Musharraf limo ambushed in London

Re: Musharraf limo ambushed in London

But they didn't use "foreigners" from a street in a different country, rather people who focus on a country, a team that focus on that country etc. Are you suggesting you don't value institutions like Asian Development Bank? The institutions used are not irrelevant institutions.... unless we stop caring about what foreigners like World Bank think.

Oh, I see you were trying to be clever!
Point remains, corruption will be endemic to Pakistan particularly during Democracies, because demcoracy in Pakistan has not been allowed to evolve... If you read your history, developed democracies have only done so by evolving and chaging... Corruption is endemic to a system that is young and unevolved... But checks and balances can only come into play once a democracy is allowed to mature... Pak Democracy unfortunately has never been allowed to mature, hence corrupttion will exist...

There is no point in answering you either meri jaan, most of your posts are full of holes... But I like to play along with you because you seem so self assured, SO DO ME THE SAME FAVOR....
Anyways, try answering my other posts... If people perception are so imp to you, why is Mush still president when 68 percent of the people and probably more, dont want him to be in power?

What is the basis of your this assumption? :slight_smile:

To me, Iftikhar was CJ appointed by Musharraf and if he was less corrupt or more corrupt, credit would go to Musharraf government. He did some good work and that also because government accepted his actions, else no Judge can do any work until they do not get support of government.

Anyhow, Iftikhar was corrupt and there is plenty of reason to believe that, so if Musharraf government decided to get rid of corrupt Iftikhar, than it was right decision.

Unfortunately, just like Lal-Masjid terrorist goon Rashid, Iftikhar also decided to challenge government and result was obvious. Rashid got blown up and ex-CJ got blown out.

Actually, it is such actions where Musharraf government found anyone corrupt thrown the person out of office, people consider that Musharraf government is not corrupt. If corrupts like ex-CJ was tolerated, than Musharraf government would have got considered as more corrupt than what people think of his government today. We have to remember that when allegations against CJ came full of corruption and nepotism, if no action was taken, perception would have got created that Musharraf and his government is corrupt and that is why they are supporting corrupt CJ.

Based on the charges that govt presented... These were nonsense charges, which hardly compare to the corruption rampant within the Mush govt... Corruption that is routinely ignored by Mush himself... Unless you can provide us with somehting more susbstanital then accused nepotism and wanting to drive a Mercedes...

Musharaf cant appoint anyone... The Chief Justice and the other justices are the final say in matters that pertain to the constitutions. Mush govt only allowed the CJ to do good work when it didnt interfere with the corruption of the govt. Because the CJ was forcing accountability, he was suddenly ocrrupt in the eyes of the Mush dictatorship... Thats not something thats credit worthy...
This is where you lack insight... Because Pak hasnt evolved a democratic system, the system of checks and balances is not in place... Mush did not know this before he tried to oust the CJ. Aitazaz Ahsan offocurse did.
The demcoratic way of doing this would be to close the lopp hole through the PARLIAMENT.. But because Mush is a dictator and Parliament is a non functional entity, Mush decided to call an emergency and go the unconstitutional route.

And if CJ was corrupt, what is your proof? And if he is corrupt, why are you so hard on him but decide to exuse Mush govt of the same crime?.. YOU NEVER PROVIDE ANY EVIDENCE, and you NEVER ask that Mush govt should be held accountable... Instead, you defend the corruption of Mush govt. That again destroys your credibility.

The CJ has every right to challenge the govt, that is his role...

AND MUSH HAS ALLOWED CORRUPTION TO GO UNPUNISHED... Mush govt has MANY corrupt individuals among its ranks.. MUSH EVEN ALLOWED ALL CHARGES TO BE DROPPED AGAINST BENAZIR...

So what are you talking about saleem! You contradict yourself by saying that BB was corrupt and other people in NS govt were corrupt, yet you say Mush govt is not even though they took in corrupt members of NS's Party and allowed Benzair to not be held accountable for corruption!

Who are you trying to kid here?
You not understanding the contitution or how a democracy functions is another matter.
Atleast do us the favor of sparing us these long winded replies in hopes to fool people into thinking you do!

:rotfl:Now you started same old ranting that I and many have answered 100s of time. Seems that even if Angel Jabrael (AS) would come to tell you facts, you will keep jumping to your ‘may na manu’ attitude. Bhai .. aap khush raho … aur bahkay raho :slight_smile: … because whatever you wrote is answered many times over and there is no point for me to dry my blood on it agian and again :slight_smile:

And the CJ did NOT challeneg the govt... When Mush govt deported NS back to Saudia in clear contempt of Court, did the Judiciary hold Mush accountable?

According to the constitution, the Judiciary should have held the Mush govt accountable for contempt of court...

The CJ challeneged the govt when they did things in violation of the contitution, and did things that were oviously intransparent and corrupt.

Thats because you never answer any of the question that are posed… Your Lying when you say you do… Your facts are NOT facts.. They are clear double standards…

You obviously have no point to make Saleem… So please dont argue when you have nothing to say… If you do, then answer the question in a concise manner…

1. Why are you willing to excuse the Mushie govt ocrruption, and not that of the percieved corruption of the Judiciary…

2. What evidence do you have against the CJ? What was he accused of?

3. If Mush govt is credited with not allowing corruption in the judiciary, why is he tolerant of the many corrupt individuals within his own govt, with the army itself, and even the late BB?!?!

You have no answer, just childish smilies… Can answer a single question posed to you? I doubt it.. So I rest my case. Fact is, your cornered and you have no defense…
Thusi wi Khush raho… Ignorance is bliss after all:):rotfl: :slight_smile: :rotfl: :slight_smile:

Actually, judiciary and their performance (including corruption) is part of Musharraf government ... and when I wrote that ex-CJ was corrupt, that also means that I accept that there was corrupt elements in Musharraf government.

I am not giving excuse to anyone. I believe that more people lost their jobs with clear evidence of corruption (not victimization) during Musharraf government than during any past governments that came to power in Pakistan.

2. What evidence do you have against the CJ? What was he accused of?

Biggest evidence is .. Iftikhar not contesting the allegations and running away from investigation. If he was not corrupt, he would have contested allegations and would not have run away from investigations. Rather, if he was not corrupt, once allegations became public (as even before reference, allegations got published in newspapers), Iftikhar should have gone on volunteer leave and should have asked SJC to investigate him.

Actually, some elements in reference is such that if they were not true than only an idiot would have put that in reference and if they were untrue than CJ would have laughed at it and would have contested it with confidence. ... For instance, admission and job for his Son, and his Son use of BMW in college when Iftikhar Son could not have got admission in medical college nor government job, and in Iftikhar salary his son could not have afforded BMW (clear sign of coruption).

Other allegations in reference was about him using protocols that he was not entitled to or allegations about his misconduct and behaviour. His using judge office to influence others around him and misusing his Judicial powers. ... well, there are many allegations that was obvious truth that any innocent would have contested.

Allegations were not such that they were vague, as vague allegation means a chance of victimization ... but most were obvious and straight forward allegations.

3. If Mush govt is credited with not allowing corruption in the judiciary, why is he tolerant of the many corrupt individuals within his own govt, with the army itself, and even the late BB?!?!

Well, judiciary is most important element of any government and if judiciary is corrupt, corruption cannot be tackled. If a government wants to reduce corruption in country, first institution has to be judiciary.

Public perception ... according to survey done by TI ... is that, judiciary in 2002 was 4th most corrupt institution of Pakistan .. that under Iftikhar became 3rd most corrupt institution. Shows that instead of judiciary getting less corrupt under Iftikhar, it became more corrupt.

As for corruption amongst politicians in Musharraf government, they are part of government and not employees as government servants (like CJ). When they do corruption, it is difficult to punish them. Most politicians do corruption in such subtle ways that it is difficult to prove and punish them. If they are found living beyond their means, they create ways to show their means (source of income), like businesses or farm income. It is difficult for government servants to do that as they have limits to what they can do.

That is the reason, BB and NS is still free in Pakistan. A military dictator may become brutal towards them but at high cost.

As for government servants, if they do corruption, it is easier to prove that and they can get easily punished too if government wants to. One easy way is to see if they are doing corruption is their living standards and what they could afford. A government servant if living beyond their means, they can (and should) be asked their source of income.

As Political corrupt governments does corruption with the help of civil servants, they never care about their corruption and do not punish them. But it is non-corrupt government like Musharraf government that has made life of these corrupt government servants difficult.

Nevertheless, as for corruption in army (as you mentioned earlier .. with reference to Ayesha Siddiqa) ... it is more a BS than truth. No doubt that there is corruption in army but that is negligible compare to civil services of Pakistan and amongst politicians.

As for AYesha Siddiqa, most she mentioned is Army spreading their financial interest in country. But if they are, than also it is not corruption, as that is making army as institution rich, not individuals. Anyhow, Ayesha Siddiqa figures are wrongs and many things she says are obvious BS.

I personally know quite a few army officers (even Generalsl) and also civil servants (many Secretary level). I know amongst both that many are not corrupts even when they had opportunity (financial condition of some really surprises me), but nevertheless, I can say with experience that people in military are less corrupts than civil servants (especially civil servants that got to good position after Z A Bhutto rule).

As for politicians, I have seen many but not seen many who were not corrupt. Except politicians of some parties that have not made money for themselves, because of fear of their own party ... most from traditional parties like PPP and PML, only used politics to become rich.

Saleem...
The Judiciary DOES NOT work for the govt... Clearly you know nothing of how a democratic govt works... Thats your first flaw, and pretty much destroys your whole argument...
The Judiciary functions to balance the power... If it is a servent of the executive, then who controls the Executive? The Judiciary is an INDEPENDANT insitution... Thats why we are all barking on and on about Judicial independance... The CJ is not liek Mushrafs driver. Mush is still accountable to the Supreme Court.. .That is why he has put in a rubber stamp Judiciary, so they can give him some sort of legitimacy.

You biggest evidence is NOT evidence... That is conjecture..
The point still remains that the CJ could NOT get a fair hearing because the SJC was comprised of partial judges...
Chamcha Dogar was supposed to be among those who would beon the SJC, and we all know he is bias. That was the reason why Aitazaz Ahsan questioned the legitimacy of the SJC, because he knew that it was filled with Mush loyalists with an axe to grinde with the CJ.
The Supreme Courts ROLE is to interpret the constitution, not yours.. It was within their powers to deem the SJC unapplicable in this case.
Mush thought that he could get away with these lame charges and the chamcha SJC would back him... Little did he know that Aitazaz Ahsan would pull the rug from under him.

And as you said youself, the charges against the Chief Justice were nonsense.. The Supreme Court thus made the right decsion in throwing out the case.
So the Supreme Court can NOT be considered to be corrupt as they actualy DID make the right decision!
You think they are bias, but the Supreme court has the CONSITUTIONAL RIGHT to interpret the constitution.

Again, the allegations WERE straight forwards, but as you said, they were nonsense... Victimization DOES come into play BECAUSE MUSHIES CHARGES ARE NONSENSE AND OTHER PEOPLE GUILTY OF WORSE ARE NOT HELD ACCOUNTABLE.

Judiciary is the most imp insitution... But the fact remains that the CJ did NOT abuse the power of the Judiciary. The CJ defended the poor, and he held people accountable.
You said yourself that the charges against the CJ were not really charges that were

And FYI, Public perception of the Judiciary is limited to lower courts... Lower Courts are admitidly corrupt... You fail to mention this point... We arent talking about the lower courts.

The question is whether the SC is corrupt... If it is, then its hardly mentionable, and their good deeds far out weigh the bad..

Again, this is a ridiculous point... THE CJ IS NOT AN EMPLOYEE OF THE GOVT. The CJ is a member of an independant branch of govt! Its called CHECKS AND BALANCES..
Mush may have a hard time punishing them, but why was it so easy for NAB to find corrupt policticans during the early days of his regime?
Fact is that Mush forgave the cooruption of people within his govt because he needed them to create the front of legitimacy..

And just because its difficult to prove cooruption among govt politicins (note: its usually the govt politicians who are the most diffcult to prove the corruption of.) doesnt mean that Mush is excused for not going after them...

BB and NS apparently stole Billions according to you, yet you excuse Mush for not trying to hold them accountable? Isnt it a bit suspicious that BB was suddenly cleared of all charges even though she stole Billions?

And the ARMY IS CORRUPT.. Ayesha Siddqa, even if 1 percent is true, still exposes the corruption of the military... Besides, everyone that doesnt agree with you is full of BS.

Just because you refuse to admit it or see it, doesnt mean its not there... Fact is that the Army is unaccountable, their corruption is often unseen...
Where exactly are the Billions of dollars spent on defense going? The Parliament has no say over the defense budget! Even the US is suspicious of where its billions of dollars were spent by the Pak Army..

Here again you contradict yourself... You think that the Judiciary should be held accountable and are corrupt if they arent in your perception... But the Military, which is beyond oversight, is not corrupt, even though just like the judiciary, they are unaccountable...

And by the way, why the double standard with Mush and the civilian govts.. If Mush can be excused for allowing corruption in his own govt, why are NS and BB not give the same liberty?

Im just trying to catch you in your own contradictions... And honestly buddy, you and the rest of the Mush supporters contradict yourselvs contantly...

Pakpatriot1: Judiciary does not work for the government. :hmmm:

You are right, judiciary do not work for government but works for me. I am boss of judiciary and it is not government that give them their salary and pension but I give them their salary and pension. It is not government that appoint judges but me. Now I remember that it was me who appointed CJ when he begged me for a job :). These judges are not government servants but my servants :whistling. Well, that idiot CJ thought that he is Boss so I have to show him who is boss, and thus showed him the door :smiley:

Yaar, you can certainly say nice jokes :omg:I like it, thanks :rotfl:.

i am looking for such data for so long. can you please guide me to some scholarly references?

thank you in advance :-)

Darn it.

First Mullah Jihadis were "ambushing" Musharraf's limo.
Now gays have joined in the fray.

Is there a connection between gays and Mullah Jihadis?

The govt can appoint judges, but that does NOT mean the judges WORK for the govt… Its a matter of checks and balances… The govt has the authority to appoint them, but the Judges are NOT beholdent o the Govt…

Its not my fault you dont understand how a democratic govt function or how checks and balances work…

The joke is on you buddy… Sorry to say…

The role of the Judiciary is to be an arbitrator and interpretor of the law… Its is supposed to be blind and impartial..
If the judiciary works for the govt, then how can they be impartial?

For your own sake, please, before you laugh, try to understand the basic role of the judiciary… Please read the following on role the US Supreme court plays in Amemrica, something similar to PAK. In the US the president also appoints judges, but he is still beholden to their verdicts and the supreme court is still considered the ultimate arbitrator of all constitutional issues.
http://usinfo.state.gov/products/pubs/democracy/dmpaper6.htm

may nay kaha na, judges do not work for government, judges work for me. Aap phir bhie khafa hou, kewn? :)

Now do not tell me in next post that judges do not work for me, because that would be funny. Obviously judges work for people who appoint them and pay their wages. Now I told you the secret that it is me who appoint them and pay them, so judges work for me, not government :)

Judges work for the constitution mera dost... The Judges are paid by a commontreasury that pays all branches of the govt.
The Judges are an impartial.. Their role is only to interpret laws... In Pakistan, the Supreme Court Actually plays a vital role in resolving issues that arrise between the other branches of govt.

You can be as sarcastic as you want, but that doesnt change the fact that you dont understand how govet works.

Again saleem, read the following…
http://usinfo.state.gov/products/pubs/democracy/dmpaper6.htm

Here is the role of PAK Judiciary according to this Wikipedia poster…
De Jure Power
The Supreme Court has the explicit, de jure power to block the exercise of certain Presidential reserve powers. For example, under Article 58, the President may dismiss the National Assembly (triggering new elections) but the dismissal is subject to Supreme Court approval. The Court also has the power to overturn presidential orders and parliamentary legislation by declaring such orders or laws to be unconstitutional.

Another example: article 17 of the Constitution states:

Every citizen, not being in the service of Pakistan, shall have the right to form or be a member of a political party, subject to any reasonable restrictions imposed by law in the interest of the sovereignty or integrity of Pakistan and such law shall provide that where the Federal Government declare that any political party has been formed or is operating in a manner prejudicial to the sovereignty or integrity of Pakistan, the Federal Government shall, within fifteen days of such declaration, refer the matter to the Supreme Court whose decision on such reference shall be final.

The Supreme Court thus provides, in principle, an important safeguard against the abuse of laws that have the potential to have politically repressive consequences

And who is a bigger idiot, someone who actually knows his role and does his job, or somone who doesnt even know what the role of judiciary is?!?!?

the word is **Junta **:-p

Saleem is a lost cause... Someone who thinks a democracy works by having the CJ work for the govt is obviously completely out of the loop...

He mentioned that perceptions of the people inform his judgemnt on the performance of Mushies govt.. Yet he ignores the perception of the 68 percent who no longer want Mush as president!

Absolutely right. It's amazing how people forget the reality. :)