I have observed that many people consider Mulla as a burden on society. They are blamed for keeping people away from religion instead of attracting towards religion.
I have also observed that parents normally send those children to Madarsa, whom they think are not able to survive in conventional education. There are sharp and intelligent religion scholars, but the majority of the Pesh Imam rendering Khutba and speech before Juma prayers emphasize on rituals. They don’t talk about current situation and when they refer to history Zaid becomes the owner of Bakr’s goat.
What do you think is the responsible for such situation? Mulla or society?
Are we ready today to send our children in Madarsas?
Are we satisfied with the Mullas having control over our Masajid?
Yes economically Mulla is backward compared to other professions. In English Period, Mulla was categorized as Kammi Kammen (lower cast). But the question again remained unanswered, why we have handed over an important thing like religion to such persons and didn't provide them with support (financial as well as moral) so that they can contribute positively. An economically dependent Mulla may give fatwa for Wajib ul qatl for any person.
But this economical suppression compelled Mulla to use religion for economic purposes. It started from chaska of Halwa and now reached getting finances for arms used for sectarian killings :(
This raises a question, do people avoid restriction of religion and therefore handover religion to the persons who can act according to their agenda?
agar society hippy ban jaaye to jo bhii laundromat kholegaa na to uskii chalegii, na uskii koii qadr o manzilat hogii aur na hii usko ahmiyat dii jaayegii!
The need of Madrassas is reform, they should revert back to teaching science, history, geography, languages etc, student having just religious education won't survive in competitive globalized world. Secondly there can be competitive exam on all the above subjects before teachers are appointed.Once madrassas start producing right results financial problems will also resolve:)
Ninja. My saas got educated in Madrassa in Baramula, as there were no government school then, her mother was mathematics teacher there, now when I visited that place last time, hardly there were any talk about geography, economics, mathematics etc:). If muslim in India press for, both reform and funding of this is possible but just like any other indian community, Rushdie is our problem not poor education in general masses, if muslim community shows response and dharna pradarshan for education just like Rushdie even illiteracy will fade away:)