Musharraf and next General Election

Truth behind NRO is more to do with politics than reality and those that could not understand this simple fact are just too naive.

Fact is that, even today many politicians are leaving their political parties to stand behind President (even politicians from ANP and MMA). If president was unpopular in the country and there was chance that BB would be next prime minister, these people (from ANP and MMA) would not have gone to support President rather politicians in presidential party (and allies) would have started abandoning President’s Bandwagon. To think that President would abandon those who are supporting him and would favour BB is also having illusive dreams.

Here is News from Dawn. Though title is misleading as it does not say much, one can read the news to know that there is no change of heart or partnership between President and those parties who are at present in the government. So, if there is no such change, it is obvious that conflicting statements coming from different sides are political in nature. Same happened before Presidential election when some PML(Q) started openly saying that they would not vote for President but when voting time came, all voted for President.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/10/26/top5.htm

Nawaz not to return before polls: Musharraf

By Ahmed Hassan

ISLAMABAD, Oct 25: President Pervez Musharraf said on Thursday that former prime minister Nawaz Sharif would not return before the general elections, rejecting reports about his expected homecoming soon.

He said the ruling Pakistan Muslim League and its allies were in a position to win the elections and the next prime minister would be from the PML.

Addressing about 170 legislators of the party, including federal ministers, at a dinner at the Prime Minister’s House, the president said: “You have been supporting me for the last five years and you will not be disappointed by me in the days to come.

“I am with you and it is my heartiest desire that you win elections and form the government.”

Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz, PML president Chaudhry Shujaat Hussain, secretary-general Mushahid Hussain Sayed and Sindh and Balochistan chief ministers were present, but Punjab Chief Minister Chaudhry Parvaiz Elahi was not there.

Qari Gul Rahman, an MMA dissident, and Shahabuddin Khan of the Awami National Party, who voted for Gen Musharraf in the presidential election, attended the dinner and were greeted by the participants.

The president denied reports that the local bodies would be dissolved before the polls on the demand of certain parties.

He said the reconciliation process had been initiated to end the tug of war between political parties and it was proceeding well, Minister of State for Information Senator Tariq Azeem told Dawn.

Gen Musharraf said that foreign experts would not be involved in the investigation of the October 18 blasts in Karachi. “Our own experts are competent enough to undertake this task and they have done it in the past.”

In reply to a question regarding Ms Bhutto’s statement about Dr Abdul Qadeer Khan, he said: “No-one will be allowed access to the nuclear scientist and anyone desirous of questioning him will have to do so through Pakistani officials.”

He also denied that foreign troops would be allowed to intrude into Pakistan’s tribal areas to attack militants and extremists and terrorists.

Speaking on the occasion, Prime Minister Aziz congratulated the president on winning the election and said that even if opposition parties had participated in the process, Gen Musharraf would have polled the same 57 per cent votes of the electoral college.

Earlier, the president had an informal meeting with some senior members of the PML, including Balochistan Chief Minister Jam Mohammad Yousuf and Sindh Chief Minister Arbab Ghulam Rahim Khan, to brief them on measures he was taking for reconciliation with the PPP and other parties.

He discussed with them the electoral strategy, petitions pending in the Supreme Court, security situation and the formation of an interim set-up, sources said.

Re: Musharraf and next General Election

if PMLQ win the elections i wonder who will they nominate as PM, i hope not shujaat, i hope shukat aziz will remain there.

Lets say that NRO was a political stunt.... what about removing rule of no more than 2 terms?

Does it matter? We all know whose running the show, and as far as PML Q(lotaz) Shujaat owns Shortcut Aziz.

Yup the president is so popular that he had to ban one opposition leader from coming back, suck up to another to save his kursi and he knows very well that in a free and fair election PML(Q) will not win even one seat and the president himself instead of getting 95% votes would struggle to get 0.95% of the vote. Dont believe it, hold a free and fiar election.

Brother, try to understand. Be logical … how can you accuse President that he suck up to BB to save his kursi? Did he needed BB votes to get elected as President? Did PPP voted him to get elected as President? Do you think that the situation was that if all opposition, including PPP had put up a consensus candidate to contest against Musharraf he would have lost the election. You should remember that Musharraf got around 57 percent of the votes, whereas even if remaining 43 percent of votes (that included all PPP votes) would have gone to ‘consensus candidate from opposition’ contesting against Musharraf, still that candidate would have lost the Presidential election and Musharraf would have won.

If President had made deal with BB to stay as President, why he did not changed the constitution before Presidential election. Certainly he could have got the constitution changed. PPP = 55 seats plus government party (PML(Q) and allies) = 201 seats, thus making total NA seats = 256 out of 342 or 75 percent of NA votes, more than enough seats required (66.7 percent of the vote) to change the constitution and make everything clear for Musharraf to contest the election and win.

*Presidential result shows that President had enough voters supporting him to get elected as President again. Only obstacle (that many are objecting) is that if constitution allows President to contest election in uniform or not. If there was deal with PPP, than President could have used Jiyala MNA votes to get this clause changed in constitution. President Musharraf did not used ‘PPP (BeNazeer jiyala) MNAs’ to change the constitution even though there was/is ambiguity in constitution regarding Musharraf Presidential election, than what does that show? It clearly shows that President did not made deal to stay as President. *

[If you still believe that there was deal than tell us why President did not get the constitution changed regarding his presidential election, so that all get clear for him?]

As for your calling 57 percent votes as 95 percent votes, it only shows that you are victim of propaganda misinformation that opposition has spread. I am not saying that a person cannot get 95 percent of votes (I would love to see President getting 95 percent votes), but nevertheless, what is truth is truth.

If there are 100 voters and voters know that someone (who is popular contestant) contesting election has solid support of 60 percent voters, than they boycott the election and thus ‘popular contestant’ got 60 percent of cast votes, whereas no one stood against the ‘popular contestant’ or stood but voters that oppose the ‘popular contestant’ boycotted the election, than it does not mean that ‘popular contestant’ who won got 60 percent of the vote got 100 percent of voters vote, it means he got 60 percent of voters vote, or 100 percent of cast votes. In this case, we can say that 40 percent of the voters facing defeat just boycotted the election.

As for letting BB come to Pakistan, it was done so that no one after next election could say that since BB was not in the country, PML(Q) won the election and thus in this way, it was rigged election (even though that would not be rigged election). After next election, I believe that PPP would not be able to get more than 50 NA seats. Anyhow, if that would happen, than I hope that PPP won’t say that election was rigged because their leader was not allowed to come to Pakistan, as BB would be in Pakistan too :)

As for NS not getting allowed, that happened because NS left Pakistan on condition that he would not come back to Pakistan until after 10 years. NS should learn to honour his promises and if he cannot, he should not let to get away with it. Politicians like him are used to getting away from fulfilling their promises to their voters, but this dumb politician also wants to hoodwink two governments, that is government of Saudi Arabia (who trusted NS) and Pakistan (who gave good gesture to Saudi request and let NS leave Pakistan).

^^
Anothrr thing to remember is that, if president is shedding his uniform, in reality he does not need to. If President decides he can stay chief of army as well as President, constitutionally.

At moment President has 201 members of Parliament in ruling coalition (it could be higher, as I believe few more have joined in). To change the constitution, government needs 228 members of Parliament. That means 27 more members of parliament required. If government really do deal with PPP, than they can easily get requirement members.

On the other hand, this can be done even without taking any help from PPP (BB). MMA has 57 members and PML (N) has 16 MNAs. After accepting resignation of all, plus Imran Khan lone seats and seats of other minor parties, there are enough seats in NA to grab by the government to increase their number by more then 27 required NA seats to change constitution. So, there are all options with President Musharraf, even if they don’t care for PPP.

According to which constitution (years modified to for this provision)?

If president is shedding his uniform, in reality he does not need to. If President decides he can stay chief of army as well as President, constitutionally

Who can decifer this?

Bhai, it would be nice if you had read the whole post or should not have commented :). I did not write that he can keep the uniform according to present constitution as it stands. I wrote that 'If' Musharraf desires [zoor kiss per hua? ‘If’ per :)]. IF president wants to, he can stay army chief and stay president constitutionally. For that, of course constitution need to get changed and for that, President needs 228 MNAs (2/3 of MNAs) to change the constitution.

At moment government has 201 (probably 203 MNAs) in coalition. Government needs 25 more NA votes, and after many resignations they can declare emergency and try to win that 25 seats. On the other hand, if they want to make deal with PPP, they can do that and get required votes as PPP has 55 MNAs.

That is why I wrote that President does not need to shed his chief of army post. If President wants to stay as chief of army, he can. He can deal with PPP or go for another option that exists (as I mentioned above). It all means that, President is not interested to stay as army chief, else to keep the uniform he would have gone for the option of getting constitution changed.

Saleem sahib you can spin it all you like the bottom line:

He threw out NS and now is sucking upto BB for one reason only: to hold on to his kursi because he is not popular at all. And no I didn't read your reply, I don't have the patience.

Yahee tou kamaal kee baat hay … Have no patience and thus make opinion after missing the truth :slight_smile: Iss ke tou jawab kaheen nahie hay :blush:

The proof of he pudding is in the eating. Hold free and fair elections under a neutral got and independent election commission and the result will come as a shock to you as PMLQ and Musharraf get wiped off the face of Pakistan.

BB is given that freedom to come to Pakistan so that PPP can say that election was fair and free. I hope that PPP would say that election was free even after loosing next election ...well, that is what I hope though I cannot count on that :)

Pakistan is funny country where people believe that one can shoot an enemy plane flying high and coming to bomb them, by pointing finger on that plane (or pointing I don’t know what :)).

Imran got elected because government did all to get him elected and he believes that election was not fair and free because his party only got one seats (he started dreaming of many zeros in front of his one seat). MMA had best result they could expect in history, they got lucky, still they think that election was not fair and free. Before election they were probably expecting to get 10 seats, but when ended with 57, they started thinking that election was not fair and dreaming that if election would have been fair, they would have got 342 out of 342 seats :)

Qazi always dreams of million on the road, but when times come, he finds that he is on the road with his wife and daughter, while all have deserted him. Nawaz was declaring that million people would come to receive him but when he landed in Pakistan, there was that lone bird flying sky high, and when that bird saw him, bird started looking for that famous bald head to Sh*t on it (seems NS even disappointed the bird :)).

Someone told BB that Pakistan got over 16 billion dollars in reserve, so she started thinking that to get hand on that, be a bit more original. She started tangoing with NS and anyone she can think of that could help her, with intention to use them, clean her …, and then flush them in toilet. NS was her first victim. She went to USA and bought anyone she can amongst western policy makers (paying them from money she looted from Pakistan earlier). After all those drama on world stage, she came to Pakistan to show her colour. Let see what she can do this time.

Are you saying that the Munshi government had rigged the election to get him elected?

Pata nahi ... Imran won with around 4000 votes (or so) against PML(Q) candidate. Both got between 60000 to 70000 votes. (I have seen the figures but I have not got exact figures at the moment). There is accusation that PML(Q) candidate was made to lose the election in favour of Imran Khan. Wallah Alaam :)

It means Imran is right if he says that the elcetions were rigged. :rotfl:

Possible :slight_smile: .. Actually I got the result now:

Imran won by 6000 votes, not 4000 … my apology :). I am not sure about on how many seats he contested, but he did contested on NA seat 15 where he got around 9000 votes and was fourth.

This is very interesting.

Don't be surprised if Imran loses his seat at the next General Elections.