I think my last comment will be... that you don't really have control over your feelings. Its natural. Even Islam recognizes that. You can deny them but you can't eliminate them. So only when you actually go through the experience will it be clear how to deal with it. Till then its just a theoretical exercise. :)
Faisal bhai aap ne bhee indian filmon waali baatein karna shuru kar deen?
“Is Dil pe koi zor naheen” / “Dil To Pagal Hai” ? ![]()
I tend to disagree. I think Islam tells us to do jihad-e-nafs and bring our actions and then thoughts and finally feelings under our control ![]()
Khayr, its 6:30am, gona catch some sleep ![]()
wa salam
This following hadith seems appropriate, but on a side note this doesnt give the right to start ‘halal dating’ or whatever else people come up with.
The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “We do not think there is anything better for two who love one another than marriage.” Narrated by Ibn Maajah, classed as saheeh by al-Albaani in Saheeh Ibn Maajah, 1847.link
Thats fine. Experience tells us a lot of things about ourselves, and not everyone is built the same way either. So, we’ll wait and see. ![]()
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Thats fine. Experience tells us a lot of things about ourselves, and not everyone is built the same way either. So, we'll wait and see. :-)
Faisal bhai I guess I should clarify that I have not always adhered to what I have said in this thread, these were just my views about how Islam approaches this issue :)
M - jazakallah
Allah :swt: Himself realizes that people will have feelings of liking for each other and Allah :swt: mentions this in the Quran…However there are certain criteria to be observed (as per the Quran) regarding the two people, i.e. never agree to meet in private someplace and not break the rules of Mehram Na-Mehram etiquettes which are to be observed at all times…
As for the Quran mentioning this in it, :insha: I will search for it soon enough, and :insha: will post it up…
Found it (Phew!)
**[2:235]
YUSUFALI: There is no blame on you if ye make an offer of betrothal or hold it in your hearts. Allah knows that ye cherish them in your hearts: But do not make a secret contract with them except in terms Honourable, nor resolve on the tie of marriage till the term prescribed is fulfilled. And know that Allah Knoweth what is in your hearts, and take heed of Him; and know that Allah is Oft-forgiving, Most Forbearing.
PICKTHAL: There is no sin for you in that which ye proclaim or hide in your minds concerning your troth with women. Allah knoweth that ye will remember them. But plight not your troth with women except by uttering a recognised form of words. And do not consummate the marriage until (the term) prescribed is run. Know that Allah knoweth what is in your minds, so beware of Him; and know that Allah is Forgiving, Clement.
SHAKIR: And there is no blame on you respecting that which you speak indirectly in the asking of (such) women in marriage or keep (the proposal) concealed within your minds; Allah knows that you win mention them, but do not give them a promise in secret unless you speak in a lawful manner, and do not confirm the marriage tie until the writing is fulfilled, and know that Allah knows what is in your minds, therefore beware of Him, and know that Allah is Forgiving, Forbearing.
[17:32]
YUSUFALI: Nor come nigh to adultery: for it is a shameful (deed) and an evil, opening the road (to other evils).
PICKTHAL: And come not near unto adultery. Lo! it is an abomination and an evil way.
SHAKIR: And go not nigh to fornication; surely it is an indecency and an evil way.
Love is a recognized emotion in Islam and Allah :swt: knows whom you love and desire…He created you damnit…How can He not know…
But however you go about it, make sure you follow the guidelines and make sure that you do not trespass…
Bingo!
Al-Mughirah ibn Shu'bah said: "I was engaged to a woman during the time of the Prophet (saw). He asked me, 'Have you seen her?' I said, 'No.' He said, 'Go and have a look at her, because it is more fitting that love and compatibility be established between you.'" (Sunan al Nisai)
Qur'an: "And those who pray, "Our Lord! Grant unto us wives and offspring who will be the comfort of our eyes, and give us (the grace) to lead the righteous." (25:74)
Qur'an: "And among His signs is this, that He created for you mates from among yourselves, that ye may dwell in tranquillity with them, and He has put love and mercy between your (hearts): verily in that are Signs for those who reflect." (30:21)