The following excerpt from the interview shows how bitter and third rate president he is, using words like these:
When I ask about the deposed chief justice, Iftikhar Chaudhry, who is still under house arrest, he denounces him as “the scum of the earth – a third-rate man – a corrupt man”.
In hindsight, Musharraf should have imposed a martial law when all the trouble started brewing up last March. I really liked his views on most issues, though sometimes he seemed to be delusional. But overall, given the current set of corrupt crooks of leaders, he is the only reasonable choice for Pakistan.
Wait a minute, is this the same Jamima who used to be married to Imran Khan? The last I rember of her is a pic of her in two-string bikini cozying up to Hugh Grant at some beach. Is she a journalist now?
It will be the saddest day for Pakistan if Benazir's crooked widower is in power by Monday," I say. As the President walks away, he looks back. "At least we part on agreement."
Aalsi,
So PPP and Mush can not work together. There will be no compromise. If PPP comes to power Mush will be out soon. As regard his crook comments, Mush will be remembered as the biggest crook in the history of Pakistan.
Yaar, Pakistani politics mai logo ki bato par mat jao. Kehtay kuchh hai aur hota kuchh hai. :)
In hindsight, Musharraf should have imposed a martial law when all the trouble started brewing up last March. I really liked his views on most issues, though sometimes he seemed to be delusional. But overall, given the current set of corrupt crooks of leaders, he is the only reasonable choice for Pakistan.
A reasonable man who is making deals with mass murderer Altaf hussain, crooks like zardari and chaudries of lota league....
** Often he fails to see the irony in his own words, which can be unintentionally comic.** Several times I have to suppress a smile. When confronted with the suggestion, for example, that he will have to work with a coalition government consisting of some the most infamous crooks in Pakistan, he responds with great sincerity, "I'm not running a martial law here. What can I do?" He adds, "My role as a president is simply the checks and balances – the seatbelts ... a sort of father figure to the Prime Minister but I won't have to see him for weeks."
if we see a crooked Zardari in power then **** fair elections and democracy !!! This is a slap to all the Pakistanis crying for this over-rated democracy. If you think Musharraf was corrupted then wait when these sharifs and zardaris rape our country...phir rona dona..like you guys always do...
Karachi will be back to stone age..say goodbye to all the free media,stations and have fun with the state controlled PTV ,STN/NTN channels and say hello to more local ghunda ghardi as if it wasn't bad enough..
Musharraf mentions democracy a great deal. He seems sincere. He is genuinely likeable. But it seems he just can't help himself. You can take the general out of the army but not the army out of the general. It reminds me of the Aesop fable about the scorpion and the frog. The frog gives the scorpion, who cannot swim, a lift across the river. Halfway across, the scorpion stings him. "Why did you do that?" asks the frog. "Now we'll both die." "I'm a scorpion; it's my nature."
A very appropriate parable with little twist and I believe end would be different. It is all about story of Pakistan and saviour of Pakistan :).
Musharraf took bankrupt Pakistan over his back in 1999 and started crossing the river of uncertain future, than half way some amongst Pakistanis stung him (in March to Nov 2007), so Musharraf looked at them and asked them that what happened? What made you stung me? These Pakistanis said that it is our nature, we sting all who do any good to Pakistan, now you will die and we don't care about what happens to Pakistan ... but since Mush is a military man and this is modern world, Mush was ready with antidote, so he declared emergency in Nov 2007 and kicked these Parasites hard.
I think that cure of that sting is going on, and I believe that hopefully Musharraf would not only recover but would recover much stronger than before :).
I hope you understand the language of power, don't you? If there would be need to choose between one in power and one out of power, than out of power can only be the one who has no power to start with :D