Musharraf says war between Presidency, Parliament to be catastrophic

I believe once the new govt is sworn in, the rhetoric from the political parties will be not as bad as it has been. No one wants to see Pakistan move towards chaos after the unprecedented growth of the past eight years.

http://www.dailynews.lk/2008/03/12/wld04.asp

**Musharraf says war between Presidency, Parliament to be catastrophic **

Pakistan’s political stability is the top priority and a war between the presidency and the newly- elected parliament would be catastrophic, said Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf in an interview with Washington Times published on Monday.

“I’m looking forward to working with this government for the full five years,” Musharraf told Washington Times in Rawalpindi city on Wednesday. Musharraf scoffed at speculation in the Pakistani press that he would attempt to derail the results of Feb. 18 elections by using his constitutional powers to dismiss parliament, or not call parliament into session.

"You think someone who has spent his entire adult life defending Pakistan and the past eight years trying to put democracy back on track wants to see the government fail and the country return to political anarchy? " he said, adding “No. I’m committed to making this work.”

Musharraf has to seek political reconciliation for political stability after Pakistan’s two major parties, Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), signed a joint declaration on Sunday on the formation of new government.

Re: Musharraf says war between Presidency, Parliament to be catastrophic

It never stopped him before and now he is trying to prepare ground ot continue his illegal rule. Won't wash. He has to go.

He spent 8 years trying to defend his kursi not Pakistan.

Really? Oh darn, I thought it would be nice, loving, peaceful and friendly tug-of-war.

Yes. I believe it will be peaceful, and the rhetoric will much reduced once the govt is formed.

Arghh Musharraf says alotta stuff. :chai: Implements very little except if it’s opponents, civilians, women, school kids with banners, lawyers, u know…the “unarmed domestic extremists”

As peaceful as house arrests? or May 12?

If you believe May 12 was peaceful despite the political parties having gun battles and killing each other, then I would hate to see your definition of 'not peaceful'. :)

I think before that confrontation starts, he should resign otherwise 'barhay be aabroo ho kar tere koochay se ham nilkay':D

Well Musharraf said it will be catastrophic while you say it'll be peaceful, are you decided about that yet? As for the definition of "peaceful", I wouldn't be calling for prosecution of someone following a day like May 12... does it give any idea or do you still need the "definition"?

Only thing Mush is committed to is to staying in power indefinitely.

Isn't Zardari lining up Fahim to take over the Presidency as per some resports? :)

Aalsi bhai, ab to Indians bhi keh rahay hayn :hehe:

Mashallah. That must be correct then. RAW is much better than ISI. :smiley:

Aay Allah Iss Musharraf/Zardari ki jordi ko tou sadaa salamat rakhey...ta Qayamat rakhey , jab tak Pakistan qaim daim rahey , yeh jordi issi tarhan say parwaan charhhaay...Ameen sum Ameen.

^ are you saying it as bad-dua or is it a dua from you? :aq:

Ameen. Long may they rule Pakistan. Pakistan needs a strong PM like Zardari.