Musharraf: "I am ready to 'serve' the nation again"

Interview to private Indian News Channel programme ‘seedhi baat’ (08 March)

warns any ‘surgical strikes’ by India on Pakistani soil could spark a war between the nuclear-armed neighbours.

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2009\03\09\story_9-3-2009_pg1_6

In an interview with a private TV channel, he said it was not possible for anyone to guarantee there would be no terrorist attacks in India. **“Eight bomb attacks have taken place in India in 2008, and an Indian magazine wrote that six of them were carried out by locals,” he said. “In such a situation, how do they seek guarantee from us?”
He called for joint investigations into last year’s Mumbai terror attacks, but added that the chief of the Pakistani Inter-Services Intelligence agency should not visit India.

The former president stressed the need for the resolution of the Kashmir issue in line with the aspirations of the people of Kashmir, saying it was the root cause of terrorism. He demanded allowing the free movement of Kashmiri people and free trade across the Line of Control. Atrocities against Muslims and other minorities in India were also causes of terrorism, he said. “Hindus are living peacefully in Pakistan,” Musharraf told the channel.

In another interview, the former president said he was ready to take the office again if the need arose, but would want to become “a useful and contributing” president. Musharraf also said he was ready to play his role in improving relations between the two countries.

The ISI and RAW could not be disbanded, the former president said, adding that they were guarding their national interests. He said the Indian media only criticised the ISI. He said extremism in Indial-held Kashmir started after India had started torturing Kashmiris.

He said Pakistan and India could play their role in the development of international economy only after resolving mutual disputes. “Pakistan and India have been suffering for the last 60 years because of these disputes,” he said. online/daily times monitor

Re: Musharraf: "I am ready to 'serve' the nation again"

I have a feeling we might be seeing a big change in the next couple weeks or so...maybe martial law?

I hope not, Pakistan deserves Zardari-Sharif to rule over it.

Ready again? 8 years were not enough to damage Pakistan? He is just another George Bush (jr) thinking he did great for Pakistan (US in case of Bushy) in his era.

Martial law is unlikely, but a change is likely. Could be a repeat of 1993 or simply ouster of President, banning of Sharif's participation (atleast Nawaz's) in any elections/political rallies (I really hope).

Very good first and second part of the interview. However, he totally got screwed in the third one. It was nothing but all lie. Posing himself as the one who doesnt have any ego, claiming that he gave the "actual" democracy are few of the things that are totally opposite of what we saw in last 2-3 years of his era.

I really hope he wont come back to rule again after the 9 "big" years.
About his wish to be the president AGAIN, I can only say:

"Chut-ti nahi hai mun se ye kaafir lagi hwi................ "

so he has all go ahead from america? it will be nightmare

thanks but no thanks :)

people here also should watch India Today conclave he participated in, he talked in there for more than two hours answering questions from Indian intellectuals, businessmen and politicians,

the last question that was asked in the conclave was by former Indian army chief who asked him what India should do to help Pakistan in this time of crises for Pakistan in battling militancy in its western borders and within Pakistan, he said Indian army should help Pakistan army in defeating the terrorists, Pakistan people should watch this because when your leaders come to India they speak differently openly without any political pressure.

Mashallah. Good to hear there is still hope if the current experiment fails.

Re: Musharraf: “I am ready to ‘serve’ the nation again”

main to kehtahoon
imran khan sadr bun jaye or shabaz shareef prime minister. . .maza a jayee :@:
then u ll see pakistan grow .. .:k:

He is right though! Our differences aside who do you think “they” will come for once they get past us!!! :slight_smile:

Someone please put a muzzle on this mutt, seriously asking the indian army for help.

funny thing is he seeks help every one but ppl of pakistan!

Because he knows jaahil mentality of pakistani people

Musharraf: "I am ready to 'serve' the nation again"

Kakaballi: "I am president Obama"

Yes, you me and Musharraf are not Pakistani people :biggthumb

Some of us have evolved through education and logical reasoning. The common awaam hasn't and we all know that too be fact.

Good point .. and unfortunately sooo true. Especially in the last few years of his tenure he was so adamant doing it, that he lost track and forgot that Pakistani people are also something whom he was supposed to take care..

And I guess he is not the only one. Whoever comes in power just loves to go away from the people while still tries his best to be in rule forever.. One of the many reasons of Pakistan's deteriorated state right now.

that can be put on a very good use!!!!
only if any of ruler had some vision. :(

Could not agree with you more. First he wanted to be indian movie hero, he executed kargil operation.
When him self came to power started kissing india's Butt.

India is where he belongs!!!!