Mullahs Mad at Musharraf- (the triple MMM)-Verizon/Split in MMA-MadSci

Now the question knowing that it is unconstitutional to keep both posts should he? Is it good for the country? Why are only the islamic parties ticked off about this? And a last question: Has he done a good job with Pakistan?

Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf has addressed the nation on television to confirm that he will stay on as head of the army.
Gen Musharraf also accused his opponents of “threatening democracy”.

He had earlier promised to give up the army role by the end of this year, while retaining the presidency.

“I have decided to retain both offices… any change in internal or external policies can be extremely dangerous for Pakistan,” he said.

Opposition

The Pakistani parliament passed a controversial bill in November allowing Gen Musharraf to keep his dual role as president and army chief.

In his address, he accused opponents of trying to make political capital from the uniform issue.

They have been staging protests in recent months, calling on him to leave the military.

Hardline Islamist parties have led the protests.

The president had made a deal with them to step down as army chief. In return they did not oppose a series of constitutional changes at the beginning of the year.

Some legal experts had said the November law could not override the requirement to step down and that the general was bound by the constitution.

But Gen Musharraf has said 96% of Pakistanis want him to stay as head of the army.

He came to power in a bloodless coup in 1999 and has since become a key player in the US-led “war on terror”.

His term as president expires in 2007.

Re: Mullahs Mad at Musharraf- (the triple MMM)

*Originally posted by Verizon: *
But Gen Musharraf has said 96% of Pakistanis want him to stay as head of the army.

I couldn’t resist, it’s known as Bshar-Husni-Saddam-Syndrome (BHS), and our President Musharaf is suffering from the same illness. They also think that they have 99.99% of peoples support….and since President Musharaf is new to this syndrome he thinks his support base is 96%.

ah, but you forget. The coup was bloodless. What does this say about Mushy babu?

To be quite honest, if Fazloo Rehman bhai is his opposition, I say let Musharraf be the leader of Pakistan for LIFE.

Or at least until Fazloo chokes on his heavy diet of Chicken Tikka and Kababs.

fazloo's is wearing very disco paggars these days, has he been made over by queer eye for the stright guy?

Is this fazloo guy maulana Diesel?

by the pagris he is sporting these days he looks less of mullahy "diesel" and more of mullah "docle and Gabbana" if ya know what I mean mate..

sorry couldn't resist that one :)

MMA cracks showing over Musharraf Uniform

Sandwich Sami’s breaking ranks - what impact could this have? He’s using some pretty strong words here…

http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_2-1-2005_pg1_3

Maulana Samiul Haq, chief of his own Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam faction, announced on Saturday that he supports General Pervez Musharraf and was against protests at the president’s position as army chief.

Sami said this while speaking to a private television channel, APP reported. The JUI-Sami is part of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, a six-party alliance of religious parties, that made the call for protests against Gen Musharraf. The announcement is likely to hasten the parties exit from the MMA.

Also on Saturday, the Central Council of the JUI-S expelled its MNA from Karachi, Qari Gul Rahman, and the minister of law in the NWFP government, Ayaz Khan, for violating party policies. The decision was taken at a meeting of the council chaired by Sami.

Qari Rahman, who was elected to the National Assembly from the Keamari area of Karachi, and Ayaz Khan had defied party discipline by attending MMA meetings.

Qazi Abdul Latif, the vice president of the JUI-S, said that two parties in the MMA were trying to sideline the JUI-S in the MMA and they must resolve the matter of JUI-S appointments in the provincial governments in the NWFP and Balochistan.

Latif did not take their names, but he was referring to the two biggest parties in the MMA, the JUI-Fazl and the Jamaat-e-Islami.

To a question, he said the MMA was formed to protect Pakistan’s Islamic ideology and to restore the 1973 Constitution. If MMA leaders concentrated on these two points, issues such as the president’s uniform would not have arisen.

Talking to a Daily Times correspondent in Karachi over the phone, Mufti Osman Yar Khan, deputy secretary of the party, said that Qari Rehman and Ayaz Khan had been warned several times not to attend MMA meetings.

Mufti Osman accused the Jamaat-e-Islami and JUI-F of “misguiding” its party members, which was tantamount to horse-trading. “On the one hand both parties protest against the autocratic rule of President Musharraf, and on the other they behave in a dictatorial manner themselves,” he said.

Mufti Osman said that the JUI-S had “expelled” the JUI-F and JI from the MMA because they had been working against the agenda agreed by the component parties of the alliance upon its formation.

To a question, he said that his party did not support the protests against President Musharraf’s decision to continue holding his army chief post. “Our efforts are aimed at restoring the 1973 Constitution,” he said. Qari Rahman was not available for comment.

I think MMA & good for nothing PPPP+PML(N) should stop their protests...besides it's only 2 years between 2007 & now...MMA already has NWFP & Baluchistan governments & their mayor in Karachi...MMA should build their support in Punjab,where they are too weak & come back in 2007...PPPP is controlling Sindh....Musharraf's support i guess is currently coming from PML(J) who is controlling almost all Punjab along with NA in Southern Punjab...

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
Or at least until Fazloo chokes on his heavy diet of Chicken Tikka and Kababs.

Correction, it consists of Halwa.

Interesting responses but missing the answers to questions that I posted in my initial post.
I like the General but don't know what is it that makes the Islamists (pardon the choice of word but it is a comon word these days)all in huff.
As far as the answering the questions:

a:Now the question knowing that it is unconstitutional to keep both posts should he?
Yes he should, Pakistani constitution has been trampled before why stop now.
b:Is it good for the country?
Yes not only that its good for the country its good for U.S and for the region to have someone like Musharraf.
c:Why are only the islamic parties ticked off about this?
Islamists would rather see a weak pakistan, whatever their reasoning is.
d:And a last question: Has he done a good job with Pakistan?
I think he has done a stupendous job. He should not give up his post actually I think heshould mend the consitution even more and stay longer than 2007.

This is a bitter pill that MMA would ultimately be asked to swallow. Unless all the major parties support MMA, there is no way its ever going to be successful in its country wide protests. While this is a blatant lie and exagerration that over 96% people support Musharraf, there is no denying the fact that he still command respect and support of many people and above all he is powerful enough to over ride all such demands by the opposition. But that still doesn't mean that he should take undue advantage of his powerful position.

It seems that the only point of contention and issue worth discussing is that o the uniform and all other matters pertaining to the country have become secondary. One wants to grab th power the other wants to hold onto the power. Its jus that 'cuz we do not have a powerful democratic base and forces that this agitation spearheaded by MMA seems to be in disarray even before it has started.

We have ideally speaking two routes...
1) Pervaiz Musharraf relinquishing his uniform ( I wonder how that would jeopardize the security of our country. I support him wholeheartedly but it would be great to see for once a general not going back on his words and keeping up his promises).
2) Let him rule till 2007 while the other parties consolidate their power base.

I think people are missing an element to this conversation, Musharraf made a promise to the nation he would shed his uniform after december 2004 ..constitutionally while he may have passed a bill through both offices of parliament..it has no validity and that much was said so by the man who negotiated the agreement between him S M Zafar..

The argumentbehind toppling Nawaz Sharif, was that the system had failed and we had to trust Musharraf the individual and the army as an institution..on the promise to restore democracy. 5 years later what have we seen.. Musharrafs word means nothing ..when he promised democracy he was lying..when he promised accountability he was lying...

In the end why does Mush need the uniform..it's not because he is scared of political parties..it's because he is scared of the Army..after all Yahya, Ayub and probably Zia were all ousted by their own people.

Re: Mullahs Mad at Musharraf- (the triple MMM)-Verizon/Split in MMA-MadSci

So are the mullah still pissed or did they forget the uniform while we were being upgraded

the only time MMA types are not pissed off is when they are in power..

The world, Pakistan’s position and what is at stake has changed considerably in 5 years, and as circumstances change, steps must be taken to address those.

and whether he wants to protect the status quo from other military officers, or from political parties, what is at stake is much higher than just his post, and like the man or not, right now stability and adherence to current strategy needs to be maintained.

^^:clap:

See the fallacy in this argument is simple..stability doesn’t come from a uniform..it comes from steting up systems which work. the current strategy is simply a cross between Ayub Khans and Zia ul Haqs..the legacy of which Pakistan will be living with for years to come… to give corrupt politicians their credit..at least they don’t pretend to not want power the way our generals do..

The fallacy of argument would be real and not just theroetical is if we had systems that worked. I agree with you, but what needs to be in place while one is “setting up systems that work” ?

so we can have issues with the speed at which the systems that work are being set up, however..unless the systems are ready, can you go on them? and no they dont have to be 100% perfect, or close..but atleast be able to function properly.

I am not a fan of military in political leadership role, but in the absence of a system that works, its a decent option considering the current situations being faced by Pakistan.

and the fact that systems dont work are not all musharraf’s fault, although i hoped he would fix the mess at a faster pace, but its an ongoing legacy, which took decades to get us to where we are, and it may take more than just a few years to sort the mess.

I think Fraudz you are missing the point...Musharraf isn't interested in fixing the system. Most of his actions in the last 3 years since the referendum have weakened it even further.

Every Army dictator has come in saying they will fix up the system and they in turn have left a legacy far worse (Ayub/Bangladesh, Zia/Sectarianism)

If the security situation is so bad, Pakistan needs a full time Army leader and an army focussed on it's borders and not one focussed on political wheeling and dealing.

Zakk the security problem is not on the borders the security problem is internal. If you compare the track record one-one (i know we have been ruled by more mil than civs) you will see that generals hav edone a much better job that their civ counterparts. There is a book written by Daniel Kux anyway “Pakistan a flawed state?” and he goes into track records of civs vs mil.
Mush is running the country in difficult times. You are aware that the past 3 yrs he has been engaged in global war on terror. We just can’t walk away from it because Pakistan Govt does have a hand in it (taliban). Further more the Nukeee crisis took a lot. You know that it would have been easier for Pak to hand dr Khan but the repurcussions would have been un-imaginable. So these two issues even though speaking and writting is easy but to tackle them is very very difficult. there is a lot of juggling and sentiments and placating personalities involved.
Go to www.brookings.edu and type Pakistan and see the research on Pakistan as a subject. Also go to www.imf.org (IMF web site) and look at hte reports on Pakistan from pre-Mush time to present. There is a difference of night and day.

I will PM or post if I get a chance to go to brookings.

Edit: Jazbaat meh I forgot to write what wanted to: Oh yes I think he should keep is uniform and his presidential post. I think he should give himslef another 7 yrs till 2014 to run and implement policies that he wants to implement.
BTW the only gripe I have with Mush Ustaad is that he had wonderful intentions with NAB but when NAB uncovered high irregularities with Fauji Foundation Fund. The NAB sort of withered and I just find it ironic that the guy heading the investigation was found dead hanging by a ceiling fan (a suicide). Yeah right…