Mullahs should be ashamed: Blackhawks Bring Aid to Kashmir

These Mullahs love to take pot shots at US army. The same army has now sent Sergeant Cory McFadden to help the victims in Frontier and Kashmir. Off course these MAToos will find some other way to belittle this heroic effort.

Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2005
Blackhawks Bring Aid to Kashmir
Earthquake relief has diverted helicopters from U.S. combat missions in Afghanistan
By TIM MCGIRK/MANSEERA

http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1116768,00.html

Blackhawk gunner Sergeant Cory McFadden knows the border with Pakistan as a place where you are likely to get shot at. Taliban and al-Qaeda fighters are hidden in the mountains below, often armed with armor-piercing rounds that can penetrate the skin of his helicopter. But last Monday night, McFadden and his crew joined a small aerial armada of U.S. choppers heading towards this dangerous borderland—without guns.

“I couldn’t help but look down, searching for bad guys,” says McFadden. “I mean, every day we’re getting shot at.” The gunner knows a thing or two about that. Over the past three years, he and his crew have done back-to-back combat duty tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. But this was different. McFadden and his crew were sent on a humanitarian mission, and that’s why the Blackhawk was stripped of its two machine guns.

In response to last Saturday’s earthquake in northern Pakistan, the U.S. military commanders in Afghanistan quickly diverted eight helicopters—cargo-lifting twin-engine Chinooks and sleek Blackhawks—to help with relief work in the Pakistani Himalayas.

Helicopters offer the only means of reaching mountain villages and hamlets stranded by rockslides and the ultra-maneuverable Blackhawk is ideal for threading up the winding river courses at the bottom of narrow and steep valleys. McFadden and the others carried out as many missions as they could between daybreak to sundown. They were grounded temporarily on Tuesday afternoon when thunder and hail lashed the region. Otherwise, they have constantly ferried foreign rescue workers up into the mountains to dig for survivors in villages that melted away like sand castles when the earthquake hit. McFadden and his colleagues dumped out tents, medical supplies and food to desperate mobs of survivors who lunged into the chopper, fighting each other for the relief bundles. Some Pakistani officials say that several times, desperate survivors denied a place on a crowded chopper tried clinging to the runners of the bird as it lifted off, nearly causing a crash.

The new mission comes at a difficult time for U.S. commanders in Afghanistan: Pakistan needs American choppers for rescue work, but the war against the Taliban is back on the boil and U.S. casualties are mounting. So the same choppers are needed for combat missions back in Afghanistan, too. Says one Kabul-based U.S. official, “We’ve sliced away some of our capacity in Afghanistan. So far, it hasn’t impeded the war on terror—but it will if it goes past another ten days.”

But U.S. choppers will be needed in Pakistan for a lot longer than ten days. Pakistani officials who have seen the devastation in these mountain valleys say the death toll could surpass 50,000, and many thousands more have been injured and left homeless. Most likely, says one U.S. military source, McFadden and the others will return to their perilous combat duties in Afghanistan, and other choppers will be diverted to Pakistan from U.S. bases and aircraft carriers in the Gulf, where they are serving as vital backup to the Iraq war. That would put yet another burden on the U.S.'s thinly stretched resources in its two battle theaters of Iraq and Afghanistan. “Fixing Pakistan is going to take a while,” one U.S. army official remarked ruefully.

Re: Mullahs should be ashamed: Blackhawks Bring Aid to Kashmir

Oo bhai-

Why do you promote even i single sole event by these americans and do not consider the work ulema are doing -

Some inherent problem i belive-- :)

MAToo Qazi is on record rejecting help from USA. His beardo weirdo attitude towards the world and other people is sickening. Sure he is sending trucks to Kashmir. However the heroic efforts of the US GIs for airlifting injured and supplies should be highlighted. Few others could have done their jobs. All those US soldiers and the international rescue teams need to be awarded with highest order of medals by Pak government.

Consider this help as a rapist offering candies to his victam--

Always keep in mind what your friends did in Afghanistan and Iraq in recent years-
Ever heard the word * Diversion*---

We appreciate what every one is doin- but this should not stop us supporting the fellow muslims in these countries..

I wish all american GI get * Nishan e HAider * as it is given after death --- :)

^^^ lol.. lol..

ok on a serious note. yes we do need to appreciate wat americans are doin.. bt did u really know wat actually went on???

the reason y americans first gave $100,000 was becuse it was aid.. u know.. or we can also say that they didnt know how big the situation was..

but the reason of increasing the aid and givin help 100% was actually their greatest chance too.. u know.. win hearts and minds of pakis.. their intention is political mostly.. bt then.. we shdunt judge once intention..

Allah hafiz

^ We are not judging them by thier intentions but by their actions in other countries-

haha...antiobl,america provided helicopters which were nothing but "atay mein namak bay barabar" or "camel kay mouth mein zeeray kay barabar"...dont applaud america without any valid reason....there r countries which have provided much more help then america...y u dont start threads for these countries???

coz we hav problems with america and india mostly.. thats y wen eva they do sumfin good.. we praise them...

Yeap! I am truly sad that Americans closed down schools in Afghanistan. I am also angry that these American GIs used to beat up Afghan women in the bazaar. These Americans are so heartless that they bombed Afghan heritage in Bamiyan. They also killed thousands of Tajiks and Uzbeks in Mazare-Sharif.

Right! The only problem with this story is that American GIs were bearded MAToos. Is it possible? Off course in Arrabob mind, every band things comes from USA, and the well spring of every good thing is right there in the Ben-la-Deen’s behind.

Oh Baboo! Read what your one-eyed MAToos was doing to afghanistan.

antiobl

while the political leaders such as qazi are thugs I can nto stand, the fact remains that the religious groups were aming the first to rush to help, and are successfully running field hospitals, have started using madrasaa facilities as shelters and are mobilised en masse to do what is needed. This used to be the spirit of groups like Ji before they got into politics, and it appears that the workers have rediscovered that.

I have never been a fan of MMA on politics side, and dont think I will ever be, but the good work that those groups are doing and have been doing for the diaster relief can not be belittled or ignored.

true. but their influence on politics is pernicious. this is bound to increase it and speed up the creeping talibanisation.

if they are saving lives let them save lives. if as a result some ppl give MMA votes later than that is okay...we have MQM folks there too with huge banners in the medical camps saying "kahmriri bhaiyon UR BRHNON KAY LIYE ALTAF BHAI KI JANAB SAY" ETC ETC// oops caps got pressed..but hey let them save lives, if as a result ppl start liking or disliking a party that is their choice.

what the other option, prevent these guys from providing aid?

wht the hell is tabalization>?...these talibans who used to our best friend before 9/11 suddenly became such a big enemy tht we can afraid of these taliban people without sensible reason...
religious groups r doing great job..infact every party and people belonging to diff fields r contributing alot...but still some people will..

Yes Talibaboos have gone to hell already.

No Talibaboos were “NOT OUR BEST FRIENDS”. Our friendship was gone the day they became Ben-La-Deens agents and stopped our efforts to build the pipelines. 9/11 or no, Talibaboos and Pakistan had divorced each other.

Mr fraudia-

I totaly agree with you-nice and balanced reply

antiobl-

The thing inside you is unfortunately unrepairable- You are not to be take seriously-

bao bihari, I try to be objective, while i ahe never been fan of JI politics.. there is no way their good work can be ignored. especially not with what they are doing right now.

"....... have to be hounded and punished"

"It is there collective stance in favor of ........... in the world that is bad."

the above sounds like some real fundo talk.....keep it on Anti, the MAtoo have achived their goal you are starting to talk like them

and yes when ever they killed these minorities,they sent u a call....

anti lulla,tell me where the hell ahmedis or christians have been killed??.....and abt shias,they r responsible for their own destruction....
y dont u talk abt american terrorism against muslims??...

^^ We just lost 6 of our finest soldiers. As their helicopter went down. Let's pray for their soul and their families.

^ They are Shaheed, may Allah bless them