Musharraf's approval ratings is at 18%

Re: Mushrraf's approval ratings is at 18%

Didn't pro-Mush people claim absence of people from street protests is sign of Mush's approval? So even if the poll was conducted the very next hour of emergency it still shows what people thought about it.

Well no.

No one is arguing that Emergency is a good thing to impose. It sure is a bad thing and people would have not like it right after it was imposed. Now that they got time to think and can judge if enough reasons were there, I am sure many have changed their minds.

Its simple logic ..... max effect is measured around impact.

bhai sahib, please read replies from Reza, Aalsi, Saleem right after emergency was imposed, how critical it was for the country and what not.... do you think only these 3 people on planet knew the goods of this emergency?

68% of people think Mushrraf declared martial law to save his kursi.
70% opposed ousting of the CJ.
In mock presidential poll Mushrraf vs the CJ 70% voted for CJ while only 30% for Musharraf.

Great! If these polls are correct, I think CJ should immediately announce formation of "Insaf party" (sorry PTI is already taken), and context the elections. I am sure he can win majority (70%) in the NA.

Here is a free naghma that I am willing to contribute to CJ's election campaign.

Hamaara Ifti aa-ay Ga!
Meethay sur sunaai ga!
Insaaf Hamain dilaay Ga!
Hamaara Ifti aa-ay Ga!

I am sure you are familiar with the term statistical sample. Any time a survey is taken, you don't go and poll EVERYONE in the population. Honest sampling requires a representative sample of population. 1,663 is a pretty large number. The only question will be where was the survey taken. If it was focused in urban areas or did it include rural areas too. High quality surveyors include all factors in their sample selection.

Personally, 18% seems very high. By my count, apart from his cabinet (not all of whom support Musharraf either), there are only two people in the world who fully support Musharraf... Aalsi and Reza Pahlavi. So its 2/160,000,000 ... you do the math.

wait IRI survey?
u mean teh same survey that said he had 70% popularity last year and at that time ppl called teh survey a tool of republican party in US and ignored it?

accurate survey though, and in a fragmented desi political scene 18% is significant, because MMA and Imran dont have 18% support.

the same IRI surveys show that majority of people support Nawaz and BB :) what a shame, they have a chance to rally behind Imran and they are choosing not too, aside from zabani jama kharch.

aitezaz, ifti and others should join PTI and really just make that party a real power in pakistani politics and a diff alternative, aitezaz has learnt already that no matter what he does, in PPP he will still be BB's errand boy, so why not just rally around Imran.

I simply dont understand why ppl will not rally behind Imran. shameful.

Re: Mushrraf’s approval ratings is at 18%

You are forgetting Sa1eem :wave:

Yes the denial, when poll goes against one's perception/belief they shrug it off, its very common (and I am not saying common to pro-Mush only).

i aint contesting the poll at all :)

Imran Khan can surprise many of us here by showing +20% popularity if survey is conducted now. Most independent people and loads of ex MQM, PPP and PML N silent voters (not members or activists) are with Imran Khan. You can say whatever you want, but everyone in Pakistan since May 12 I have spoken too are in 100% support of Imran (specially Karachites = Urdu speaking). Alhamdollillah tide is changing the country and people are thinking of voting an educated alternative to give him a try instead of sitting home and not to go polling stations thinking only certain party will win from this constiuency or because of fear of certain mafia qaumi movement.

As far as overseas is concerned, I was not surprise to see PTI membership going from 2 digits to 4 digits in month in Canada. Thats significant amount of educated people.

You mean PTI can get more seats?

Wow! So now they will need two tongas instead of one. That's great news!

abay, its not about "I can say whatever I want", I support the guy. I am just showing ppl reality.
yes you have spoken to may be for Imran but you are probably speaking to a certain demographic in teh country.

Had you looked at previous IRI surveys u would see that the top 3 players in teh country were nawaz, BB and Musharraf, Imran, qazi etc were bottom feeders. since we are talking about the IRI survey I was lamenting the other insights in that survey.

PTI membership In Canada is an encouraging sight but it has 2 issues, I will post negatiove and positive aspects of the observations.

1) neg- Ppl in canada cant vote- pos- they can support party in funding and lobbying
2) neg- double of negligible is still negligible pos- atleast its a move in the right direction

nation still needs to come out of its blind support for parties based on ethnic and personality based support.

haan bay theek keh raha hai, I agree :)

aobl, Maharaja's PML Q will not required a tricycle soon. Once power gone, Chadhry Br and long arm will be on there feet alone.

His article is classic case of propaganda based on lies and conclusion based on ignorance. Even in his own article he contradicts himself. In earlier part his figures are 67 percent believe Musharraf emergency was result of personal interest and 19 percent did not, in later part, his figures changed to 68 percent and 18 percent :).

Anyhow, his analysis and recommendation is absurd, so absurd that if I was his boss and he had given me such concluded recommendation, he would have seen the door. Just imagine, suppose this survey is really true, still to analyse and give recommendation to resign is ridiculous.

First of all, he should know that Musharraf did not come from public vote that he should worry about his popularity as much as politicians should worry. Second thing is that, his constituency as President are not general public but parliamentarians (who a month ago voted him overwhelmingly).

But let say that suppose Musharraf was a politician holding the post of Prime Minister and comes to power from votes of general public and that it matters how popular he is amongst the masses, than also, only an IDIOT would conclude and advice what he did. His concluded advice only shows that he is a paid goon of corrupt politicians, nothing more.

Why? Because this idiot should know that people leave public post after losing in election, not because some crackpot survey (he did not even named who did the survey and who paid for that survey) asked some selected bunch of people a question regarding ‘a particular action’. Even if the survey is true, he should know that people do not and should not resign because 67 percent of 1663 people (I am using his first quote) out of 160,000,000 people in the country said that Musharraf brought emergency for his own interest :).

He should know that if poll is conducted in Pakistan asking that BB, NS, AH, Qazi, FR, IK, Ch Sh, or whoever in politics, ‘are they in politics for their own interest or for the interest of Pakistan or people of Pakistan?’ Than not 67 percent but 99 percent would say that ‘they are in politics for their own personal interest’, so on that result would he recommend with his sincerity, as he claims, to all such political goons to resign from politics?

On the other hand, I think that if 19 percent believe that Musharraf did not imposed emergency for personal interest, than it is great achievement and support for Musharraf, as in a country where most believe that all who are in power, whatever they do, they do that for personal interest even when they have no personal interest, than in such country, when 19 percent believe that Musharraf has not imposed emergency for personal Interest, it shows great trust and respect for Musharraf.

Anyhow, this idiot who wrote the article is so ignorant of polls, votes and politics that he mentioned 19 percent (again using his first quote) polled believe that Musharraf did not imposed emergency for his own interest, still he considered that as bad (note, due to so much propaganda in media, many supporters of Musharraf may also believe that Musharraf imposed emergency for his own interest, and thus that does not matter).

On the other hand, he claims to be PhD, than he should know that 19 percent votes in poll if converted to election votes, than it is a lot of votes in first past the poll election system, where there are multiple contestants and on average around 40 percent of voters cast their votes. Actually, if in next election 19 percent voters really comes out to vote parties that support President, than pro-Musharraf parties could easily get over 2/3 majority in next parliament. You may ask how?

In Pakistan (or even in UK, or for that matter anywhere first past the poll system of election is contested), most times the party that forms the government (be that PPP or PML), there ‘total share in cast votes’ were around 30 to 35 percent (sometime even less than 30 percent) and since in Pakistan around 40 percent cast votes, 30 to 35 percent of cast votes translate to around 12 to 14 percent of voters. This is the number of voters that voted in past 4 elections (leaving 2002 election):

1988: 43 percent of total voters voted
1990: 45 percent of total voters voted
1993: 40 percent of total voters voted
1997: 35 percent of total votes voted

Now let assume that around 40 percent of total voters would vote in next election. Than 19 percent would be 47.5 percent of total voters, that would cast vote. Since rest of the cast votes would get distributed amongst other parties and independents, it would mean over whelming majority in NA for parties supporting Musharraf, most likely over 2/3 majority, as no party ever in Pakistan got that much votes, not even NS in 1997. Only exception is PPP in 1977 when they got 58 percent of the cast votes and got 136 out of 173 seats (79 percent of elected MNAs), that was in spite of super rigging and all opposition contested the election together.

Anyhow, according to his referred poll, when asked that who they support as President, and if one assumes that all those who voted Musharraf are hardened Musharraf supporters, and would really come out and would vote for parties supporting Musharraf, than that is massive 30 percent of total votes, that translate to 75 percent of cast votes (if total turnover in next general election would be 40 percent).

In election, if 75 percent of total cast votes goes to pro-Musharraf parties, and remaining 25 percent divided amongst all in opposition, than it would be rare chance for anyone from opposition to reach NA. In such situation, it is also possible that 90 to 95 percent of next parliamentarians would be pro Musharraf.

That is why most parties in opposition are scared to contest election and present government apeasing them so that they contest election and taste obvious defeat.

Opposition knows that, defeat in election is staring their face and thus instead of working to contest the election, they are looking for ways to run away from election (boycott the election), and for that they are buying propaganda machines (paying media owners, goon Journalists, corrupt Judiciary (Lawyers and Judges), and all bikao maal in Pakistan) so that few supporters they have think that they are wronged. :D.

sa1eem mian, please remove the "FONT" setting flooded in your post.

Bhai, I am sorry. What can I do, whenever I paste here (be that my own word format typing or cut-and paste from anywhere else) and post that on forum, these 'font settings and format commands' comes in. I can only take them off after I posted and then edit them. Eventually, after some efforts, I do take them off. It is frustrating for me too (as in frustration, occasionally I delete my post too). I do not know the reason. In past it was much better. :)

If you think he should not worry then why are you so worried and wasting our time? Thank you :wave:

It might have something to do with system upgrades or may be user preferences... I encounter same problem too.

The day you stop cut and paste job will be the day you will think from your mind and will denounce Maharaja Musharraf.

You are right. Anyhow, till now, I could not find ways to overcome it :slight_smile:

Why would I be worried? I am not President. :slight_smile:

Anyhow, can’t you see that most of the post I leave out. My reason to support Musharraf is that, I believe he is keeping corruption in check and result is that Pakistan economy is booming. To me, I do gain if Pakistan economy booms, plus since I want one day to move back to Pakistan (that is why I have investment there), I would like to see that country prosper. If I did not intended to move to Pakistan, than I would not have any investment there, and it was beneficial for me if corrupts rule Pakistan, so that Pakistan currency go to dogs, and when I go there on holidays, I can feel King.

Believe me, I think that if free and fair election is held, pro-Musharraf party would win overwhelmingly, and I am more worried that there would be little opposition in future parliament, and that is not good for comfort. I am thinking that how political situation would settle down once President Musharraf is gone, as it seems that we might see one party system, but for democracy a party in opposition is desirable :).

The way things are going on, it seems that most in opposition are not only going to lose, but their party base is disappearing. I believe that opposition knows that and the situation is sad.

Well, if I have posted 1 word on the forum that is cut-and-paste (not mine) than there are more than 100 words I posted are my own, original in every respect, and coming out of my mind. If you have not read most of my posts, than it is not my fault :smiley: