he is scared, he's living in a closed off fortress now. It's not really kashmiris attacking him, but terrorists of all ethnicities.

He needs to please booth sides, its hard.. I hope he can pull it off!!

the word 'scared' exactly does not hold the same meaning for a military/forces official who has been a SSG commando and has seen battlefield action. i'm sure he's not half as scared as ANY other leader of the world, past or present would have been. maybe ex-soldiers would have dealt confidently but, let's think of what nawaz sharif or Benazir would have done had they faced similar attacks! they would have gone underground or would have shifted their political HQs to Dubai or someplace. our man here is man enough to attend cricket matches, commute from pindi to isb daily. and lets not forget, anyhting happens to him, he loses his life; we lose BIG TIME! so it's we who must worry about his safety more than he should.

and PKC,
i agree at times he was rather blunt and he even said it wide and clear at times that his comments should not be taken in the wrong way fro his being staright forward and blunt. But, i think it was necessary to deal with the sharp questions the way he did. i remember someone asked him about kashmir and said that since pakistan says they want peace and CBMs why dont they change their stance on kashmir. to that gen Mush replied that though he wants all sorts of relations with india improving, he doesnt feel that unless the kashmir issue is solved there could be any real progress. and that even he felt ridiculed everytime the mention of kashmir came up.
diplomacy is one thing, and ***licking another.

the word 'scared' exactly does not hold the same meaning for a military/forces official who has been a SSG commando and has seen battlefield action.
well ! when u have ur family at stake any one would get scared , its an emotion native to humans.... and by the way why are we helping americans.

• i'm sure he's not half as scared as ANY other leader of the world, past or present would have been. maybe ex-soldiers would have dealt confidently but, let's think of what nawaz sharif or Benazir would have done had they faced similar attacks! they would have gone underground or would have shifted their political HQs to Dubai or someplace. our man here is man enough to attend cricket matches, commute from pindi to isb daily. and lets not forget, anyhting happens to him, he loses his life; we lose BIG TIME! so it's we who must worry about his safety more than he should.*

well nawaz sharif and benazir are rotten eggs , Its a disgrace even to compare Musharaff to these idiots.

i agree at times he was rather blunt and he even said it wide and clear at times that his comments should not be taken in the wrong way fro his being staright forward and blunt. But, i think it was necessary to deal with the sharp questions the way he did.

The sharp and sarcastic questions came after Musharraf kept on parroting kashmir,kashmir,kashmir....and when he started answering questions as a 1st term PMA cadet rather then as a statesmen.

i remember someone asked him about kashmir and said that since pakistan says they want peace and CBMs why dont they change their stance on kashmir. to that gen Mush replied that though he wants all sorts of relations with india improving, he doesnt feel that unless the kashmir issue is solved there could be any real progress. and that even he felt ridiculed everytime the mention of kashmir came up.
diplomacy is one thing, and *
licking another.

Don’t go to extremes Haris (***Licking) !!!! To put it in laymen’s terms When u talk of confidence building measures its as though two parties who have beaten each other black and blue are trying to make up from a grass root level, In that circumstance if anyone or any party involved starts blaming, pointing or even aggressively dispute their point of conflict, then its better to call the whole thing off.

Just an observation: the general kept on reiterating "Lets be Realistic, unless Kashmir’s not freed we dont want to have anything to do with u all".

An Indian could get up and say: well general here is realism for you, Kashmir is under our control and we wont give it up so go Pee off.

Gen Sahib needs to control his josh sometimes. But I think he was playing to the (home) gallery. If you read the Urdu press, it was quite happy with the Kashmir statement.

No PKC, they were carried out by a Militant organization that was originally harboured by the army itself. The suicide attacker, who was killed in the incident, was identified as a Pakistani (I don’t remember the name clearly, probably Jameel). Its only our military strategy that has now backfired.